STATE OF TEXAS OFFERS SPECIAL
ERS BENEFITS TO SURVIVORS OF THOSE

EM PLOYEES@RET[ REMENT
SYSTEM or TEXAS

KILLED IN THE LINE OF DUTY

The Texas Legislature enacted Chapter 615 of the

Texas Government Code to provide death benefits for
eligible survivors of certain law enforcement officers, fire
fighters, and others killed in the line of duty. The program
is funded by the State of Texas and is administered by
the Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS). It is
not part of any retirement program.

The benefit paid under Chapter 615 is available only
when the individual suffers a death resulting from
the performance of his or her duty and because of
the exposure of risk that is inherent to the job duty or
a risk to which the general public is not customarily
exposed. There are no age or length-of-service eligibility
requirements for this benefit. Payments made under
Chapter 615 are in addition to any other benefits for
which the survivors of deceased individuals may be
eligible to receive (example: federal and educational
benefits).

Who qualifies for Chapter 615
benefits?

Chapter 615 benefits may be available to the surviving
spouse, child(ren), and/or parents of the following
individuals:

* Certified Peace Officers (CPOs) of the state or a
political subdivision (as defined by Article 2.12 of the
Criminal Procedure Code),

» employees of the state, political or legal subdivision
and is certified by the Texas Commission on Fire
Protection,

« eligible members of an organized volunteer fire
fighting unit,

+ individuals who perform emergency medical services,
employed by a political subdivision, and are qualified
emergency care attendants,

* eligible employees of the Department of Public Safety,
Parks and Wildlife Department, and the Department
of Criminal Justice (TDCJ), and

« others as defined by Section 615.003 of the Texas
Government Code.
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Chapter 615 benefits effective
September 1, 2015

 Alump sum payment of $500,000 from the state for the
eligible surviving spouse, child, or parent.

— If there is more than one eligible surviving child or
parent, the lump sum payment would be equally
shared among the eligible survivors.

» A possible monthly payment paid by the state to the
eligible surviving minor children. The state would pay a
monthly payment to the natural parent or legal guardian
until the surviving children reach age 18:

— $400 each month, if there is one surviving child,
— $600 each month, if there are two surviving children,

— $800 each month, if there are three or more surviving
children.

— All monthly payments would stop the last day of the
month in which the child turns 18 years of age.

— If there are multiple children, the monthly payments
will automatically stop when a child reaches age
18 and adjust accordingly for the remaining minor
children.

* A possible monthly payment paid by the state to a
surviving spouse if the deceased was a CPO or was
employed by TDCJ (TX Gov't Code Section 615.121).

— The monthly payment would be calculated based on
the member’s and surviving spouse’s ages.

— The surviving spouse would no longer be eligible
to receive a monthly payment from the state if he
or she becomes eligible for Social Security monthly
payments, remarries, or becomes eligible to receive a
monthly payment from any other retirement program.

« The state may pay up to $6,000 for funeral expenses
if the deceased was a CPO or was employed by TDCJ
(TX Gov't Code Section 615.121).
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» The surviving spouse and/or children may be eligible for
health and/or dental coverage from the State of Texas
if the deceased was a CPO or was employed by TDCJ
(TX Gov't Code Section 615.072, 615.074).

» The surviving spouse and/or children may be eligible for
health coverage from the deceased person’s employer if
the deceased was employed by a political subdivision of
the state. (TX Gov't Code Sections 615.073 — 615.074).

How to apply for Chapter 615
benefits

The employer or the family can contact ERS directly to
initiate the Chapter 615 claim process.

For more information on financial assistance available
under Chapter 615 of the Texas Government Code,
contact:

Employees Retirement System of Texas
ATTN: SURVIVOR BENEFITS

PO BOX 13207

AUSTIN TX 78711-3207

Toll-free: (877) 275-4377

Federal benefits

The surviving spouse and/or children may need to
contact the Public Safety Officers’ Benefits Program
about potential federal benefits:

Public Safety Officers’ Benefits Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance

810 Seventh Street NW

Washington, DC 20531

Telephone: (202) 307-0635 or toll-free (888) 744-6513
Fax: (202) 616-0314

Email: AskPSOB@usdoj.gov

Website: www.psob.gov

Educational benefits

The state may also provide an education benefit for

the surviving spouse or surviving minor children. The
benefit may include tuition, fees, books and housing at
any public college or university until the student receives
a bachelor’s degree or 200 hours of credit, whichever
occurs first. The college or university administers

the program. The surviving spouse and/or children

may need to contact the Texas Higher Education
Coordinating Board for educational benefits:

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Division of Student Services

P.O. Box 12788

Austin, TX 78711-2788

Telephone: (512) 427-6101

Website: www.thecb.state.tx.us



