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A message from ERS Executive Director Porter Wilson

Congratulations on your new job! I want to be among the 
first to welcome you to your new position in public service. 

The Employees Retirement System of Texas administers 
some of the excellent benefits provided to you by the State 
of Texas and your employer. These comprehensive benefits 
are designed to help you enhance your wellness and secure 
your future.

You have a limited window of time to make important decisions about your 
benefits. I encourage you to read this guide to educate yourself and make 
informed choices in your first 31 to 60 days of employment. 

At ERS, we’re proud to support excellence in public service by administering 
health insurance, retirement and other benefits to you and your family. 

This New Employee Benefits Guide provides the information you need to make 
the most of your retirement, insurance and related benefits offered by the State 
of Texas. For more information, visit the ERS website at www.ers.state.tx.us.

Sincerely,

Porter Wilson 
Executive Director 
Employees Retirement System of Texas

Employees Retirement System of Texas 
Always available online at www.ers.state.tx.us

24/7 access to automated information on your insurance and retirement benefits: 
(877) 275-4377, TDD: 711. Talk to a representative 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. CT, Monday through Friday.

Published September 2016.

http://www.ers.state.tx.us
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For a quick overview of your new employee benefits, visit  
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The New Employee Benefits Guide for Plan Year 2017 highlights benefits effective at the time of publication. 
Health and other insurance benefits for employees and retirees are subject to change based on available 
state funding. The Texas Legislature determines the level of funding for such benefits with no obligation to 
provide these benefits beyond each fiscal year.

ERS offers competitive benefits 
	     to enhance the lives of its members.

http://www.ers.state.tx.us/Employees/New-Employee/Overview
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Getting started: signing up for your benefits

Benefits
As a new employee, you have some important decisions to make about your health 
insurance coverage, optional insurance and dependent coverage. 
If you do not enroll in optional benefits during your first month on the job, you will need to 
wait until the Summer Enrollment period or experience a qualifying life event (QLE) to do so. 
Use the checklist on the next page to make sure you have provided the information you 
need to start getting the most out of your benefits package. 

You will automatically be enrolled in: 
•	 HealthSelectSM of Texas health and prescription drug 

coverage if you’re a full-time employee; 
•	 $5,000 Basic Term Life and AD&D insurance at no 

cost for full-time employees.
Part-time employees, graduate students, teaching 
assistants, and post-doctoral and adjunct faculty are 
not automatically enrolled.

You have the option of enrolling in: 
•	 One of the following health insurance plans instead of 

HealthSelect of Texas:
–	Consumer Directed HealthSelect for you and your 

eligible dependents
–	an HMO, if you live or work in an eligible county, for you 

and your eligible dependents
•	 one of three dental plans for you and your eligible 

dependents
•	 State of Texas Vision for you and your eligible dependents
•	 additional life insurance for you and your eligible 

dependents
•	 accidental death & dismemberment (AD&D) insurance
•	 Texas Income Protection PlanSM (TIPP) short-term and/or 

long-term disability insurance
•	 TexFlex health and dependent care and limited flexible 

spending accounts 
•	 a Texa$aver 457 plan

For the average state employee, the State of Texas benefits 
package makes up about one-third of the total compensation.
Average state employee total compensation = $60K
•	 $40K in salary
•	 $20K in benefits

Employers and employees say that benefits are a major draw 
to state employment.

Health Insurance – 12%

Pension – 4%

Vacation, Holidays and Sick Leave – 11%

Other (payroll expense, longevity pay) – 7%

Source: Texas State Auditor’s Office, State Employee Benefits as a 
Percentage of Total Compensation, April 2014

Salary 
66%

First 31 days: No Questions Asked
Your first month of employment is your chance to get disability coverage and additional life insurance—no questions 
asked. If you enroll in certain life and disability benefits as a new employee, you won’t need to produce evidence 
of insurability (EOI). EOI is an application process in which you must provide information about your or your 
dependents’ health. If you miss the 31-day new-employee opportunity and go through the EOI process, you or 
your dependents may not be approved for these benefits if you don’t qualify. If you want additional life insurance 
coverage and/or disability insurance, now is the best time to sign up.
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When do my benefits 
start?

Health insurance and prescription drug coverage 
begin the first of the month following your 60th 
day of employment. 
This waiting period does not apply if you:
• were rehired without a break in coverage,
• are transfering from the University of Texas 

or Texas A&M University without a break in 
coverage,

• are a return-to-work retiree enrolled in health 
coverage as a retiree,

• are enrolled in health coverage through ERS 
as a dependent or in accordance with COBRA 
on the date of hire or rehire, or

• were rehired on or after September 1, 2015 
and returned to employment at the same state 
agency within 90 days of leaving active military 
duty.

NOTE: You need to notify your human resources 
department within 31 days of your hire date in 
order for the waiting period to be removed.
Even though you do not have a waiting period, you 
will have 31 days to make health coverage changes 
if you want to make them. For those starting mid-
month, your coverage begins the first of the next 
month.

For optional benefits (dental, vision, optional life 
elections 1 and 2, dependent life, AD&D, TIPP 
disability insurance and TexFlex): 
• If you enroll on your first day, coverage begins 

that day. 
• If you enroll within 31 days of your hire date, 

coverage begins on the first day of the month 
after you enroll. 

• For optional life elections 3 and 4, coverage 
begins the first day of the month after you are 
approved through EOI.

Deciding between 
HealthSelect of 
Texas and another 
health plan?
See the employee health plans  comparison chart 
on page 22. A rate calculator is available at www.
ers.state.tx.us/Employees/Calculate-Rates

New Employee Benefits Checklist

Within 60 Days (of hire) 
Health insurance 

	 Enroll in HealthSelect of Texas  
(automatic for full-time employees) OR
Enroll in Consumer Directed HealthSelect instead of 
HealthSelect of Texas and open a health savings account OR
Enroll in an HMO, if you live or work in an eligible county 
Enroll eligible dependents; you and your dependents must be 
in the same plan 
Complete dependent certification and verification  
(See page 8)
Certify tobacco-use status for yourself and your covered 
dependents 
Waive coverage; use the Health Insurance Opt-Out Credit, if 
applicable

	

	
	

	

	

	

Within 31 Days (of hire) 
Dental plans 
Enroll yourself and your dependents in a dental plan: 

 HumanaDental DHMO 
 State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM 
 State of Texas Dental Discount PlanSM 

State of Texas Vision 
	 Enroll yourself and your dependents 

Optional Term Life Insurance 
	 Enroll yourself for coverage of 1 or 2 times your  

annual salary 
Apply for coverage of 3 or 4 times your annual salary 
through evidence of insurability (EOI)

	

Dependent Term Life Insurance 
	 Enroll eligible dependents

Voluntary Accidental Death &  
Dismemberment (AD&D) 

	 Enroll yourself or yourself and family 

Texas Income Protection Plan (TIPP)  
disability insurance 

	 Enroll in short-term disability 
Enroll in long-term disability 	

TexFlex flexible spending accounts 
	 Enroll in TexFlex health care account 

Enroll in TexFlex dependent care account
Enroll in a TexFlex limited flexible spending account  
if you enroll in Consumer Directed HealthSelect

	
	

http://www.ers.state.tx.us/Employees/Calculate-Rates
http://www.ers.state.tx.us/Employees/Calculate-Rates
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Health Insurance Options – HealthSelect
For a plan comparison chart and detailed coverage information, see page 22.

It pays to stay in the 
Network!

With HealthSelect of Texas and  
Consumer Directed HealthSelect, you 
have access to the same provider 
network of more than 58,000 doctors in 
Texas. These network doctors have been 
carefully evaluated for quality care.

If you are enrolled in HealthSelect of 
Texas or Consumer Directed HealthSelect, 
you can use any health care provider. 
But, you will pay more if a doctor, hospital 
or other provider is not part of the 
HealthSelect provider network. 

Be sure to find out if a provider is in  
the HealthSelect network before 
scheduling visits or procedures by 
going to the “Find a Doctor” link on  
the HealthSelect website. 

Even if a hospital is in the HealthSelect 
network, doctors and other providers 
who practice at that hospital may not be. 
Find out if all your providers are in the 
HealthSelect network.

UnitedHealthcare is the plan 
administrator for HealthSelect of 
Texas and Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect. To access information 
about your benefits, sign up for an 
online account with UnitedHealthcare 
at myuhc.com/healthselect.

You can also download 
the UnitedHealthcare 
Health4me app for easy 
access to information about 

your health insurance coverage. 

You must designate a 
primary care physician 

(PCP) from the HealthSelect network. Your PCP will help you 
maintain your overall health and issue referrals for specialty care. 

There is no charge for in-network preventive care, including 
annual physicals and immunizations. Your provider must code the 
treatment as preventive.

There is no annual medical deductible if you stay in the 
HealthSelect network. If you see a non-network provider, there 
is a $500 per person, $1,500 per family deductible that must be 
met before the plan begins to pay for non-network services. 

You do not need to designate 
a primary care physician 
(PCP) and you don’t need 
referrals to see specialists.

There is no charge for in-network preventive care, including 
annual physicals and immunizations.
The monthly premium is lower. But you pay the full cost of doctor 
visits, prescriptions and other health care costs until you reach 
the annual deductible.

Plan Year 2017 
Deductible

Individual 
Coverage Family Coverage

In-Network $2,100 $4,200
Out-of-Network $4,200 $8,400

Health savings account 
To help cover your out-of-pocket health care costs, the state will 
make a monthly contribution to your health savings account (HSA). 
The state contributes $45 per month for individuals and $90 per 
month for family coverage. 
You can also make pre-tax contributions to your HSA. The IRS sets 
this amount each year. The combined annual maximum contribution 
limit is $3,350 for individuals and $6,750 for families. The balance in 
your HSA carries over from one year to the next, and you can keep 
the funds if you change health plans or leave state employment. 
You can use the funds for qualified medical expenses for you, your 
spouse and eligible dependents.
If you enroll in Consumer Directed HealthSelect, you need to open 
your HSA as soon as possible so that funds can be deposited into 
your account. 
For a cost estimator and other information about Consumer 
Directed HealthSelect, go to www.healthselectoftexas.com/cdhs.

http://www.healthselectoftexas.com/cdhs
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Health Insurance Options – HMOs

If you live or work in an eligible county, you 
have the option to enroll in an HMO. These 
regional providers have large networks to 
meet varied health care needs.

If you enroll in Community First Health Plans, 
you must select a PCP. If you enroll in Scott 
& White Health Plan or KelseyCare powered 
by Community Health Choice, you can go to 
any network provider without a referral. You 
can choose a PCP if you want to.

You must use providers (such as doctors 
and hospitals) in the HMO network for your 
services to be covered, unless the health 
plan has authorized your treatment. Only 
emergency care services are covered 
outside the network. 

HMOs have their own prescription drug 
coverage. The annual drug deductible 
is $50 per plan year, which resets on 
September 1. 

HMO areas
If you live or work in a covered HMO service area, you may choose 
to enroll in that plan.

HMO Plan Service 
area Counties

Community First  
Health Plans

San Antonio 
area

Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, 
Guadalupe, Kendall, Medina and 
Wilson

KelseyCare powered 
by Community 
Health Choice

Houston 
area

Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris 
and Montgomery

Scott & White  
Health Plan

Central and 
West Texas 

areas

Austin, Bastrop, Bell, Bosque, Brazos, 
Burleson, Burnet, Coke, Coleman, 
Concho, Coryell, Crockett, Falls, 
Freestone, Grimes, Hamilton, Hill, 
Irion, Kimble, Lampasas, Lee, Leon, 
Limestone, Llano, Madison, Mason, 
McCulloch, McLennan, Menard, Milam, 
Mills, Reagan, Robertson, Runnels, San 
Saba, Schleicher, Somervell, Sterling, 
Sutton, Tom Green, Travis, Walker, 
Waller, Washington and Williamson

Out-of-pocket limits
All five health plans have an out-of-pocket maximum to qualified health care expenses (not including monthly 
help protect you from catastrophic health care costs. premiums). All five health plans have in-network out-of-
This is the maximum amount you will pay in one year for pocket maximums. Only Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
copays, coinsurance, prescriptions, deductibles and other has an out-of-network out-of-pocket maximum.

In-Network Out-of-Pocket Maximum Out-of-Network Out-of-Pocket Maximum
(Consumer Directed HealthSelect only)

Before December 31, 2016 Individual: $6,450 
Family: $12,900

Individual: $12,900 
Family: $25,800

After January 1, 2017 Individual: $6,550 
Family: $13,100

Individual: $13,100 
Family: $26,200
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Opting out of health insurance
You can waive or opt out of 
health insurance coverage. 
Health Insurance Opt-Out Credit: If you can certify that 
you already have other health insurance that is equal to or 
better than coverage offered through ERS, you can sign up 
for a monthly Health Insurance Opt-Out Credit of up to $60 
for full-time employees and $30 for part-time employees. 
You must be eligible for the state contribution toward your 
health insurance premium to qualify for the opt-out credit.

This credit must be applied to your Dental insurance and/or 
Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment premiums.

The credit cannot be applied to premiums for the State of 
Texas Dental Discount Plan or State of Texas Vision. 

The Health Insurance Opt-Out Credit is not available 
if your other insurance is Medicare, you have GBP 
coverage through ERS as a dependent, or you receive a 
state contribution for other insurance coverage. 

IMPORTANT: If you waive or opt-out of your health plan, 
you are giving up your prescription coverage and you no 
longer have the Basic Term Life coverage. If you lose your 
other coverage, you may enroll in health coverage offered 
through ERS as a QLE if you do so within 31 days of 
losing the other coverage.

Prescription drug coverage
Each health insurance plan includes coverage for prescription drugs. Prescription medications are divided into three 
tiers, with different copays for each tier. Tier 1 are usually inexpensive medications, such as generic drugs. Tier 2 are 
usually lower-cost preferred brand-name drugs. Tier 3 typically are  non-preferred brand-name drugs with a high cost.

HealthSelect of Texas Consumer Directed HealthSelect HMOs
Pharmacy 
Network See plan website. See plan website. See plan website.

Deductible $50 for each covered individual 
(January 1 - December 31)

$2,100 per individual and $4,200 
per family (in combined medical and 
pharmacy expenses) using  
in-network pharmacies  
(January 1 - December 31)

$50 for each covered individual 
(September 1 - August 31)

Co-payments: 
In-network

Up to a 30-day supply of  
Non-maintenance medications:  
Tier 1: $10, Tier 2: $35, Tier 3: $60

Maintenance medications: 
Tier 1: $10, Tier 2: $45, Tier 3: $75

20% coinsurance after the annual 
deductible is met

Up to a 30-day supply of  
Non-maintenance medications:  
Tier 1: $10, Tier 2: $35, Tier 3: $60

Maintenance medications: 
Tier 1: $10, Tier 2: $45, Tier 3: $75

Co-payments: 
Out-of-network 

40% coinsurance of drug price 
minus copay OR average 
wholesale price of the drug, plus a 
dispensing fee, minus copay

40% coinsurance after the annual 
out-of-network deductible is met Does not cover

Extended Days 
Supply (EDS)

No maintenance fee for 31- to 90-
day prescriptions from pharmacies 
in the EDS network

No maintenance fee for 31- to 90-day 
prescriptions from pharmacies in the 
EDS network

Does not apply

Mail order Yes Yes Yes
Brand-name  
drug payment

If a generic drug is available and you choose the brand-name drug, you will pay the Tier 1 copay or coinsurance, 
as applicable, plus the difference in cost to the plan between the brand-name drug and the generic drug.

Beginning January 1, 2017, Optum Rx, an affiliate of UnitedHealthCare Services, Inc., will replace Caremark as the third-party administrator of the 
prescription drug programs for HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect.
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You must certify—whether you use tobacco or not

Tobacco-use status
All participants enrolled in health insurance plans offered through 
ERS must certify their status as tobacco users or non-users. 
Members and covered dependents who do not certify their tobacco-
use status will be charged a monthly tobacco-user premium—even 
if they don’t use tobacco.

This online certification is legally binding. If you have already 
certified yourself and your dependents, you only need to re-certify if 
you or your dependents have a change in tobacco-use status. 

All health plans offered through ERS cover programs and 
prescription drugs for tobacco cessation.  

For more information, see the ERS Tobacco policy on the 
ERS website at www.ers.state.tx.us/Employees/Health/
Tobacco_Policy/. 

Ready to quit? 
Take advantage of the tobacco cessation 
programs offered by your health plan. If you’re 
tobacco-free for at least three consecutive 
months, you won’t pay the higher premiums if 
you re-certify as a tobacco non-user. 

Tobacco premium 
alternative 
If you’re a tobacco user, you may be able to 
participate in the Choose to Quit program, 
which allows tobacco users to have their 
tobacco-user premiums waived for the plan 
year. Program rules apply.

Good health!
Good health is one of the most valuable assets you can have. Your state benefits 
package offers a variety of programs and incentives to help you get and stay 
healthy. Watch a monthly webinar on wellness topics, take advantage of gym 
membership discounts and fitness programs, or quit smoking. To find out more 
about wellness programs, go to your health insurance provider’s website. 

JENNICA PRESTON
Benefits Coordinator
Seeing Results with Real Appeal
Eligible HealthSelect participants can join Real Appeal, an online program to 
improve health and wellness. Real Appeal offers support and step-by-step guidance 
throughout a 52-week program. Participants receive a Real Appeal Success Kit - 
delivered to your door and filled with tools and resources to help keep you on track.  

Jennica Preston joined Real Appeal to try to lose the weight she gained after the 
birth of her eight-year-old son. 

“After my son was born, I lost my motivation to eat right and take care of myself,” 
says Preston. “Real Appeal helps me stay motivated to make the right choices. Right 
off the bat, I went cold turkey and stopped eating fast food and sodas. I started using 
my husband’s workout equipment to get exercise at home. A few times each week, I 
walk the twelve flights of stairs to my office."  

In less than six months, she has lost 32 pounds. She is on track to lose ten more in 
order to reach her goal weight. 

“I’ve always been petite and small,” says Preston. “I’m thrilled to be getting back to 
the person I really am.”

http://www.ers.state.tx.us/Employees/Health/Tobacco_Policy/
http://www.ers.state.tx.us/Employees/Health/Tobacco_Policy/


8 | ERS | 2017 New Employee Benefit Guide

Higher ed employees

Dependent coverage
Your spouse and other qualified dependents can receive ERS has contracted with Aon Hewitt to verify that every 
health insurance and other coverage for an additional dependent enrolled in health coverage is eligible. After 
premium. They must be enrolled in the same plan(s) as you. you have enrolled and certified your dependents, Aon 
To be eligible, they must meet certain criteria. A dependent’s Hewitt will mail you a letter outlining the steps in the 
employment or school enrollment currently has no bearing verification process, listing the dependents that need to 
on benefits eligibility. For more information about dependent be verified, the documentation needed and the deadlines 
eligibility, go to www.ers.state.tx.us/GBP-Eligible/. for submitting documentation. For example, to enroll a 

common law spouse, you must provide a Declaration of You must certify that your dependent children are eligible.
Informal Marriage with a registration date prior to the date 

To certify them, log in to your ERS OnLine account. Make of your spouse's enrollment. If you do not provide this 
sure you have the right documents before you begin. You information or if your dependent is found ineligible, he or 
will be guided through the steps in the certification process. she will be dropped from coverage.
This online certification is legally binding. Providing false If you have questions about dependent eligibility 
information could result in the loss of benefits for you and verification, contact the Aon Hewitt Dependent 
your dependents. Intentionally providing false information Verification Center toll-free at (800) 987-6605.
may lead to criminal penalties.

http://www.ers.state.tx.us/GBP-Eligible/
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Dependent eligibility chart 
Make sure your dependents are eligible for insurance and that you have the appropriate documentation to show 
eligibility before you enroll them in any coverage. You are required to provide a birth certificate to Aon Hewitt once 
you enroll a newborn child. A hospital-issued birth certificate will be accepted in place of a government-issued birth 
certificate for newborn children, three months of age or younger. If you are unable to supply the documents listed below 
please contact Aon Hewitt Customer Service.

Dependent of the 
Participant (employee, 

retiree or other 
individual enrolled in 

program as recognized 
by Texas law)

Eligibility Examples of Supporting Documents  
(these documents are required)

Spouse Spouse as recognized by law

• Government-issued marriage certificate and 
• Current federal tax return OR 
• Proof of joint ownership** issued within last six 

months OR
• Government-issued marriage certificate only (if 

married in the last 12 months)

Common Law 
Spouse Spouse as recognized by law

• Declaration of informal marriage with the 
county courthouse AND 

• Current federal tax return OR 
• Proof of joint ownership** issued within last 

six months

Biological Child* Natural-born child • Government-issued birth certificate

Adopted Child* Child is eligible at time of placement.
• Adoption certificate OR 
• Adoption placement agreement AND 
• Petition for adoption

Stepchild* Child is not required to live in participant’s 
household.

• Government-issued marriage certificate OR 
• Declaration of informal marriage with the 

county courthouse AND 
• Child’s government-issued birth certificate 

AND 
• Current federal tax return OR
• Proof of joint ownership** issued within last 

six months

Child of Managing 
Conservator*

Child is identified in the managing conservatorship 
granted to the participant.

• Managing conservatorship court document 
signed by judge

Foster Child* Child must not have other governmental insurance. • Placement order AND 
• Affidavit of foster child

Legal Ward Child* Child is under the protection or in the custody of the 
participant.

• Court order signed by a judge appointing 
participant as the child’s guardian 
(documentation of legal custody) AND 

• Government-issued birth certificate

Other Child*

Child is related to participant by blood or marriage, was 
claimed as dependent on participant’s federal income 
tax return for previous tax year, and will continue to be 
claimed on participant’s federal income tax return for 
every calendar year the child is covered. 
A child who is acquired or born in the current calendar 
year will be claimed and continue to be claimed 
on participant’s federal income tax return for every 
calendar year the child is covered.

• Government-issued birth certificate OR 
• Government-issued marriage license to 

prove family relationship AND 
• Current federal tax return OR 
• Affidavit of good cause

*Child must be under age 26 for health insurance, and can be married or unmarried. Child must be under age 26 and unmarried for dental coverage, State 
of Texas Vision and Dependent Term Life Insurance. Disabled dependent children age 26 and over may be eligible for insurance. For more information, 
visit the ERS website. 

**See Documentation Requirements in the communications Aon Hewitt sends you for examples of Joint Ownership documents. False information could 
lead to expulsion from the GBP and/or criminal prosecution.
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You and your eligible dependents can enroll in State of Texas Vision for 
an additional premium. The vision plan covers all or a portion of the cost 
of eyeglasses and contact lenses as well as discounts for LASIK. Retail 
providers include Walmart, Target Optical, LensCrafters and many others. 
The chart on the next page lists some of the plan benefits. For a complete 
list, see the State of Texas Vision page on the ERS website.

Your health plan covers some vision and eye health services, such as an 
annual eye exam.
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In-Network Out-of-Network1

Routine Eye Exam $25 co-pay $25 co-pay (covered up to $40)

Frames $150 retail allowance3 $50 retail allowance3

Contact Lens Fitting (Standard Fitting) $25 co-pay Up to $100 allowance3

Contact Lens Fitting (Specialty Fitting) $35 co-pay Up to $100 allowance3

Single Vision Lenses $10 co-pay Up to $30 allowance3

Bifocal Lenses $15 co-pay Up to $45 allowance3

Trifocal Lenses $20 co-pay Up to $60 allowance3

Progressives $70 co-pay Not covered

Polycarbonate $50 co-pay Not covered

Scratch Coat (factory, single sided) $10 co-pay Not covered

Ultraviolet Coating $10 co-pay Not covered

Tint $10 co-pay Not covered

Standard Anti-Reflective Coating $40 co-pay Not covered

Contact Lenses2 (Conventional or Disposable) $150 allowance3 Up to $100 allowance3

1If you use out-of-network providers, you will be required to pay out-of-pocket cost which will be higher. Please see the State of Texas Vision website for 
more information. 
2Contact lenses are in lieu of eyeglass lenses and frames benefit.
3All costs and allowances are retail; you are responsible for any charges in excess of the retail allowances.
Frequencies for all State of Texas Vision plan benefits are once every twelve (12) months.
All benefits, administrative duties and definitions are detailed in the certificate of insurance.
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Dental plans
For an additional premium, you can choose between the following three dental plans. You must be enrolled before you 
can enroll eligible dependents, and you and your dependents must enroll in the same plan. 

State of Texas Dental Discount 
PlanSM

•	 This is not a dental insurance plan. You receive 
discounted prices on usual charges for dental 
treatment and services at participating providers. 

•	 There are no claim forms, copays, deductibles, annual 
maximums or limits on use.

•	 Available throughout the United States, excluding 
Vermont and U.S. territories, and in the United Kingdom. 

State of Texas Dental ChoiceSM 
•	 This is a preferred provider organization (PPO) dental 

insurance plan.

•	 You can see any dentist, but you get a higher benefit 
by using a network provider.

•	 Benefits applicable in the United States and Canada, 
or Mexico if you live in the United States.

HumanaDental Dental Health 
Maintenance Organization 
(DHMO)
•	 Coverage only applies to dentists in the Texas service 

area. Before you enroll, make sure there is a DHMO 
network dentist in your area. For a list of providers go 
to HumanaDental.com/ers, or call HumanaDental.

•	 You must select a primary care dentist (PCD) from 
a list of approved providers. You and your enrolled 
dependents can choose different primary care dentists.  

•	 Services from participating specialty dentists cost 25% 
less than the dentist’s usual charge.
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Dental insurance plans comparison chart

HumanaDental DHMO1
State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM 

Preferred Provider Organization (PPO)  
Administered by HumanaDental Insurance Company

Dentists

You must select a primary care 
dentist (PCD).
NOTE: Not all participating 
dentists accept new patients. 
Dentists are not required to stay 
on the plan for the entire year.

In-network/ 
participating dentist

Out-of-network/ 
non-participating dentist2

Deductibles None

Preventive-Individual-$0; Family-$0
Combined Basic/Major/Prosthodonic
-Individual-$50; Family-$150
Orthodontic services-no deductible

Preventive-Individual-$50; Family-$150
Combined Basic/Major/Prosthodonic
-Individual-$100; Family-$300
Orthodontic services-no deductible

Copays /
Coinsurance

Primary dentist - Copays vary 
according to service and are 
listed in the “Schedule of Dental 
Benefits” booklet.
Specialty dentistry - You pay 
75% of the dentist’s usual and 
customary fee. DHMO pays 
nothing.

Preventive and Diagnostic Services 
- You pay nothing.
Basic Services - You pay 10% 
coinsurance after meeting the Basic 
Services deductible. 
Major Services - You pay 50% 
coinsurance after meeting the Major 
Services deductible. 
You will not be charged for anything 
over the allowed amount.
After you reach the Maximum 
Calendar Year Benefit, you pay 60% 
until January 1.3

Preventive and Diagnostic Services 
- You pay 10% coinsurance after 
meeting the Preventive and Diagnostic 
deductible.
Basic Services - You pay 30% 
coinsurance after meeting the Basic 
Services deductible. 
Major Services - You pay 60% 
coinsurance after meeting the Major 
Services deductible.
You may be required to pay the  
difference between the allowed  
amount and billed charges.
After you reach the Maximum 
Calendar Year Benefit, you pay 60% 
until January 1.3

Maximum Calendar 
Year Benefit Unlimited $1,500 (includes orthodontic 

extractions)
$1,500 (includes orthodontic 
extractions)

Maximum Lifetime 
Benefit Unlimited $1,500 for orthodontic services $1,500 for orthodontic services

Average Cost of 
Cleaning / Oral 
Exams

Vary according to service and 
are listed in the “Schedule of 
Dental Benefits” booklet
Up to two cleaning/oral exams 
per calendar year allowed

You pay nothing.
Up to two cleaning/oral exams  
per calendar year allowed

10% of the allowed amount after 
deductible is met
Up to two cleaning/oral exams per 
calendar year allowed

Orthodontic 
Coverage

Orthodontic services performed 
by a general dentist listed in the 
directory with an “0” treatment 
code – child - $1,800, adult 
- $2,100
Orthodontic services performed 
by specialist –  
You pay 75% of his/her usual 
fee. DHMO pays nothing.

Orthodontic services are only 
available to dependents age 19  
or younger. 
You pay 50% of the allowed amount.

Orthodontic services are only available 
to dependents age 19 or younger.  
You pay 50% of the allowed amount.
You may be required to pay the 
difference between the allowed  
amount and billed charges.

NOTE: The Comparison Chart is only a summary of the benefits offered by the two dental insurance plans. See plan booklet for actual coverage and 
limitations. Prior to starting treatment, discuss with your dentist the treatment plan and all charges.
1 This Comparison Chart reflects participant responsibility for services received from participating primary care dentists only. Services from 
participating specialty dentists are 25% less than the dentist’s usual charge.
2 In the State of Texas Dental Choice Plan PPO, deductibles and annual maximums are per calendar year. Non-participating dentists can bill you for 
charges above the amount covered by your HumanaDental plan. To ensure you do not receive additional charges, visit a participating PPO network 
dentist.
3 Services received after the Maximum Calendar Year Benefit is reached will be paid at 40% coinsurance by the plan.
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Life, AD&D and disability insurance

Optional Term Life Insurance
Your health coverage through ERS includes $5,000 Basic Group Term Life 
Insurance with $5,000 of accidental death and dismemberment (AD&D) 
coverage at no cost. You can purchase additional life insurance coverage in 
increments based on your annual salary. 

Optional Term Life Election 1 or 2 (one or two times your annual salary) is 
available without evidence of insurability (EOI) during your first 31 days of 
employment. 

Optional Term Life Election 3 or 4 (three or four times your annual salary) is 
available for coverage of up to $400,000, but you must submit EOI. To initiate the 
EOI request, sign in to your ERS OnLine account, select the desired coverage, 
and follow the prompts on the screen.

Each election provides an equal amount of AD&D coverage, in case of an 
accidental death or dismemberment. Your monthly premiums and the amount 
your beneficiary will receive depend on your age, salary and the level of 
coverage you purchase. 

Dependent Term Life Insurance 
For an additional monthly premium, you can enroll your eligible dependents in 
term life insurance. The benefit includes $5,000 term life with $5,000 AD&D for 
each covered family member. The benefit will be paid to you upon the death of 
a covered dependent or in the event of certain accidental injuries. All eligible 
dependents are covered with one premium, but you must list each dependent on 
the policy. 

Newborn coverage is guaranteed if the baby is added within 31 days of birth.

Voluntary AD&D Insurance 
Voluntary AD&D coverage can provide additional financial protection for you and 
your family in the event of certain accidental injuries or accidental death. You can 
choose insurance in increments of $5,000, starting at $10,000 up to $200,000. 
EOI is not required for AD&D Insurance. You can sign up for coverage for 
yourself only, or for yourself and your eligible family members. 

•	 If you die as the direct result of an accidental bodily injury, your beneficiaries 
receive the full coverage amount. 

•	 If a covered family member dies in an accident, you will receive part of the 
coverage amount. Go to the ERS website for more information.

•	 If you have an accident and suffer any of the covered injuries, such as loss of 
a hand, foot or sight of one eye in an accident, you will receive a benefit up to 
the full amount of coverage. 

•	 If an eligible family member loses a hand, foot or sight of one or both eyes in 
an accident, you will receive a percentage of the benefit.

Disability insurance
Just like auto insurance covers 
your car if you get in an accident, 
disability coverage covers your 
wallet if you become disabled and 
can’t work. Pregnancy, accident, 
illness – when you can’t work, the 
Texas Income Protection PlanSM 
(TIPP) provides you money to pay 
the bills. 

Short-term disability insurance 
coverage provides a maximum 
benefit of 66% of your monthly 
salary (up to $10,000) or $6,600, 
whichever is less, for up to five 
months. For example, if your 
monthly salary is $4,000, the 
highest amount you’ll get for short-
term disability is $2,640 per month.

Long-term disability insurance 
coverage provides a maximum 
benefit of 60% of your monthly 
salary (up to $10,000) or $6,000, 
whichever is less, for a period 
ranging from 12 months to Normal 
Social Security Retirement age, 
depending on your age at the time 
of disability. 

You must use all of your sick leave 
(including extended sick leave, 
sick leave pool, and/or donated 
sick leave) or complete the 30-day 
waiting period, whichever option is 
longest, before disability benefits 
will be paid. Pre-existing conditions 
are subject to certain exclusions. 
This coverage is not available to 
family members.

Please see page 26 for premium information. 
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Up-close THOMAS BARKER-WHITE
Statewide Intake Supervisor

Having good insurance coverage is so 
important. You may never need it (and I hope 

you don’t), but if you do, you are probably 
REALLY going to need it. Life can come at you 

quick, so it’s best to cover all your bases.

For 20 years, Thomas Barker-White has worked for the 
Texas Department of Family and Protective Services 
(DFPS), currently as a statewide intake supervisor 
overseeing a staff of nine.

Barker-White and his wife, Lutishia, a former state 
employee, value their ERS-administered health and 
retirement benefits. 

They set aside money for retirement through Texa$aver 
to prepare for their retirement. They believe it is a good 
benefit for employees who don’t trust their own judgment 
with investments.

But five years ago, the most important benefit became 
short-term and long-term disability insurance. 

In 2011, Lutishia became disabled due to arthritis and 
related injuries. Her disability insurance payments made 
up for a portion of the income she lost when she could no 
longer work. 

As a result, the couple was able to manage their finances 
without any substantial changes.

Having both short-term and long-term disability insurance 
made a huge difference by providing the financial support 

the couple needed when one of them could no longer 
work, says Barker-White.

“I know people who work in the private sector who do 
not have access to disability insurance through their 
employer. They can buy it on their own, but the premium 
is not as reasonable as what we have paid as state 
employees.”

Barker-White appreciates that the state covers the full 
cost of the employee’s health insurance premium. It’s 
another valuable benefit that makes working for the state 
attractive, he says.

“Having good insurance coverage is so important. You 
may never need it (and I hope you don’t), but if you do, 
you are probably REALLY going to need it. Life can come 
at you quick, so it’s best to cover all your bases.”

First 31 days: No Questions Asked
Your first month of employment is your chance to get disability coverage and additional life insurance—no questions 
asked. If you enroll in certain life and disability benefits as a new employee, you won’t need to produce evidence 
of insurability (EOI). EOI is an application process in which you must provide information about your or your 
dependents’ health. If you miss the 31-day new-employee opportunity and go through the EOI process, you or 
your dependents may not be approved for these benefits if you don’t qualify. If you want additional life insurance 
coverage and/or disability insurance, now is the best time to sign up.
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TexFlex flexible spending accounts (FSAs) allow you to contribution will be withdrawn from your paycheck each 
set aside money from your paycheck, pre-tax, to pay for month before taxes and deposited in your TexFlex 
eligible health and dependent care expenses. Financial account. You can only change your TexFlex contribution 
planners and tax advisors encourage people to reduce amount during Summer Enrollment unless you have a 
their taxable income, and save money as a result, by qualifying life event during the plan year.
participating in flexible spending accounts. You do not have to continue making FSA contributions if 
TexFlex offers three different FSAs: health care account, you leave employment before the end of the plan year on 
dependent care account and limited flexible spending August 31. Expenses incurred between September 1 and 
account (LFSA). The LFSA is available only to employees your termination date will be eligible for reimbursement. It 
enrolled in Consumer Directed HealthSelect. is important to remember to keep all receipts for eligible 

expenses in case you're asked to prove a claim. The IRS You decide how much you want to contribute to your 
requires that FSA participants provide documentation for TexFlex account each year. This amount will be divided 
claims that can't be automatically proven. by the number of months you work in a year. Your TexFlex 

Health care
You can use funds in a TexFlex health care account to pay 
for copays, prescription drugs, hearing aids, eyeglasses and 
contact lenses, and other eligible expenses. A complete list 
of eligible expenses is posted on the TexFlex website.
You can contribute any amount between $15 and $212 
per month, with a maximum of $2,550 per year. Your 
entire annual contribution is available for you to use at the 
beginning of the plan year starting September 1. You pay it 
back through monthly contributions from your paycheck.

After you enroll in a TexFlex health care account, you will 
receive a debit card in the mail. You can use it to pay for 
eligible health care expenses. There is no cost to you 
for using the debit card, and you can request additional 
cards for you or your dependents free of charge by calling 
TexFlex customer care at (844) 884-2364. You can also 
submit a claim online or by mail or fax.
If you submit a claim for reimbursement online, by mail 
or fax, the reimbursement will be deposited in your bank 
account or a check will be mailed to you. 

Limited flexible spending account
If you have a health savings account as part of Consumer 
Directed HealthSelect, you also can contribute between 
$180 and $2,550 per family each year to a limited flexible 

spending account (LFSA). Funds can be used only on 
eligible vision and dental expenses. IRS rules prohibit 
participating in the TexFlex health care account and an 
LFSA during the same year.

Dependent care
You can use funds in a TexFlex dependent care account 
to pay for eligible day care expenses (including before- 
and after-school care and summer day camp) for your 
dependent children under age 13 and for adult day care 
for qualifying individuals. You cannot use TexFlex funds to 
pay an older dependent to care for younger dependents. 
A complete list of eligible expenses and specific eligibility 
rules is posted on the TexFlex website.

You can contribute any amount between $15 and $416 
per month, up to $5,000 per year per household. Unlike 
the health care account, you can only be reimbursed up to 
the amount in your account each month. 
You cannot use the TexFlex debit card to pay eligible 
dependent care expenses. To be reimbursed, you must 
submit a claim online, by mail or fax for dependent care 
services that have already been provided. You can specify 
whether you want the reimbursement to be deposited into 
your bank account or mailed to you in a check.
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Health Care / Limited Flexible  
Spending Account Dependent Care Account

Annual Maximum 
Contribution $2,550 per participant $5,000 per household

Fund Availability Full annual amount available when contributions 
begin

Funds available monthly as they are added to 
TexFlex account from paycheck

Debit Card
Can be used to pay eligible expenses. No fee for the 
card. Keep all receipts for eligible expenses in case 
you're asked to substantiate a claim.

Cannot be used to pay eligible expenses. All claims 
must be submitted online or by mail or fax.

Carryover of 
Funds 

Up to $500 of unused funds can be carried over 
from one plan year to the next when you are actively 
employed. You can still contribute up to $2,550 for 
that plan year.

No carryover of funds from one plan year to the 
next. However, you have a 2-½ month grace period 
after the end of the plan year in which you can incur 
new claims using previous plan year funds.

Runout Period Submit claims incurred between Sept. 1, 2016 and 
Aug. 31, 2017 by Dec. 31, 2017.

Submit claims incurred between Sept. 1, 2016 and 
Nov. 15, 2017 by Dec. 31, 2017.

Up-close SERENA ZETINA
Information Specialist

As a benefits educator at ERS, Serena Zetina helps active 
employees and retirees understand which benefits options 
are right for them. For this mother of three, TexFlex makes 
sense.

“With three growing boys, I know I’m going to spend money 
on health and dependent care throughout the year,” she 
says. “TexFlex allows me to put aside money tax-free for 
those expenses and lowers my taxable income.” 

“My kids seem to get sick like clockwork in November, 
just when I’m starting to make my holiday shopping list. 
That’s when I’m glad I have my TexFlex health care flexible 
spending account to pay for doctor visits and medicine. 
By setting aside a certain amount from my paycheck each 
month, I know the money will be there when I need it.”

“With the dependent care flexible spending account, I don’t 
have to wait for the tax benefit at the end of the year. I can 
set aside up to $5,000 pre-tax each year, which is $2,000 
more than the federal child care credit. That means more 
money in your pocket!”
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on your employer. Each retirement system has specific 
rules. Contact your system to see when you’ll begin 

Retirement 
Most of your employee benefits, including health, dental, 
life, vision, disability and flexible spending accounts, 
are offered through ERS. Your retirement rules depend contributing.

Employer Retirement system or plan Contact information

Community Supervision and  
Corrections Departments (CSCDs)

Texas County & District Retirement System 
(TCDRS) 

(800) 823-7782
www.tcdrs.org

Higher education institutions 
Teacher Retirement System (TRS)  

or 
Optional Retirement Program (ORP)

TRS: (800) 223-8778, 
www.trs.texas.gov 

ORP: Your institution's 
HR department

TCDRS TCDRS (800) 823-7782
www.tcdrs.org

Texas Municipal Retirement System 
(TMRS) TMRS (800) 924-8677

www.tmrs.org

TRS TRS (800) 223-8778
www.trs.texas.gov

Windham School District TRS (800) 223-8778
www.trs.texas.gov
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Plan ahead with Texa$aver 457 plan
If you work for a higher education institution, you 
may be eligible to participate in the Texa$aver 457 
plan. Texa$aver is a voluntary deferred compensation 
program that can help you save more for retirement. 
Your retirement may not provide automatic cost-of-living 
increases, so a Texa$aver account (or other personal 
retirement savings) could help you live more comfortably 
when you’re no longer working. ERS administers the 
Texa$aver Program, along with Empower Retirement, 
which manages recordkeeping.

Texa$aver is not available to employees  
of CSCD, TCDRS, TMRS or Windham  
School District

Contact your benefits coordinator or HR 
representative to find out if your higher 
education institution participates.

Call to request a free Texa$aver welcome packet, or 
for more information on getting started. 
Learn more:

www.texasaver.com  (800) 634-5091
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Enroll at any time
You can enroll in the 457 plan at any time, online or by 
phone. Contact Empower Retirement toll-free at (800) 
634-5091 to request a free Texa$aver Enrollment Kit for 
more information on getting started with the program.

Four-year higher education institution employees 
and community college employees can enroll in the 
457 plan through traditional before-tax or Roth after-
tax contribution options, if their institutions offer it. 
Contributions are deducted from your paycheck 
automatically.   

457 Retirement Savings Plans 
Your retirement savings is like a three-legged stool, which 
may include your employer retirement plan, Social Security 
and personal savings (such as your Texa$aver 457 plan 
account) or other investments. Your employer-based 
retirement plan may not automatically increase to keep 
up with inflation. So, if you rely on Social Security or your 
employer-based retirement, you might have a financial gap 
in retirement income. 

To cover rising costs when you retire, you’ll probably also 
need to draw on your own personal savings like Texa$aver 
and other investments. What’s your plan?

$300,000 $298,071
Invest early and your 

$250,000 savings can grow 
$200,000 without taxes over a 

longer period of time. $150,000 $149,035
The sooner you start 

$100,000 saving, the more you 
$74,517 have when you retire. $50,000
$37,258 See how much $25 a 

$0 month could grow.

$200 a month
$100 a month

$50 a month
$25 a month

5 YEARS 10 YEARS 20 YEARS 30 YEARS

Texa$aver benefits
•	 Free one-on-one personal counseling 
•	 Free financial workshops and group meetings 
•	 Free online investment advice
•	 Customized digital planning tools 
•	 Traditional before-tax and/or Roth after-tax 

contributions
•	 Flexible distribution options 
•	 Direct deposit from your paycheck 
•	 Investment options hand-picked by experts 
•	 Funds that offer reimbursements
•	 Lower fees than other investment companies 
•	 The option to do everything yourself 
•	 The option to have help from Advised Assets Group, 

LLC (AAG) with everything you do

•	 A plan to help provide a more secure future

Transfer money to Texa$aver
Do you have retirement savings accounts from other jobs? 
You can transfer, or “roll over” money from a qualified prior 
eligible employer’s 401(k), 401(a), 403(b) or governmental 
457 plan into the Texa$aver 457 plan. You can also roll 
over money from an eligible individual Retirement account 
(IRA). The Texa$aver 457 plan accepts Roth rollovers from 
other qualified plans as well, but you cannot roll over Roth 
IRAs to Texa$aver.

You are encouraged to discuss rolling money from one 
account to another with your financial advisor or planner, 
considering any potential fees and/or limitation of 
investment options.

Call to request a free Texa$aver welcome packet, or for more information on getting started. Learn more:

www.texasaver.com                       (800) 634-5091
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Texa$aver 457 Plan
For more information, call toll-free at (800) 634-5091.

Eligibility Part-time and full-time eligible employees of higher education institutions and community colleges that choose to 
offer it.1

Contribution Options You have the flexibility to designate all or a portion of your contributions as either traditional before-tax or Roth after-
tax contributions.

Maximum Annual Deferral
The 2015 annual contribution limit is $18,0002 per year. The limit is $24,000 if you are 50 or older. You may put money 
in as either before-tax or Roth contributions, or both. Employees of higher education agencies that have elected to 
offer Roth can participate in the Roth option. These limits are subject to change. Visit www.texasaver.com for updated 
annual contribution limits.

Transfer of Funds to  
Purchase Service

You may purchase military service, additional service credit, or refunded or other eligible ERS/TRS service by 
transferring funds from your Texa$aver account while employed. This is not a taxable distribution.

Rollovers In3

If eligible, you may roll over funds from another eligible retirement plan or IRA. Any money you roll in that was 
subject to the 10% early withdrawal penalty is still subject to the penalty if taken from the account before you 
are 59½. Rollovers from other eligible governmental 457 plans will not be subject to an early withdrawal penalty 
if directly rolled into the Texa$aver 457 plan. Rollovers from Roth IRAs are not accepted. Only designated Roth 
accounts from another eligible retirement plan can be rolled over into your Texa$aver 457 Plan.

Age 50 and Over Catch-up
If you are age 50 or older, you may contribute an additional $6,0002 in 2015 for a total of $24,000 to each plan. This 
includes before-tax and Roth contributions combined. You may not use this provision in the 457 plan while using the 
Special 457 Catch-up Provision.

Special 457 Catch-up Provision  
Cannot be used with the Age 50 and 
Over Catch-up in the 457 plan

Subject to eligibility. If you have unused deferrals, the Special 457 Catch-up limit is $36,000 in 2015. You may 
participate only during the three years before the taxable year in which you attain normal retirement age.

Loans
Loans may be approved for $1,050 to $50,000 (subject to plan and IRS provisions). You must have an account 
balance of at least $1,050, as there is a $50 loan application fee that is deducted from the loan proceeds. There 
is a $2.08 monthly maintenance fee assessed to your account until your loan is paid in full. Loan withdrawals and 
payments are prorated from before-tax and Roth contributions.

Unforeseeable Emergency 
Withdrawals4 
Only allowed through approval when 
you have no other resources, including 
Plan loans

Reasons for financial hardship include prevention of eviction or foreclosure from your primary residence, non-
reimbursed medical expenses, funeral expenses, casualty loss, or similar extraordinary and unforeseeable 
circumstances.

Distributions While Employed  
for Before-Tax Contributions

If your 457 plan account has less than $5,000 and has been inactive for two years, you may take a de minimis 
distribution; 20% may be withheld for federal income tax purposes. You can take a distribution if you are 70½ and 
still employed.

Distributions After Separation 
From Employer for Before-Tax 
Contributions 

You can start taking distributions after separation from state or higher education employment. You may roll over 
funds into other types of employer-sponsored plans, IRAs, or other eligible options.3 Lump-sum distributions have 
20% automatically withheld for federal taxes. Periodic distributions are allowed.

Distributions From Roth 
Contributions

Roth money may be withdrawn tax-free no earlier than five taxable years after your first Roth contribution AND 
you: a) reach age 59½ and separate from service with your employer, b) become disabled or c) die. Otherwise, 
earnings on Roth contributions may be taxed as ordinary income when you take a distribution.

when 

Required Minimum Distributions 
(RMDs) Must begin no later than April 1 following the year in which you turn 70½, unless you are still employed.

Tax Penalties5

No 10% federal penalty tax applies to distributions of 457 money before age 59½. A 50% federal tax penalty applies 
if RMDs are not taken at age 70½, unless you are still employed  
by the state.
This applies to both before-tax and Roth money types.

1Community college employees may enroll in the 457 plan if their community colleges offer the plan.
2Ceiling is adjusted each year per cost of living index. Amount shown is for 2015.
3You are encouraged to discuss rolling money from one account to another with your financial advisor or planner, considering any potential fees and/or limitation of investment options.
4Please refer to the IRS website for 457 information on unforeseeable emergency withdrawals.
5Representatives of GWFS Equities, Inc. are not registered investment advisors and cannot offer financial, legal, or tax advice. Please consult with your financial planner, attorney, and/or tax 
advisor as needed.
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Employee health plans comparison chart

Benefits

HealthSelectSM of Texas1 Consumer Directed 
HealthSelectSM 1 HMOs

In-Area
Out-of-Area2

In-Area Community 
First,  

Scott & White

KelseyCare 
powered by 
Community 

Health ChoiceNetwork Non-Network Network Non-
Network

Calendar year 
deductible None $500 per person

$1,500 per family
$200 per person
$600 per family

$2,100 per 
person
$4,200 per 
family

$4,200 per 
person 
$8,400 per 
family

None None

Out-of-pocket 
coinsurance 
maximum4

$2,000 per person
per calendar year

$7,000 per person
per calendar year

$3,000 per person 

per calendar year None None $2,000 per person3 $2,000 per person3

Total out-of-
pocket maximum10 
(including deductibles, 
coinsurance and 
copays)11

$6,550 per 
person** 
$13,100 per family

None $6,550 per person** 
$13,100 per family

$6,550 per 
person** 
$13,100 per 
family

$13,100 per 
person** 
$26,200 per 
family

$6,550 per person 
$13,100 per family3

$6,550 per person 
$13,100 per family3

Primary care 
physician required Yes No No No No Contact your HMO No

Primary care 
physicians’ office 
visits

$25 40% 30% 20% 40% $25 $15

Mental health and substance use disorder
a.	 Outpatient 

physician or mental 
health provider 
office visits

$25 copay
40% coinsurance 
after you meet 
the annual Non-
Network Deductible

30% coinsurance 
after you meet the 
annual Out-of-Area 
Deductible

20% 
coinsurance

40% 
coinsurance $25 $25

b.	 Hospital—Inpatient 
stay (copay is $150 per 
day, up to a maximum of 
$750 per admission and 
a maximum of $2,250 
per calendar year.)

20% coinsurance 
after copay 

40% coinsurance 
after copay and 
you meet the 
annual Non-
Network Deductible

30% coinsurance 
after copay and you 
meet the annual Out-
of-Area Deductible

20% 
coinsurance

40% 
coinsurance

20% coinsurance 
(plus $150 a 
day copay per 
admission)

20% coinsurance 
(plus $150 a 
day copay per 
admission)

c.	 Outpatient 
facility care (partial 
hospitalization/ day 
treatment and extensive 
outpatient treatment)

20% coinsurance
40% coinsurance 
after you meet 
the annual Non-
Network Deductible

30% coinsurance 
after you meet the 
annual Out-of-Area 
Deductible

20% 
coinsurance

40% 
coinsurance

$25 copay  
(prior authorization 
required)

$25 copay

Physicals* No charge 40%
Network provider -  
No charge; 
Non-network 
provider - 30%

No charge 40% No charge No charge

Specialty physicians’  
office visits $40 40% 30% 20% 40% $40 $25

Routine eye exam, 
one per year per 
participant*

$40 40% 30% 20% 40% $403,6 $253

Routine preventive 
care* No charge 40%

Network provider -  
No charge; 
Non-network 
provider - 30%

No charge 40% No charge No charge

Diagnostic x-rays, 
lab tests, and 
mammography

20% 40% 30% 20% 40% 20% No charge* 
(physician office)

Office surgery and  
diagnostic procedures 20% 40% 30% 20% 40% 20% $15 PCP or  

$25 Specialist
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Benefits

HealthSelectSM of Texas1 Consumer Directed 
HealthSelectSM1 HMOs

In-Area
Out-of-Area2

In-Area Community 
First,  

Scott & White

KelseyCare 
powered by 
Community 

Health ChoiceNetwork Non-Network Network Non-
Network

High-tech radiology  
(CT scan, MRI, and  
nuclear medicine)7,9,12

$100 copay  
plus 20%

$100 copay  
plus 40%

$100 copay  
plus 30% 20% 40%

$100 copay  
plus 20% 
coinsurance

$150 copay per scan 
type per day  
(Outpatient testing 
only)

Urgent care clinic $50 copay  
plus 20%

$50 copay  
plus 40% 30% 20% 40% $50 copay  

plus 20%
$50 copay  
plus 20% 

Maternity Care 
doctor charges only*; 
inpatient hospital 
copays will apply

No charge for 
routine prenatal 
appointments
$25 or $40 for first 
post-natal visit5

40% 30%

No charge for 
routine prenatal 
appointments 
20% for first  
post-natal visit   

40%

No charge for 
routine prenatal 
appointments
$25 or $40 for first  
post-natal visit5

No charge

Chiropractic Care

a. Coinsurance
20%;$40 copay 
plus 20% with 
office visit

40% 30% 20% 40%

CFHP: 20%;  
$40 copay
SWHP: 20%;  
$40 copay plus 20% 
with office visit

$25 copay

b. Maximum benefit 
per visit $75 $75 $75 $75 $75 CFHP-$75/

SWHP - None –

c. Maximum visits 
Each participant 
Per calendar year

30 30 30 30 30
CFHP-30;
SWHP-35 (maximum 
manipulative therapy 
visits)

30

Inpatient hospital
(semi-private room and  
day’s board, and 
intensive care unit)12

$150/day copay  
plus 20%  ($750 
copay max-up to 5 
days per hospital 
stay, $2,250 copay 
max per calendar 
year per person)

$150/day copay 
plus 40% ($750 
copay max-up to 5 
days per hospital 
stay, $2,250 copay 
max per calendar 
year per person)

$150/day copay  plus 
30% ($750 copay 
max-up to 5 days 
per hospital stay, 
$2,250 copay max 
per calendar year per 
person)

20% 40%

$150/day copay plus 
20% ($750 copay 
max-up to 5 days per 
hospital stay, $2,250 
copay max per plan 
year per person3)

$150/day copay plus 
20% ($750 copay 
max-up to 5 days per 
hospital stay, $2,250 
copay max per plan 
year per person)

Emergency care
$150 plus 20%  
(if admitted copay 
will apply to 
hospital copay)

$150 plus 20%  
(if admitted copay 
will apply to 
hospital copay)

30% 20% 20%
$150 plus 20%
(if admitted copay 
will apply to hospital 
copay)

$150 copay plus 
20% (if admitted 
copay will apply to 
hospital copay)

Outpatient surgery 
other than in 
physician’s office

$100 copay  
plus 20%

$100 copay  
plus 40%

$100 copay  
plus 30% 20% 40% $100 copay plus 

20% $150

Bariatric surgery8, 8A,12

a.	 Deductible 
$5,000 

b.	 Coinsurance 
20% 

c.	 Lifetime max 
$13,000

Not covered

a.	 Deductible $5,000 
b.	 Coinsurance 20% 
c.	 Lifetime max 

$13,000

Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered

Hearing aids Plan pays up to $1,000 per ear every three years  
(no deductible).

Plan pays up to $1,000 per 
ear every three years (after 
deductible is met).

Plan pays up to $1,000 per ear every three 
years (no deductible).

Durable medical 
equipment12 20% 40% 30% 20% 40% 20% 20%

Ambulance services  
(non-emergency)12 20% 20% 30% 20% 20% 20% 20%

1 Benefits are paid on allowable amounts; using providers who contract with UnitedHealthcare will protect you from liability for amounts over the allowable amount.   2 Out-of-area applies to participants living outside of 
Texas, retirees 65 and over, and disabled retirees with Medicare.   3 Applies to plan year, September 1 - August 31.   4 Does not include copays.   5 Copay depends on whether treatment is given by PCP or specialist.
6 For treatment charges, one visit per plan year.   7 Outpatient testing only. Does not apply to inpatient services.   8 Active employees only; see health plan for additional requirements/limitations.   8A The deductible and 
coinsurance paid for bariatric surgery does not apply to the total out-of-pocket maximum.   9 No copay if high-tech radiology is performed during ER visit or inpatient admission.   10 Out-of-pocket maximums are not mutually 
exclusive from other out-of-pocket limits. This means that a participant’s total network out-of-pocket maximum could contain a combination of coinsurance and/or copayments.(For example, a participant could pay up to 
$6,550 in copayments alone if there was no coinsurance paid throughout the year. If a participant met the $2,000 coinsurance out-of-pocket maximum, he/she would pay $4,550 in copayments, totaling $6,550 in overall 
out-of-pocket expense.)   11 Includes medical and prescription drug copays, coinsurance and deductibles. Excludes non-network and bariatric services.   12 Preauthorization required.
*Under the Affordable Care Act, certain preventive and women’s health services are paid at 100% (at no cost to the participant) dependent upon physician billing and diagnosis. In some cases, the participant will still be 
responsible for payment on some services.   **Effective calendar year January 1, 2017.
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Monthly premiums

Full-time Employees and  
Retirees Not Eligible for Medicare

Part-time Employees, Graduate 
Students/Teaching Assistants,  
Post-doctoral and Adjunct Faculty†Premium* State Pays You Pay

HealthSelectSM of Texas
You Only $ 617.30 $ 617.30 $ 0.00 
You + Spouse 1,324.66 970.98 353.68 
You + Children 1,090.90 854.10 236.80 
You + Family 1,798.26 1,207.78 590.48 
Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM**
You Only $ 617.30 $ 617.30 $ 0.00 
You + Spouse 1,289.30 970.98 318.32 
You + Children 1,067.22 854.10 213.12 
You + Family 1,739.22 1,207.78 531.44 
Community First Health Plans
You Only $ 511.50 $ 511.50 $ 0.00 
You + Spouse 1,097.18 804.34 292.84 
You + Children 903.66 707.58 196.08 
You + Family 1,489.34 1,000.42 488.92 
KelseyCare powered by Community Health Choice
You Only $ 483.98 $ 483.98 $ 0.00 
You + Spouse 1,038.02 761.00 277.02 
You + Children 854.94 669.46 185.48 
You + Family 1,408.98 946.48 462.50 
Scott & White Health Plan
You Only $ 610.18 $ 610.18 $ 0.00 
You + Spouse 1,309.34 959.76 349.58 
You + Children 1,078.30 844.24 234.06 
You + Family 1,777.46 1,193.82 583.64 

*Includes premium for Basic Term Life Insurance
**The “State Pays” amount includes a monthly contribution to the 
member’s Optum Bank health savings account (HSA). Please see 
the HSA Contribution table on the next page.

Premium* State Pays You Pay
HealthSelectSM of Texas
You Only $ 617.30 $ 308.65 $ 308.65 
You + Spouse 1,324.66 485.49 839.17 
You + Children 1,090.90 427.05 663.85 
You + Family 1,798.26 603.89 1,194.37 
Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM**
You Only $ 617.30 $ 308.65 $ 308.65 
You + Spouse 1,289.30 485.49 803.81 
You + Children 1,067.22 427.05 640.17 
You + Family 1,739.22 603.89 1,135.33 
Community First Health Plans
You Only $ 511.50 $ 255.75 $ 255.75 
You + Spouse 1,097.18 402.17 695.01 
You + Children 903.66 353.79 549.87 
You + Family 1,489.34 500.21 989.13 
KelseyCare powered by Community Health Choice
You Only $ 483.98 $ 241.99 $ 241.99 
You + Spouse 1,038.02 380.50 657.52 
You + Children 854.94 334.73 520.21 
You + Family 1,408.98 473.24 935.74 
Scott & White Health Plan
You Only $ 610.18 $ 305.09 $ 305.09 
You + Spouse 1,309.34 479.88 829.46 
You + Children 1,078.30 422.12 656.18 
You + Family 1,777.46 596.91 1,180.55 

*Includes premium for Basic Term Life Insurance
**The “State Pays” amount includes a monthly contribution to the 
member’s Optum Bank health savings account (HSA). Please see the 
HSA Contribution table on the next page.
†The state does not contribute to the cost of health insurance for adjunct 
faculty.

Consumer Directed HealthSelect Health Savings Account (HSA)
State Pays An HSA is a tax-free savings account for qualified health expenses.  

You Only $45 monthly ($540 annually) You can receive the “State Pays” HSA contribution if you are: 
You + Spouse 90 monthly ($1,080 annually) • enrolled in Consumer Directed HealthSelect, 
You + Children 90 monthly ($1,080 annually) • eligible for a portion of your health premium to be paid by the state and

• not eligible for Medicare.You + Family 90 monthly ($1,080 annually)
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Dental Insurance
HumanaDental DHMO Employee/ 

Retiree COBRA COBRA Disability Surviving Dependents

You Only $ 9.59 $ 9.78 $ 14.39 Spouse Only $ 9.59
You + Spouse 19.17 19.55 28.76 Spouse + Children   23.01
You + Children 23.01 23.47 34.52 Children Only   13.42
You + Family 32.59 33.24 48.89

State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM Employee/ 
Retiree COBRA COBRA Disability Surviving Dependents

You Only $ 26.61 $ 27.14 $ 39.92 Spouse Only $ 26.61
You + Spouse 53.22 54.28 79.83 Spouse + Children 63.86
You + Children 63.86 65.14 95.79 Children Only 37.25
You + Family 90.47 92.28 135.71

State of Texas Dental Discount PlanSM

Membership Level Employee/ 
Retiree COBRA COBRA Disability Surviving Dependents

You Only $ 2.25 $ 2.30 $ 3.38 Spouse Only $ 2.25
You + Spouse 4.50 4.59 6.75 Spouse + Children   5.40
You + Children 5.40 5.51 8.10 Children Only 3.15
You + Family 7.65 7.80 11.48

State of Texas Vision
Membership Level Employee/

Retiree COBRA COBRA Disability Surviving Dependents

You Only $ 6.69 $ 6.82 $ 10.04 Spouse Only $ 6.69
You + Spouse 13.38 13.65 20.07 Spouse + Children 14.38
You + Children 14.38 14.67 21.57 Children Only 7.69
You + Family 21.07 21.49 31.61

Tobacco-user Premium
If you and/or a family member enrolled in medical insurance is certified as a tobacco-user or has not certified as a non-user, 
you will pay an additional tobacco-user premium of $30, $60 or $90 each month, depending on how many tobacco-users or 
non-certified family members you cover.
Tobacco-users of Any Age and Adults Who Fail to Certify Monthly Tobacco-user Premium 
Member or Spouse or Children* Only $30
Member + Spouse or Member + Children* or Spouse + Children* $60
Family (Member + Spouse + Children*) $90

*The charge for a child is the same regardless of how many children in the household use tobacco or how many covered children 18 or over are not certified.

If you are a tobacco-user, you may be able to participate in an alternative to the tobacco-user premium, if it is right for your 
health status and complies with your doctor’s recommendations.  
Please visit www.ers.state.tx.us/Employees/Health/Tobacco_Policy for more information.

http://www.ers.state.tx.us/Employees/Health/Tobacco_Policy
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Optional Term Life Insurance

After the first 31 days of employment, 
Elections 1 and 2 require approval 
through evidence of insurability (EOI). 
Elections 3 and 4 always require EOI 
approval.
Beginning at age 70, Optional 
Term Life coverage is reduced to a 
percentage of your annual salary as 
follows:
Age 70-74 65% 
Age 75-79 40% 
Age 80-84 25% 
Age 85-89 15% 
Age 90+ 10%

Monthly Rate per $1,000 of Annual Salary

Age
Election 1 

Annual Salary 
x 1

Election 2 
Annual Salary 

x 2

Election 3* 
Annual Salary 

x 3

Election 4*† 
Annual Salary 

x 4
Under 25 $ 0.05 $  0.10 $ 0.15 $ 0.20
25 - 29    0.05     0.10     0.15 0.20
30 - 34    0.06     0.12     0.18 0.24
35 - 39    0.06     0.12     0.18 0.24
40 - 44    0.08     0.16     0.24 0.32
45 - 49   0.12     0.24     0.36 0.48
50 - 54   0.19     0.38     0.57 0.76
55 - 59   0.33     0.66     0.99 1.32
60 - 64   0.57    1.14    1.71 2.28
65 - 69   0.93    1.86    2.79 3.72
70 - 74   1.48    2.96    4.44 5.92
75 - 79   2.41    4.82    7.23 9.64
80 - 84   3.92    7.84    11.76 15.68
85 - 89   6.79  13.58 20.37 27.16

90+ 10.57  21.14 31.71 42.28
Retiree Fixed Optional Life Insurance ($10,000 policy)

$23.40 per month for $10,000
Dependent Term Life Insurance

Employee: $1.38 per month for $5,000  
(includes $5,000 AD&D coverage) Retiree: $3.05 per month for $2,500

AD&D*
You may apply for AD&D coverage according to the following table:

You Only
$0.02 per $1,000 of coverage

You + Family
$0.04 per $1,000 of coverage

Age Minimum Coverage Maximum  
Coverage

Minimum  
Increments

Under 70 $ 10,000 $ 200,000 $ 5,000
70-74 6,500 130,000 3,250
75-79 4,000 80,000 2,000
80-84 2,500 50,000 1,250
85-89 1,500 30,000 750
90+ 1,000 20,000 500

Optional Term Life Insurance and Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
(AD&D) Insurance 

Texas Income Protection PlanSM (TIPP)*
Short-term disability $0.30 per $100 of monthly salary
Long-term disability $0.63 per $100 of monthly salary

*Optional Term Life Insurance at Elections 3 and 4, AD&D, and short-term and long-term disability insurance are not available to retirees.
†Optional Term Life Insurance is limited to a maximum of $400,000 or four times your annual salary, whichever is less.



2017 New Employee Benefit Guide | ERS | 27  

Higher ed employees

Learn more about your State of Texas 
benefits
Our website: www.ers.state.tx.us
The ERS website has information and tools to help you 
take advantage of your benefits. Use the Search function to 
find detailed information on ERS benefits and retirement.

News About Your Benefits
This e-newsletter provides information on available 
programs, wellness, health care plans and other benefits. 
You can sign up to receive this and other news by email at 
www.ers.state.tx.us/Customer_Support/Subscribe.

Your Statement of Retirement 
Benefits
After your birthday each year, ERS will send you 
a personalized statement that shows your earliest 
retirement date, retirement age and projected annuity. 
This statement provides important retirement planning 
information, including benefit estimates and vesting 
information. If you are an ERS member, you can get an 
estimate of the amount of your retirement annuity by 
signing into your account at www.ers.state.tx.us.

Texa$aver Quarterly Statement
You will receive a statement each quarter from  
Texa$aver, administered by Empower Retirement, 
detailing your Texa$aver account balance and  
investment choices.

Your annual Personal Benefits 
Enrollment Statement
Before Summer Enrollment every year, ERS will send you 
a personalized statement listing your current coverage, 
costs and choices for the next plan year. You will have the 
opportunity to make changes each year during Summer 
Enrollment.

Presentations and events
ERS holds various seminars, webinars, fairs and other 
events throughout the year.
•	 Ask ERS webinar: On the first Tuesday of select 

months, you can ask questions and get the latest news 
from ERS. 

•	 Ready, Set, Retire!: Conducted throughout the state and 
as a webinar, this is a free 90-minute seminar on ERS 
retirement and the Texa$aver 401(k) / 457 Program.

•	 Medicare Preparation seminars: Conducted throughout 
the state and as a webinar, this presentation helps those 
approaching Medicare eligibility understand enrollment 
and how Medicare works with state health insurance.

To see a list of upcoming events or to register, go to  
www.ers.state.tx.us/Event-Calendars.

Your benefits coordinator
See your agency's benefits coordinator or HR 
representative for help signing up for and understanding 
benefits.

ERS interactive voice response 
system
For 24/7 access to automated information on your 
insurance and retirement benefits, call toll-free  
(877) 275-4377.

Designate your beneficiaries 
It’s not required within your first month, but it’s a good 
idea to designate your beneficiaries for life insurance and 
Texa$aver as soon as you can. 
•	 For life insurance, log in to your ERS Online account. You 

will need to provide your beneficiaries’ Social Security 
numbers, date of birth and mailing addresses. 

•	 For Texa$aver, download a beneficiary designation form 
from the website at www.texasaver.gwrs.com.

Find detailed instructions at  
www.ers.state.tx.us/Customer_Support/
Online/Update_Your_Beneficiaries

http://www.ers.state.tx.us/Customer_Support/Subscribe
http://www.ers.state.tx.us
http://www.ers.state.tx.us/Event-Calendars
http://www.texasaver.gwrs.com
http://www.ers.state.tx.us/Customer_Support/Online/Update_Your_Beneficiaries
http://www.ers.state.tx.us/Customer_Support/Online/Update_Your_Beneficiaries
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Contact Information
Health insurance

HealthSelectSM of Texas
Administered by UnitedHealthcare
Group number – 744260
Toll-free: (866) 336-9371, TTY: 711
myNurseLine: (866) 336-9371
http://healthselectoftexas.welcometouhc.com/hs-of-texas.html

Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM

Administered by UnitedHealthcare
Group number – 744260
Toll-free (866) 336-9371, TTY: 711
healthselectoftexas.com/cdhs
Optum Bank (HSA)
Toll-free: (800) 791-9361 (TTY – 711),  
7 a.m. – 7 p.m. CT, Monday – Friday CT 
www.optumbank.com

Prescription Drug Program
(pharmacy benefits for HealthSelect of Texas  
and Consumer Directed HealthSelect)
Until Dec. 31, 2016: Administered by Caremark
Group number – RX1292
Toll-free: (888) 886-8490,  
TDD: (800) 231-4403
www.caremark.com/ers
After Jan. 1, 2017: Administered by OptumRx
Toll-free: (866) 336-9371, TTY: 711
www.OptumRx.com/ERS

Community First Health Plans
an affiliate of the University Health System
Group number – 0010180000
Toll-free: (877) 698-7032,  
TDD: (210) 358-6080
Local: (210) 358-6262,  
NurseLink: (210) 358-6262
members.cfhp.com

KelseyCare powered by  
Community Health Choice
Toll-free: (844) 515-4877,  TTY: 711
Group number: 15000
NurseLine: (713) 442-0000
www.erskelseycare.com/

Scott & White Health Plan
Group number – 000058
Toll-free: (800) 321-7947
TTD: (800) 735-2989
VitalCare Nurse Advice: (877) 505-7947
ers.swhp.org

Optional benefits
State of Texas Vision
Administered by Superior Vision Services, Inc.
Toll-free: (877) 396-4128
www.stateoftexasvision.com

Dental Plans
State of Texas Dental ChoiceSM

Administered by HumanaDental Insurance Company
Group number – 536957
Toll-free: (877) 377-0987, TTY: 711
humana.com/ers

HumanaDental DHMO
Insured by DentiCare, Inc, dba CompBenefits, a
member of the HumanaDental family of companies
Group number – 538226
Toll-free: (877) 377-0987, TTY: 711
humana.com/ers

State of Texas Dental Discount PlanSM

Administered by Careington International Corporation
Toll-free: (844) 377-3368, TTY: 711
www.txdentaldiscount.com

Life and Accidental Death &  
Dismemberment Insurance
Administered by Securian
Toll-free: (877) 494-1716, TTY: 711
www.lifebenefits.com/plandesign/ers

Texas Income Protection PlanSM (TIPP)
(short-term and long-term disability insurance)
Administered by ReedGroup
Toll-free: (855) 604-6230, TTY: 711
www.texasincomeprotectionplan.com
Disability evidence of insurability is administered by 
Securian. Contact information is listed above.

TexFlex
Administered by ADP, LLC
Toll-free: (844) 884-2364, TDD: 711
www.texflexers.com

Texa$aver 401(k) / 457 ProgramSM

Administered by Empower RetirementTM

Toll-free: (800) 634-5091, TDD: (800) 766-4952
www.texasaver.com

Discount Purchase Program
Administered by Beneplace
Local: (512) 346-3300, TDD: (800) 683-2886
www.Beneplace.com/DiscountProgramERS

http://healthselectoftexas.welcometouhc.com/hs-of-texas.html
https://www.optumbank.com/
http://www2.caremark.com/ers/cda/
http://members.cfhp.com/
https://www.erskelseycare.com/en-us/
http://ers.swhp.org/
http://www.stateoftexasvision.com
https://our.humana.com/ers/
https://our.humana.com/ers/
http://www.careington.com/ers/
https://web1.lifebenefits.com/sites/lbwcm/pd/ers/
https://www.aontipp.com/
http://www.spendingaccounts.info/texflex-fsa-adp/
https://texasaver.gwrs.com/login.do
http://www.beneplace.com/discountprogramers/


Your ERS online account 
Set up your online account: 

1. Go to www.ers.state.tx.us. 

2. Click on “Access My Account” in the upper right hand corner. You will be taken to a new page.

3. On the new page, click on “Enroll.”

4. Enter and verify your contact information

5. Enroll yourself and dependents in coverage after your agency has entered your employment information 

If you move, or your other contact information changes, don’t forget to update your ERS account.

Sign up for ERS news and updates:

If you have a qualifying event (QLE) such as marriage, divorce or the birth of a child, you can make certain benefit 
changes at other times during the year if they meet QLE guidelines. You must request the changes within 31 days of 
the event – 60 days if your child loses eligibility for the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP).

Health and Human Services Enterprise Employees:
DADS, DFPS, DSHS, HHSC, CPRIT 
The HHS Employee Service Center acts as your benefits coordinator. Contact the Center toll-free at (888) 894-4747.

Employees Retirement System of Texas 
Always available online at www.ers.state.tx.us

24/7 access to automated information on your insurance and retirement benefits: 
(877) 275-4377, TDD: 711. Talk to a representative 7:30 a.m.to 5:30 p.m. CT, Monday through Friday.

http://www.ers.state.tx.us
http://www.ers.state.tx.us


The Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS) complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and 
does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex. ERS provides free 
language aids and services, such as: written information in other formats (large print, audio, accessible 
electronic formats, other formats) qualified interpreters, and written information in other languages.

If you need these services, call: 1-877-275-4377, TDD: 711.

If you believe that ERS has failed to provide these services or discriminated in another way on the basis of 
race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex, you can file a grievance by mail, fax or email:

Mail: Section 1557 Coordinator 
Employees Retirement System of Texas 
P.O. Box 13207, Austin, Texas 78711. 
Fax: 512-867-3480. 
Email: 1557coordinator@ers.state.tx.us 
For more information visit: http://www.ers.state.tx.us

You can also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services online,  
by mail or by phone at:

Online: https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf  
Complaint forms are available at: http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html. 
Mail: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 509F, 
HHH Building, Washington, D.C. 20201. 
Phone: 1-800-368-1019, 800-537-7697 (TDD).

1-877-275-4377

mailto:1557coordinator%40ers.state.tx.us?subject=
http://www.ers.state.tx.us
https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf
http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html
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