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A message from ERS Executive Director Porter Wilson

Congratulations on your new job! | want to be among the
first to welcome you to your new position in public service.

As a State of Texas employee, you have a valuable benefits
package. In fact, your benefits make up about one-third of
your total compensation package. These comprehensive
benefits are designed to help you enhance your wellness
and secure your future.

You have a limited window of time to make important decisions about your
benefits. | encourage you to read this guide to educate yourself and make
informed choices in your first 31 to 60 days of employment.

At the Employees Retirement System of Texas, we're proud to support
excellence in public service by administering health insurance, retirement and
other benefits to you and your family.

This New Employee Benefits Guide provides the information you need to make
the most of your retirement, insurance and related benefits offered by the State
of Texas. For more information, visit the ERS website at www.ers.state.tx.us.

Sincerely,

Porter Wilson
Executive Director
Employees Retirement System of Texas

Employees Retirement System of Texas
Always available online at www.ers.state.tx.us
24/7 access to automated information on your insurance and retirement benefits:
(877) 275-4377, TDD: 711. Talk to a representative 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. CT, Monday through Friday.

Published September 2016.
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For a quick overview of your new employee benefits, visit
.
——8 www.ers.state.tx.us/Employees/New-Employee/Overview

The New Employee Benefits Guide for Plan Year 2017 highlights benefits effective at the time of publication.
Health and other insurance benefits for employees and retirees are subject to change based on available
state funding. The Texas Legislature determines the level of funding for such benefits with no obligation to
provide these benefits beyond each fiscal year.

ERS OFFERS COMPETITIVE BENEFITS

TO ENHANCE THE LIVES OF ITS MEMBERS.

State agency employees
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Getting started: signing up for your benefits

As a new employee, you have some important decisions to make about your health
insurance coverage, optional insurance and dependent coverage.

Benefits

If you do not enroll in optional benefits during your first month on the job, you will need to
wait until the Summer Enrollment period or experience a qualifying life event (QLE) to do so.

Use the checklist on the next page to make sure you have provided the information you
need to start getting the most out of your benefits package.

You will automatically be enrolled in:
« HealthSelect™™ of Texas health and prescription drug

You have the option of enrolling in:
+ One of the following health insurance plans instead of

coverage if you're a full-time employee (part-time
employees are not automatically enrolled);

« $5,000 Basic Term Life and AD&D insurance at no
cost for full-time employees (part-time employees are
not automatically enrolled);

* The ERS defined benefit retirement plan with an
employee contribution of 9.5% of salary (the Texas
Legislature sets this contribution level, and the state
and your employer also contribute an additional total of
10% of your salary to the ERS retirement fund); and

« A Texa$aver 401(k) retirement savings account
at an initial contribution rate of 1% of your salary.
Contributions are deducted from your paycheck
automatically, before income taxes are taken out.
This does not apply to employees who transfer from
another state agency or return-to-work retirees.

HealthSelect of Texas:
— Consumer Directed HealthSelect*™ for you and your
eligible dependents

— an HMQO, if you live or work in an eligible county, for you
and your eligible dependents;

one of three dental plans for you and your eligible
dependents;

State of Texas Vision for you and your eligible dependents

additional life insurance for you and your eligible
dependents;

accidental death & dismemberment (AD&D) insurance;

Texas Income Protection Plans™ (TIPP) short-term and/or
long-term disability insurance; and

TexFlex flexible spending accounts: dependent care, and
health or limited accounts.

For the average state employee, the State of Texas benefits
package makes up about one-third of the total compensation.

Average state employee total compensation = $60K
+ $40K in salary
+ $20K in benefits

Employers and employees say that benefits are a major draw
to state employment.

First 31 days: No Questions Asked

__—Health Insurance — 12%
— Pension — 4%
—Vacation, Holidays and Sick Leave — 11%

— Other (payroll expense, longevity pay) — 7%

Source: Texas State Auditor’s Office, State Employee Benefits as a
Percentage of Total Compensation, April 2014

Your first month of employment is your chance to get disability coverage and additional life insurance—no questions
asked. If you enroll in certain life and disability benefits as a new employee, you won’t need to produce evidence

of insurability (EOI). EQOI is an application process in which you must provide information about your or your
dependents’ health. If you miss the 31-day new-employee opportunity and go through the EOI process, you or
your dependents may not be approved for these benefits if you don’t qualify. If you want additional life insurance
coverage and/or disability insurance, now is the best time to sign up.

State agency employees
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When do my benefits
start?

Health insurance and prescription drug coverage
begin the first of the month following your 60th
day of employment.

This waiting period does not apply if you:
« were rehired without a break in coverage,

« are transfering from the University of Texas
or Texas A&M University without a break in
coverage,

« are a return-to-work retiree enrolled in health
coverage as a retiree,

« are enrolled in health coverage through ERS
as a dependent or in accordance with COBRA
on the date of hire or rehire, or

» were rehired on or after September 1, 2015
and returned to employment at the same state
agency within 90 days of leaving active military
duty.

NOTE: You need to notify your human resources
department within 31 days of your hire date in
order for the waiting period to be removed.

Even though you do not have a waiting period, you
will have 31 days to make health coverage changes
if you want to make them. For those starting mid-
month, your coverage begins the first of the next
month.

For optional benefits (dental, vision, optional life
elections 1 and 2, dependent life, AD&D, TIPP
disability insurance and TexFlex):

« If you enroll on your first day, coverage begins
that day.

* If you enroll within 31 days of your hire date,
coverage begins on the first day of the month
after you enroll.

» For optional life elections 3 and 4, coverage
begins the first day of the month after you are
approved through EOI.

Deciding between n
HealthSelect of

Texas and another
health plan?

See the employee health plans comparison chart
on page 22. Arate calculator is available at www.
ers.state.tx.us/Employees/Calculate-Rates

State agency employees
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& New Employee Benefits Checklist

& Within 60 Days (of hire)

Health insurance
O Enroll in HealthSelect of Texas
(automatic for full-time employees) OR

O Enroll in Consumer Directed HealthSelect instead of
HealthSelect of Texas and open a health savings account OR

O Enroll in an HMO, if you live or work in an eligible county

O Enroll eligible dependents; you and your dependents must be
in the same plan

0 Complete dependent certification and verification
(See page 8)

O Certify tobacco-use status for yourself and your covered
dependents

[0 Waive coverage; use the Health Insurance Opt-Out Credit, if
applicable

& within 31 Days (of hire)

Dental plans
Enroll yourself and your dependents in a dental plan:
U HumanaDental DHMO

[0 State of Texas Dental Choice Plans
[J State of Texas Dental Discount PlansM

State of Texas Vision
O Enroll yourself and your dependents

Optional Term Life Insurance
O Enroll yourself for coverage of 1 or 2 times your
annual salary

O Apply for coverage of 3 or 4 times your annual salary
through evidence of insurability (EOI)

Dependent Term Life Insurance
O Enroll eligible dependents

Voluntary Accidental Death &
Dismemberment (AD&D)

O Enroll yourself or yourself and family

Texas Income Protection Plan (TIPP)
disability insurance

O Enroll in short-term disability

O Enroll in long-term disability

TexFlex flexible spending accounts
O Enroll in TexFlex health care account

O Enroll in TexFlex dependent care account

O Enroll in a TexFlex limited flexible spending account
if you enroll in Consumer Directed HealthSelect
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Health Insurance Options — HealthSelect

For a plan comparison chart and detailed coverage information, see page 22.

It pays to stay in the

Network!

With HealthSelect of Texas and
Consumer Directed HealthSelect, you
have access to the same provider
network of more than 58,000 doctors in
Texas. These network doctors have been
carefully evaluated for quality care.

If you are enrolled in HealthSelect of
Texas or Consumer Directed HealthSelect,
you can use any health care provider.

But, you will pay more if a doctor, hospital
or other provider is not part of the
HealthSelect provider network.

Be sure to find out if a provider is in
the HealthSelect network before
scheduling visits or procedures by
going to the “Find a Doctor” link on
the HealthSelect website.

Even if a hospital is in the HealthSelect
network, doctors and other providers
who practice at that hospital may not be.
Find out if all your providers are in the
HealthSelect network.

UnitedHealthcare is the plan
administrator for HealthSelect of
Texas and Consumer Directed
HealthSelect. To access information
about your benefits, sign up for an
online account with UnitedHealthcare
at myuhc.com/healthselect.

You can also download

the UnitedHealthcare
Health4me app for easy
access to information about
your health insurance coverage.

You must designate a

H ea Ith primary care physician

(PCP) from the HealthSelect network. Your PCP will help you
maintain your overall health and issue referrals for specialty care.

of Texas

There is no charge for in-network preventive care, including
annual physicals and immunizations. Your provider must code the
treatment as preventive.

There is no annual medical deductible if you stay in the
HealthSelect network. If you see a non-network provider, there
is a $500 per person, $1,500 per family deductible that must be
met before the plan begins to pay for non-network services.

CONSUMER DIRECTED /| Youdonotneed to designate
H Ith a primary care physician

(PCP) and you don’t need

referrals to see specialists.
There is no charge for in-network preventive care, including
annual physicals and immunizations.

The monthly premium is lower. But you pay the full cost of doctor
visits, prescriptions and other health care costs until you reach
the annual deductible.

Plan Year 2017 Individual .
In-Network $2,100 $4,200
Out-of-Network $4,200 $8,400

Health savings account

To help cover your out-of-pocket health care costs, the state will
make a monthly contribution to your health savings account (HSA).
The state contributes $45 per month for individuals and $90 per
month for family coverage.

You can also make pre-tax contributions to your HSA. The IRS sets
this amount each year. The combined annual maximum contribution
limit is $3,350 for individuals and $6,750 for families. The balance in
your HSA carries over from one year to the next, and you can keep
the funds if you change health plans or leave state employment.
You can use the funds for qualified medical expenses for you, your
spouse and eligible dependents.

If you enroll in Consumer Directed HealthSelect, you need to open
your HSA as soon as possible so that funds can be deposited into
your account.

For a cost estimator and other information about Consumer
Directed HealthSelect, go to www.healthselectoftexas.com/cdhs.

State agency employees
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Health Insurance Options — HMOs

COoMMUNITY FiRST

Keeping Our Commitment fo You

KelseyCare

Z

powered by COMMUNITY £ Z
HEALTH CHOICE

SCOTT&WHITE
A% HEALTH PLAN

Now part of Baylor Scott & White Health

If you live or work in an eligible county, you
have the option to enroll in an HMO. These
regional providers have large networks to
meet varied health care needs.

If you enroll in Community First Health Plans,
you must select a PCP. If you enroll in Scott
& White Health Plan or KelseyCare powered
by Community Health Choice, you can go to
any network provider without a referral. You
can choose a PCP if you want to.

You must use providers (such as doctors
and hospitals) in the HMO network for your
services to be covered, unless the health
plan has authorized your treatment. Only
emergency care services are covered
outside the network.

HMOs have their own prescription drug
coverage. The annual drug deductible
is $50 per plan year, which resets on
September 1.

HMO areas

If you live or work in a covered HMO service area, you may choose

to enroll in that plan.

Service
HMO Plan P
Community First San Antonio
Health Plans area
KelseyCare Powered Houston
by Community area
Health Choice
Scott & White %Z?{%ig:
Health Plan
areas

Counties

Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal,
Guadalupe, Kendall, Medina and
Wilson

Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris
and Montgomery

Austin, Bastrop, Bell, Bosque, Brazos,
Burleson, Burnet, Coke, Coleman,
Concho, Coryell, Crockett, Falls,
Freestone, Grimes, Hamilton, Hill,
Irion, Kimble, Lampasas, Lee, Leon,
Limestone, Llano, Madison, Mason,
McCulloch, McLennan, Menard, Milam,
Mills, Reagan, Robertson, Runnels, San
Saba, Schleicher, Somervell, Sterling,
Sutton, Tom Green, Travis, Walker,
Waller, Washington and Williamson

Out-of-pocket limits

All five health plans have an out-of-pocket maximum to
help protect you from catastrophic health care costs.

This is the maximum amount you will pay in one year for
copays, coinsurance, prescriptions, deductibles and other

_ In-Network Out-of-Pocket Maximum

Individual: $6,450
Family: $12,900

Individual: $6,550
Family: $13,100

Before December 31, 2016

After January 1, 2017

State agency employees

qualified health care expenses (not including monthly
premiums). All five health plans have in-network out-of-
pocket maximums. Only Consumer Directed HealthSelect
has an out-of-network out-of-pocket maximum.

Out-of-Network Out-of-Pocket Maximum

(Consumer Directed HealthSelect only)

Individual: $12,900
Family: $25,800

Individual: $13,100
Family: $26,200
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Opting out of health insurance

You can waive or opt out of
health insurance coverage.

Health Insurance Opt-Out Credit: If you can certify that
you already have other health insurance that is equal to or
better than coverage offered through ERS, you can sign up
for a monthly Health Insurance Opt-Out Credit of up to $60
for full-time employees and $30 for part-time employees.
You must be eligible for the state contribution toward your
health insurance premium to qualify for the opt-out credit.

This credit must be applied to your Dental insurance and/or
Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment premiums.

The credit cannot be applied to premiums for the State of
Texas Dental Discount Plan or State of Texas Vision.

The Health Insurance Opt-Out Credit is not available

if your other insurance is Medicare, you have GBP
coverage through ERS as a dependent, or you receive a
state contribution for other insurance coverage.

IMPORTANT: If you waive or opt-out of your health plan,
you are giving up your prescription coverage and you no
longer have the Basic Term Life coverage. If you lose your
other coverage, you may enroll in health coverage offered
through ERS as a QLE if you do so within 31 days of
losing the other coverage.

Prescription drug coverage

Each health insurance plan includes coverage for prescription drugs. Prescription medications are divided into three
tiers, with different copays for each tier. Tier 1 are usually inexpensive medications, such as generic drugs. Tier 2 are
usually lower-cost preferred brand-name drugs. Tier 3 typically are non-preferred brand-name drugs with a high cost.

HealthSelect of Texas

Consumer Directed HealthSelect

See plan website.

HMOs

See plan website.

$2,100 per individual and $4,200

Pharmacy .
Network See plan website.
Deductible $50 for each covered individual

(January 1 - December 31)

per family (in combined medical and
pharmacy expenses) using
in-network pharmacies

$50 for each covered individual
(September 1 - August 31)

(January 1 - December 31)

Up to a 30-day supply of
Non-maintenance medications:
Tier 1: $10, Tier 2: $35, Tier 3: $60

Maintenance medications:
Tier 1: $10, Tier 2: $45, Tier 3: $75

Co-payments:
In-network

40% coinsurance of drug price
minus copay OR average
wholesale price of the drug, plus a
dispensing fee, minus copay

Co-payments:
Out-of-network

No maintenance fee for 31- to 90-
day prescriptions from pharmacies
in the EDS network

Yes

Extended Days
Supply (EDS)

Mail order Yes

Brand-name
drug payment

20% coinsurance after the annual
deductible is met

Up to a 30-day supply of
Non-maintenance medications:
Tier 1: $10, Tier 2: $35, Tier 3: $60

Maintenance medications:
Tier 1: $10, Tier 2: $45, Tier 3: $75

40% coinsurance after the annual
out-of-network deductible is met

Does not cover

No maintenance fee for 31- to 90-day
prescriptions from pharmacies in the
EDS network

Does not apply

Yes

If a generic drug is available and you choose the brand-name drug, you will pay the Tier 1 copay or coinsurance,
as applicable, plus the difference in cost to the plan between the brand-name drug and the generic drug.

Beginning January 1, 2017, Optum RXx, an affiliate of UnitedHealthCare Services, Inc., will replace Caremark as the third-party administrator of the
prescription drug programs for HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect.

State agency employees
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You must certify—whether you use tobacco or not

Tobacco-use status

All participants enrolled in health insurance plans offered through
ERS must certify their status as tobacco users or non-users.
Members and covered dependents who do not certify their tobacco-
use status will be charged a monthly tobacco-user premium—even
if they don’t use tobacco.

This online certification is legally binding. If you have already
certified yourself and your dependents, you only need to re-certify if
you or your dependents have a change in tobacco-use status.

All health plans offered through ERS cover programs and
prescription drugs for tobacco cessation.

For more information, see the ERS Tobacco policy on the
ERS website at www.ers.state.tx.us/Employees/Health/
Tobacco_Policy/.

Ready to quit?

Take advantage of the tobacco cessation
programs offered by your health plan. If you're
tobacco-free for at least three consecutive
months, you won’t pay the higher premiums if
you re-certify as a tobacco non-user.

Tobacco premium
alternative

If you're a tobacco user, you may be able to
participate in the Choose to Quit program,
which allows tobacco users to have their
tobacco-user premiums waived for the plan
year. Program rules apply.

Good health!

Good health is one of the most valuable assets you can have. Your state benefits
package offers a variety of programs and incentives to help you get and stay
healthy. Watch a monthly webinar on wellness topics, take advantage of gym
membership discounts and fitness programs, or quit smoking. To find out more
about wellness programs, go to your health insurance provider’s website.

birth of her eight-year-old son.

JENNICA PRESTON
Benefits Coordinator

Seeing Results with Real Appeal

Eligible HealthSelect participants can join Real Appeal, an online program to
improve health and wellness. Real Appeal offers support and step-by-step guidance
throughout a 52-week program. Participants receive a Real Appeal Success Kit -
delivered to your door and filled with tools and resources to help keep you on track.

Jennica Preston joined Real Appeal to try to lose the weight she gained after the

“After my son was born, | lost my motivation to eat right and take care of myself,”

says Preston. “Real Appeal helps me stay motivated to make the right choices. Right
off the bat, | went cold turkey and stopped eating fast food and sodas. | started using
my husband’s workout equipment to get exercise at home. A few times each week, |

walk the twelve flights of stairs to my office."

In less than six months, she has lost 32 pounds. She is on track to lose ten more in
order to reach her goal weight.

“I've always been petite and small,” says Preston. “I'm thrilled to be getting back to
the person | really am.”

State agency employees
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Dependent coverage

Your spouse and other qualified dependents can receive
health insurance and other coverage for an additional
premium. They must be enrolled in the same plan(s) as you.
To be eligible, they must meet certain criteria. A dependent’s
employment or school enrollment currently has no bearing
on benefits eligibility. For more information about dependent
eligibility, go to www.ers.state.tx.us/GBP-Eligible/.

You must certify that your dependent children are eligible.

To certify them, log in to your ERS OnLine account. Make
sure you have the right documents before you begin. You
will be guided through the steps in the certification process.

This online certification is legally binding. Providing false
information could result in the loss of benefits for you and
your dependents. Intentionally providing false information
may lead to criminal penalties.

e ']

I

ERS has contracted with Aon Hewitt to verify that every
dependent enrolled in health coverage is eligible. After
you have enrolled and certified your dependents, Aon
Hewitt will mail you a letter outlining the steps in the
verification process, listing the dependents that need to
be verified, the documentation needed and the deadlines
for submitting documentation. For example, to enroll a
common law spouse, you must provide a Declaration of
Informal Marriage with a registration date prior to the date
of your spouse's enrollment. If you do not provide this
information or if your dependent is found ineligible, he or
she will be dropped from coverage.

If you have questions about dependent eligibility
verification, contact the Aon Hewitt Dependent
Verification Center toll-free at (800) 987-6605.

State agency employees
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Dependent eligibility chart

Make sure your dependents are eligible for insurance and that you have the appropriate documentation to show
eligibility before you enroll them in any coverage. You are required to provide a birth certificate to Aon Hewitt once

you enroll a newborn child. A hospital-issued birth certificate will be accepted in place of a government-issued birth
certificate for newborn children, three months of age or younger. If you are unable to supply the documents listed below
please contact Aon Hewitt Customer Service.

Dependent of the
Participant (employee,
retiree or other
individual enrolled in
program as recognized

Examples of Supporting Documents
(these documents are required)

Eligibility

by Texas law)

Spouse

Common Law
Spouse

Biological Child*

Adopted Child*

Stepchild*

Child of Managing
Conservator*

Foster Child*

Legal Ward Child*

Other Child*

Spouse as recognized by law

Spouse as recognized by law

Natural-born child

Child is eligible at time of placement.

Child is not required to live in participant’s
household.

Child is identified in the managing conservatorship
granted to the participant.

Child must not have other governmental insurance.

Child is under the protection or in the custody of the
participant.

Child is related to participant by blood or marriage, was
claimed as dependent on participant’s federal income
tax return for previous tax year, and will continue to be
claimed on participant’s federal income tax return for
every calendar year the child is covered.

A child who is acquired or born in the current calendar
year will be claimed and continue to be claimed

on participant’s federal income tax return for every
calendar year the child is covered.

Government-issued marriage certificate and
Current federal tax return OR

Proof of joint ownership** issued within last six
months OR

Government-issued marriage certificate only (if
married in the last 12 months)

Declaration of informal marriage with the
county courthouse AND

Current federal tax return OR

Proof of joint ownership** issued within last
six months

Government-issued birth certificate

Adoption certificate OR
Adoption placement agreement AND
Petition for adoption

Government-issued marriage certificate OR
Declaration of informal marriage with the
county courthouse AND

Child’s government-issued birth certificate
AND

Current federal tax return OR

Proof of joint ownership** issued within last
six months

Managing conservatorship court document
signed by judge

Placement order AND
Affidavit of foster child

Court order signed by a judge appointing
participant as the child’s guardian
(documentation of legal custody) AND
Government-issued birth certificate

Government-issued birth certificate OR
Government-issued marriage license to
prove family relationship AND

Current federal tax return OR

Affidavit of good cause

*Child must be under age 26 for health insurance, and can be married or unmarried. Child must be under age 26 and unmarried for dental coverage, State
of Texas Vision and Dependent Term Life Insurance. Disabled dependent children age 26 and over may be eligible for insurance. For more information,

visit the ERS website.

**See Documentation Requirements in the communications Aon Hewitt sends you for examples of Joint Ownership documents. False information could
lead to expulsion from the GBP and/or criminal prosecution.

State agency employees



10 | ERS | 2017 New Employee Benefit Guide

STATE OF TEXAS

VISION

You and your eligible dependents can enroll in State of Texas Vision for
an additional premium. The vision plan covers all or a portion of the cost
of eyeglasses and contact lenses as well as discounts for LASIK. Retail
providers include Walmart, Target Optical, LensCrafters and many others.
The chart on the next page lists some of the plan benefits. For a complete
list, see the State of Texas Vision page on the ERS website.

Your health plan covers some vision and eye health services, such as an
annual eye exam.

State agency employees
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Routine Eye Exam $25 co-pay $25 co-pay (covered up to $40)
Frames $150 retail allowance® $50 retail allowance?®
Contact Lens Fitting (Standard Fitting) $25 co-pay Up to $100 allowance?®
Contact Lens Fitting (Specialty Fitting) $35 co-pay Up to $100 allowance®
Single Vision Lenses $10 co-pay Up to $30 allowance?®
Bifocal Lenses $15 co-pay Up to $45 allowance?®
Trifocal Lenses $20 co-pay Up to $60 allowance?®
Progressives $70 co-pay Not covered
Polycarbonate $50 co-pay Not covered
Scratch Coat (factory, single sided) $10 co-pay Not covered
Ultraviolet Coating $10 co-pay Not covered
Tint $10 co-pay Not covered
Standard Anti-Reflective Coating $40 co-pay Not covered
Contact Lenses? (Conventional or Disposable) $150 allowance® Up to $100 allowance?®

'If you use out-of-network providers, you will be required to pay out-of-pocket cost which will be higher. Please see the State of Texas Vision website for
more information.

2Contact lenses are in lieu of eyeglass lenses and frames benefit.

3All costs and allowances are retail; you are responsible for any charges in excess of the retail allowances.

Frequencies for all State of Texas Vision plan benefits are once every twelve (12) months.

All benefits, administrative duties and definitions are detailed in the certificate of insurance.

State agency employees
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Dental plans

For an additional premium, you can choose between the following three dental plans. You must be enrolled before you
can enroll eligible dependents, and you and your dependents must enroll in the same plan.

State of Texas Dental Discount HumanaDental Dental Health
Plans¥ Maintenance Organization
» This is not a dental insurance plan. You receive (DHMO)

discounted prices on usual charges for dental

i A ) » Coverage only applies to dentists in the Texas service
treatment and services at participating providers.

area. Before you enroll, make sure there is a DHMO

» There are no claim forms, copays, deductibles, annual network dentist in your area. For a list of providers go
maximums or limits on use. to HumanaDental.com/ers, or call HumanaDental.
* Available throughout the United States, excluding * You must select a primary care dentist (PCD) from
Vermont and U.S. territories, and in the United Kingdom. a list of approved providers. You and your enrolled
dependents can choose different primary care dentists.
State of Texas Dental ChoiceSV + Services from participating specialty dentists cost 25%

« This is a preferred provider organization (PPO) dental less than the dentist's usual charge.

insurance plan.

* You can see any dentist, but you get a higher benefit
by using a network provider.

» Benefits applicable in the United States and Canada,
or Mexico if you live in the United States.

State agency employees
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Dental insurance plans comparison chart

State of Texas Dental Choice Plans™
HumanaDental DHMO'

Preferred Provider Organization (PPO)
Administered by HumanaDental Insurance Company

You must select a primary care
dentist (PCD).

. . icipati In-network/
Dentists NOTE: Not all participating n=het .
dentists accept new patients. participating dentist
Dentists are not required to stay
on the plan for the entire year.
Preventive-Individual-$0; Family-$0
. Combined Basic/Major/Prosthodonic
Deductibles None . :
-Individual-$50; Family-$150
Orthodontic services-no deductible
Preventive and Diagnostic Services
- You pay nothing.
) ) Basic Services - You pay 10%
Primary dentist - Copays vary ' coinsurance after meeting the Basic
according to service and are Services deductible.
listed in the “Schedule of Dental ) ) .
Copays / Benefits” booklet. Major Services - You pay 50%

coinsurance after meeting the Major

Coinsurance Services deductible.

Specialty dentistry - You pay
75% of the dentist’s usual and

customary fee. DHMO pays You will not be charged for anything

over the allowed amount.

nothing.
After you reach the Maximum
Calendar Year Benefit, you pay 60%
until January 1.3
Maximum (_:alendar Unlimited $1 500 (includes orthodontic
Year Benefit extractions)
Maximum Lifetime Unlimited $1,500 for orthodontic services

Benefit

Vary according to service and
are listed in the “Schedule of
Dental Benefits” booklet

Average Cost of
Cleaning / Oral
Exams

You pay nothing.

Up to two cleaning/oral exams
Up to two cleaning/oral exams  per calendar year allowed

per calendar year allowed

Orthodontic services performed
by a general dentist listed in the
directory with an “0” treatment

code — child - $1,800, adult Orthodontic services are only

Orthodontic available to dependents age 19

-$2,100
Coverage \ . . or younger.
Syrtggg(c:)igﬂcszts_emces performed | v, pay 50% of the allowed amount.

You pay 75% of his/her usual
fee. DHMO pays nothing.

Out-of-network/
non-participating dentist?

Preventive-Individual-$50; Family-$150
Combined Basic/Major/Prosthodonic
-Individual-$100; Family-$300
Orthodontic services-no deductible

Preventive and Diagnostic Services

- You pay 10% coinsurance after
meeting the Preventive and Diagnostic
deductible.

Basic Services - You pay 30%
coinsurance after meeting the Basic
Services deductible.

Major Services - You pay 60%
coinsurance after meeting the Major
Services deductible.

You may be required to pay the
difference between the allowed
amount and billed charges.

After you reach the Maximum
Calendar Year Benefit, you pay 60%
until January 1.3

$1,500 (includes orthodontic
extractions)

$1,500 for orthodontic services

10% of the allowed amount after
deductible is met

Up to two cleaning/oral exams per
calendar year allowed

Orthodontic services are only available
to dependents age 19 or younger.
You pay 50% of the allowed amount.

You may be required to pay the
difference between the allowed
amount and billed charges.

NOTE: The Comparison Chart is only a summary of the benefits offered by the two dental insurance plans. See plan booklet for actual coverage and

limitations. Prior to starting treatment, discuss with your dentist the treatment plan and all charges.

"This Comparison Chart reflects participant responsibility for services received from participating primary care dentists only. Services from

participating specialty dentists are 25% less than the dentist’s usual charge.

2In the State of Texas Dental Choice Plan PPO, deductibles and annual maximums are per calendar year. Non-participating dentists can bill you for
charges above the amount covered by your HumanaDental plan. To ensure you do not receive additional charges, visit a participating PPO network

dentist.

3 Services received after the Maximum Calendar Year Benefit is reached will be paid at 40% coinsurance by the plan.

State agency employees
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Life, AD&D and disability insurance

Optional Term Life Insurance

Your health coverage through ERS includes $5,000 Basic Group Term Life
Insurance with $5,000 of accidental death and dismemberment (AD&D)
coverage at no cost. You can purchase additional life insurance coverage in
increments based on your annual salary.

Optional Term Life Election 1 or 2 (one or two times your annual salary) is
available without evidence of insurability (EOI) during your first 31 days of
employment.

Optional Term Life Election 3 or 4 (three or four times your annual salary) is
available for coverage of up to $400,000, but you must submit EOL. To initiate the
EOI request, sign in to your ERS OnLine account, select the desired coverage,
and follow the prompts on the screen.

Each election provides an equal amount of AD&D coverage, in case of an
accidental death or dismemberment. Your monthly premiums and the amount
your beneficiary will receive depend on your age, salary and the level of
coverage you purchase.

Dependent Term Life Insurance

For an additional monthly premium, you can enroll your eligible dependents in
term life insurance. The benefit includes $5,000 term life with $5,000 AD&D for
each covered family member. The benefit will be paid to you upon the death of
a covered dependent or in the event of certain accidental injuries. All eligible
dependents are covered with one premium, but you must list each dependent on
the policy.

Newborn coverage is guaranteed if the baby is added within 31 days of birth.

Voluntary AD&D Insurance

Voluntary AD&D coverage can provide additional financial protection for you and
your family in the event of certain accidental injuries or accidental death. You can
choose insurance in increments of $5,000, starting at $10,000 up to $200,000.
EOIl is not required for AD&D Insurance. You can sign up for coverage for
yourself only, or for yourself and your eligible family members.

* If you die as the direct result of an accidental bodily injury, your beneficiaries
receive the full coverage amount.

* If a covered family member dies in an accident, you will receive part of the
coverage amount. Go to the ERS website for more information.

« If you have an accident and suffer any of the covered injuries, such as loss of
a hand, foot or sight of one eye in an accident, you will receive a benefit up to
the full amount of coverage.

« If an eligible family member loses a hand, foot or sight of one or both eyes in
an accident, you will receive a percentage of the benefit.

Disability insurance

Just like auto insurance covers
your car if you get in an accident,
disability coverage covers your
wallet if you become disabled and
can’t work. Pregnancy, accident,
illness — when you can’t work, the
Texas Income Protection PlansM
(TIPP) provides you money to pay
the bills.

Short-term disability insurance
coverage provides a maximum
benefit of 66% of your monthly
salary (up to $10,000) or $6,600,
whichever is less, for up to five
months. For example, if your
monthly salary is $4,000, the
highest amount you’ll get for short-
term disability is $2,640 per month.

Long-term disability insurance
coverage provides a maximum
benefit of 60% of your monthly
salary (up to $10,000) or $6,000,
whichever is less, for a period
ranging from 12 months to Normal
Social Security Retirement age,
depending on your age at the time
of disability.

You must use all of your sick leave
(including extended sick leave,
sick leave pool, and/or donated
sick leave) or complete the 30-day
waiting period, whichever option is
longest, before disability benefits
will be paid. Pre-existing conditions
are subject to certain exclusions.
This coverage is not available to
family members.

Please see page 26 for premium information.
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THOMAS BARKER-WHITE
Statewide Intake Supervisor

e

Having good insurance coverage is so
important. You may never need it (and | hope
you don’t), but if you do, you are probably
REALLY going to need it. Life can come at you
quick, so it’s best to cover all your bases.

b

For 20 years, Thomas Barker-White has worked for the
Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
(DFPS), currently as a statewide intake supervisor
overseeing a staff of nine.

Barker-White and his wife, Lutishia, a former state
employee, value their ERS-administered health and
retirement benefits.

They set aside money for retirement through Texa$aver
to prepare for their retirement. They believe it is a good
benefit for employees who don’t trust their own judgment
with investments.

But five years ago, the most important benefit became
short-term and long-term disability insurance.

In 2011, Lutishia became disabled due to arthritis and
related injuries. Her disability insurance payments made
up for a portion of the income she lost when she could no
longer work.

As a result, the couple was able to manage their finances
without any substantial changes.

Having both short-term and long-term disability insurance
made a huge difference by providing the financial support

it ] W\ﬁrwr ﬂ. WQ ¥ N’l'% ‘

the couple needed when one of them could no longer
work, says Barker-White.

“I know people who work in the private sector who do
not have access to disability insurance through their
employer. They can buy it on their own, but the premium
is not as reasonable as what we have paid as state
employees.”

Barker-White appreciates that the state covers the full
cost of the employee’s health insurance premium. It's
another valuable benefit that makes working for the state
attractive, he says.

“Having good insurance coverage is so important. You
may never need it (and | hope you don’t), but if you do,
you are probably REALLY going to need it. Life can come
at you quick, so it’s best to cover all your bases.”

First 31 days: No Questions Asked

Your first month of employment is your chance to get disability coverage and additional life insurance—no questions
asked. If you enroll in certain life and disability benefits as a new employee, you won’t need to produce evidence

of insurability (EOI). EQOI is an application process in which you must provide information about your or your
dependents’ health. If you miss the 31-day new-employee opportunity and go through the EOI process, you or
your dependents may not be approved for these benefits if you don’t qualify. If you want additional life insurance
coverage and/or disability insurance, now is the best time to sign up.

State agency employees
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TEXFLEX

TexFlex flexible spending accounts (FSAs) allow you to
set aside money from your paycheck, pre-tax, to pay for
eligible health and dependent care expenses. Financial
planners and tax advisors encourage people to reduce
their taxable income, and save money as a result, by
participating in flexible spending accounts.

TexFlex offers three different FSAs: health care account,
dependent care account and limited flexible spending
account (LFSA). The LFSA is available only to employees
enrolled in Consumer Directed HealthSelect.

You decide how much you want to contribute to your
TexFlex account each year. This amount will be divided
by the number of months you work in a year. Your TexFlex

contribution will be withdrawn from your paycheck each
month before taxes and deposited in your TexFlex
account. You can only change your TexFlex contribution
amount during Summer Enrollment unless you have a
qualifying life event during the plan year.

You do not have to continue making FSA contributions if
you leave employment before the end of the plan year on
August 31. Expenses incurred between September 1 and
your termination date will be eligible for reimbursement. It
is important to remember to keep all receipts for eligible
expenses in case you're asked to prove a claim. The IRS
requires that FSA participants provide documentation for
claims that can't be automatically proven.

Health care

You can use funds in a TexFlex health care account to pay
for copays, prescription drugs, hearing aids, eyeglasses and
contact lenses, and other eligible expenses. A complete list
of eligible expenses is posted on the TexFlex website.

You can contribute any amount between $15 and $212
per month, with a maximum of $2,550 per year. Your
entire annual contribution is available for you to use at the
beginning of the plan year starting September 1. You pay it
back through monthly contributions from your paycheck.

After you enroll in a TexFlex health care account, you will
receive a debit card in the mail. You can use it to pay for
eligible health care expenses. There is no cost to you

for using the debit card, and you can request additional
cards for you or your dependents free of charge by calling
TexFlex customer care at (844) 884-2364. You can also
submit a claim online or by mail or fax.

If you submit a claim for reimbursement online, by mail
or fax, the reimbursement will be deposited in your bank
account or a check will be mailed to you.

Limited flexible spending account

If you have a health savings account as part of Consumer
Directed HealthSelect, you also can contribute between
$180 and $2,550 per family each year to a limited flexible

spending account (LFSA). Funds can be used only on
eligible vision and dental expenses. IRS rules prohibit
participating in the TexFlex health care account and an
LFSA during the same year.

Dependent care

You can use funds in a TexFlex dependent care account
to pay for eligible day care expenses (including before-
and after-school care and summer day camp) for your
dependent children under age 13 and for adult day care
for qualifying individuals. You cannot use TexFlex funds to
pay an older dependent to care for younger dependents.
A complete list of eligible expenses and specific eligibility
rules is posted on the TexFlex website.

You can contribute any amount between $15 and $416
per month, up to $5,000 per year per household. Unlike
the health care account, you can only be reimbursed up to
the amount in your account each month.

You cannot use the TexFlex debit card to pay eligible
dependent care expenses. To be reimbursed, you must
submit a claim online, by mail or fax for dependent care
services that have already been provided. You can specify
whether you want the reimbursement to be deposited into
your bank account or mailed to you in a check.

State agency employees
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Health Care./ Limited Flexible ST B A
Spending Account

Annual Maximum

. . 2,550 per participant 5,000 per household
Contribution ¥ perp P ¥ P
. Full annual amount available when contributions Funds available monthly as they are added to
Fund Availability .
begin TexFlex account from paycheck

Can be used to pay eligible expenses. No fee for the
Debit Card card. Keep all receipts for eligible expenses in case
you're asked to substantiate a claim.

Cannot be used to pay eligible expenses. All claims
must be submitted online or by mail or fax.

Up to $500 of unused funds can be carried over No carryover of funds from one plan year to the
Carryover of from one plan year to the next when you are actively next. However, you have a 2-2 month grace period
Funds employed. You can still contribute up to $2,550 for after the end of the plan year in which you can incur
that plan year. new claims using previous plan year funds.

Submit claims incurred between Sept. 1, 2016 and Submit claims incurred between Sept. 1, 2016 and

Runout Period Aug. 31, 2017 by Dec. 31, 2017. Nov. 15, 2017 by Dec. 31, 2017.

SERENA ZETINA
Information Specialist

As a benefits educator at ERS, Serena Zetina helps active
employees and retirees understand which benefits options
are right for them. For this mother of three, TexFlex makes
sense.

“With three growing boys, | know I’'m going to spend money
on health and dependent care throughout the year,” she
says. “TexFlex allows me to put aside money tax-free for
those expenses and lowers my taxable income.”

“My kids seem to get sick like clockwork in November,

just when I'm starting to make my holiday shopping list.
That's when I'm glad | have my TexFlex health care flexible
spending account to pay for doctor visits and medicine.

By setting aside a certain amount from my paycheck each
month, | know the money will be there when | need it.”

“With the dependent care flexible spending account, | don’t
have to wait for the tax benefit at the end of the year. | can
set aside up to $5,000 pre-tax each year, which is $2,000
more than the federal child care credit. That means more
money in your pocket!”

State agency employees
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Retirement

One of the most valuable benefits of state employment

is participation in a defined benefit retirement plan. This
type of plan supports future financial security for you, your
spouse and dependents. When you become eligible for
retirement after working for a certain number of years, you
will receive monthly annuity payments for the rest of your
life. Currently, the average state employee retires after 21
years of service and receives an annuity payment of $1,600
per month for life.

In a defined benefit plan, a percentage of your salary
(currently 9.5%) is withheld from your pre-tax earnings. This

is your monthly contribution to your ERS retirement account.

At the same time, the state contributes 9.5% of your salary
and your agency contributes an additional 0.5% to the ERS
retirement fund.

Defined benefit plans are designed with the understanding
that all employees will participate and contribute a set
amount. You do not have the choice of opting out of or
contributing more or less to your ERS retirement account.
Monthly state contributions do not go into your individual
account, like other workplace retirement savings plans.
You cannot take out loans against the amount you have
contributed.

The Texas Legislature determines the percentage of salary
employees are required to contribute to the ERS retirement
fund, and how much the state and agencies will contribute.

If you leave state employment, you can request a refund of
your retirement contributions. You will receive the amount
you contributed plus interest, minus taxes and a penalty if
you withdraw the funds before age 59 1/2. If you withdraw
your contributions, you lose the service credit associated
with those contributions. For additional information, please
contact ERS to speak with a Retirement Counselor or visit
www.ers.state.tx.us/Former/Retirement/Withdraw/.

Your retirement eligibility and benefits depend on when

you were hired, your years and months of service (service
credit), and your final average salary. Retirement eligibility
and benefits are different for law enforcement and custodial
officers, elected state officials, district attorneys and judges.

For more information about your ERS retirement, including
annuity calculators, minimum retirement age, occupational
and non-occupational disability retirement and other
retirement benefits, go to www.ers.state.tx.us/Employees/
Retirement/Overview. Additional information is available

in the ERS publication Planning Your Retirement, which is
available on the ERS website.

Retirement service credit

If you previously left state employment and received

a refund of your retirement contributions, the service
credit associated with those contributions does not count
toward your retirement. You can purchase withdrawn
service credit if you return to state employment. This

will increase your annuity amount and may help you
retire sooner. To buy back withdrawn ERS service, you

must be an active member of ERS or participate in the
Proportionate Retirement Program (See next page). At
least six months must have passed since the date of your
withdrawal.

If you were a new employee for the state between

Sept. 1, 2003 and Aug. 31, 2015, you had a 90-day
waiting period before you began contributing to the ERS
retirement fund. You can purchase credit for this waiting
period.

Military Service

After your first month of employment when your first
retirement contribution is with ERS, you can purchase
up to 60 months of your active duty U.S. military service
without paying interest. If you purchase military service
after your first year of employment, you’ll be charged
10% interest per year.

You must have at least five years of regular ERS service
(not counting military) credited before your purchased
military service can be used to determine eligibility

for service retirement or nonoccupational disability
retirement benefits.

You can’t purchase active duty military service if you're
eligible for military retirement based on 20 or more years of
active military duty, or if you were dishonorably discharged
from the military.

State agency employees
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Additional Service Credit

You can buy up to three years of additional service credit
if you:

* are an active employee,
* have purchased all other service available to you, and

* have at least 10 years of actual ERS service credit
(not counting military service).

The cost is based on actuarial factors such as your age,
years of service and salary. It tends to be more expensive
than withdrawn and military service.

Service credit can be purchased with:
* lump sum payments (check or money order),
- through a rollover from your Texa$aver account, or

« other qualified sources such as individual retirement
accounts (IRAs).

Learn more about purchasing service credit by visiting
www.ers.state.tx.us/Employees/Retirement/
Service_Credit.

Service from other Texas
retirement systems

The following Texas retirement systems participate in the
Proportionate Retirement Program:

« City of Austin Retirement System

« City of Austin Police Retirement System

» El Paso City Employees’ Pension Fund

» El Paso Firemen & Policemen’s Pension Fund

* ERS

* Judicial Retirement System of Texas Plan 1

* Judicial Retirement System of Texas Plan 2

» Texas County and District Retirement System (TCDRS)
» Texas Municipal Retirement System (TMRS)

» Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS)

If you have service credit with any of these retirement
systems, you can purchase withdrawn ERS service
without being re-employed by the state. If you are an
active ERS member, you can purchase withdrawn service
from any of these systems.

You can combine service credit from two or more of these
systems to become eligible for retirement.

ERS Retiree

CHARLIE KEEN

Most evenings, ERS retiree Charlie Keen enjoys some of the most
beautiful sunsets in Texas from the deck of his home overlooking
Lake Travis. He built the home in Volente, nine miles from Austin, on

land he purchased in 1981.

Keen retired in 2007 after working as an appraiser in the Property
Tax Division of the State Comptroller’s Office for 15 years and in a

county appraisal office for nine years.

“Owning a home was always my dream. It represents all | have

worked for in my life and security for the future,” he says.

Health insurance and a defined benefit retirement plan are the most
important advantages of working for the State of Texas instead of the

private sector, Keen says.

“I have been able to have a comfortable retirement because | have
good health insurance and a reliable source of income.” Keen says.
“The defined benefit annuity is the only type of plan that offers true

security later in life.”

State agency employees
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TEXASAVER™

401(k) / 457 Program

Your monthly annuity will be an important source of income
during retirement, but it is unlikely to replace your full salary
as an active employee. The average annuity covers about
half of the salary earned while working. You can work
toward a more secure retirement by contributing to your own
Texa$aver 401(k) and/or 457 accounts. With a Texa$aver
account, you can decide how much to have withdrawn from
pre- or post-tax earnings, choose your investments and
increase your contributions over time.

New state employees are automatically enrolled in the
Texa$aver 401(k) plan at 1% of salary. (This does not
apply if you transfer directly from another state agency and
aren't already enrolled in Texa$aver. In that case, you can
contact Texa$aver to enroll.) You will be enrolled in the
standard Wells Fargo Advantage Dow Jones Target Date
Fund®M. Contributions are deducted from your paycheck
automatically—before income taxes are taken out. If you
don't want to participate and don't want money taken out
of your first paycheck, contact Texa$aver within 30 days
of employment. You can make changes to your account —
including increasing, decreasing or stopping contributions,
or changing how your funds are invested — any time
throughout the year.

You can stay in Texa$aver after you no longer work for
the state, and Texa$aver can help you manage your
retirement income.

With a Texa$aver account you can:
» Purchase state service credit, if applicable,

 Defer unused annual leave to Texa$aver (to reduce
taxes) when terminating employment or retiring,

* Roll over partial lump-sum payments at retirement,

» Consolidate and roll over money from other qualified
IRAs, or 401(k), 457 or similar accounts, or

* Receive periodic withdrawals (monthly and quarterly
options available), partial withdrawals or full withdrawal
when reaching eligibility.

Rolling over funds from other retirement

accounts to Texa$aver

Do you have retirement savings accounts from other jobs?
You can transfer, or “roll over”, money from a qualified
prior employer’s 401(k), 401(a), 403(b), or governmental
457 plan into the Texa$aver 401(k) or 457 plan. You can
also roll over money from an eligible IRA. Texa$aver
accepts Roth rollovers from some qualified plans, but not
from Roth IRAs.

You should discuss rolling money from one account to
another with your financial advisor/planner, considering
any potential fees and/or limitation of investment options.

www.texasaver.com

Call to request a free Texa$aver welcome packet, or for more information on getting started. Learn more:

(800) 634-5091

$300,000 [~ mmmsm  $200 a month

$250,000 - L] $100 a month

mmmmm  $50 a month

$200,000 — mmmmm  $25 a month

$150,000 —

$100,000
$50,000
$0

$298,071
Invest early and your

savings can grow
without taxes over a
longer period of time.
The sooner you start
saving, the more you
$74,517 have when you retire.
$37,258 See how much $25 a
i month could grow.

$149,035

5 YEARS

10 YEARS

20 YEARS

30 YEARS
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Comparison of the Texa$aver 401(k) and 457 plans

Eligibility

Contribution Options

Maximum Annual
Deferral

Transfer of Funds to
Purchase Service

Rollovers In?

Age 50 and Over
Catch-up

Special 457 Catch-up
Provision

Cannot be used with the
Age 50 and Over Catch-
up in the 457 Plan

Loans

Financial Hardship
Withdrawals®

Only allowed through
approval when you have
no other resources,
including plan loans

Distributions While
Employed for Before-
Tax Contributions

Distributions After
Separation From
Employer for Before-
Tax Contributions

Distributions From
Roth Contributions

Required Minimum
Distributions (RMDs)

Tax Penalties

401(k) plan

Part-time and full-time state employees, upon date of hire or any
time thereafter. Excludes higher education employees.

457 plan

Part-time and full-time state employees, upon date of hire or any
time thereafter.

You have the flexibility to designate all or a portion of your contributions as either traditional before-tax or Roth after-tax contributions.

99% of 401(k) eligible compensation or $18,000" per year,
whichever is less. The 2016 annual contribution limit is $24,000
if you are 50 or older. You may put money in the 401(k), 457, or
both as either before-tax or Roth contributions, or both.

These limits are subject to change. Visit www.texasaver.com
for updated annual contribution limits.

You may purchase military service, additional service credit, or
refunded or other eligible ERS service by transferring funds from
your Texa$aver account while employed. Teacher Retirement
System (TRS) of Texas service may be purchased when distribution
eligibility is met. This is not a taxable distribution.

The 2016 annual contribution limit is $18,000" per year. The
limit is $24,000 if you are 50 or older. You may put money in the
401(k), 457, or both as either before-tax or Roth contributions,
or both. These limits are subject to change. Visit
www.texasaver.com for updated annual contribution limits.

You may purchase military service, additional service credit, or
refunded or other eligible ERS/TRS service by transferring funds
from your Texa$aver account while employed. This is not a taxable
distribution.

If eligible, you may roll funds into the Texa$aver 401(k)/457 Program from another eligible retirement plan or individual retirement

account (IRA).

Roth IRAs are not accepted. Only designated Roth accounts from another eligible retirement plan can be rolled over into your

Texa$aver 401(k) and 457 plans.

If you are age 50 or older, you may contribute an additional $6,000" in 2016 for a total of $24,000 to each plan. This includes before-
and after-tax contributions combined. You may not use this provision in the 457 plan while using the Special 457 Catch-up Provision.

Not available in the 401(k) plan.

Subject to eligibility. If you have unused deferrals, the Special
457 Catch-up limit is $36,000 in 2016. You may participate only
during the three years before the taxable year in which you
attain normal retirement age.

Loans may be approved for $1,000 to $50,000 (subject to plan and IRS provisions). You must have an account balance of at least
$1,050, as there is a $50 loan application fee that is deducted from the loan proceeds. There is a $2.08 monthly maintenance fee
assessed to your account until your loan is paid in full. Loans are prorated from before-tax and Roth contributions. Repayments are

prorated back to each money type accordingly.

Reasons for hardship include purchase of primary residence,
prevention of eviction or foreclosure from your primary
residence, tuition expenses, non-reimbursed medical expenses,
funeral expenses, or repair of damages to your principal
residence.

You may take a distribution from your 401(k) plan after age 59%
while still employed without a 10% penalty; 20% will be withheld
for federal income taxes unless the funds are rolled over to a
qualified plan.

You can start taking distributions after separation from state
employment. You may roll over funds into other types of
employer-sponsored plans, IRAs, or other eligible options.>
Lump-sum distributions have 20% automatically withheld for
federal taxes. Periodic distributions are allowed.

Roth money may be withdrawn tax-free no earlier than five
taxable years after your first Roth contribution AND when you:

a) reach age 59, b) become disabled, or c) die. Otherwise,
earnings on Roth contributions may be taxed as ordinary income
when you take a distribution.

Reasons for financial hardship include prevention of eviction
or foreclosure from your primary residence, non-reimbursed
medical expenses, funeral expenses, casualty loss, or similar
extraordinary and unforeseeable circumstances.

If your 457 plan account has less than $5,000 and has been
inactive for two years, you may take a de minimis distribution;
20% may be withheld for federal income tax purposes. You can
take a distribution if you are 70% and still employed.

You can start taking distributions after separation from state.
You may roll over funds into other types of employer-sponsored
plans, IRAs, or other eligible options.? Lump-sum distributions
have 20% automatically withheld for federal taxes. Periodic
distributions are allowed.

Roth money may be withdrawn tax-free no earlier than five
taxable years after your first Roth contribution AND when you:

a) reach age 597 and separate from service with your employer,
b) become disabled, or c) die.

Otherwise, earnings on Roth contributions may be taxed as
ordinary income when you take a distribution.

Must begin no later than April 1 following the year in which you turn 70%, unless you are still employed.

A 10% federal penalty tax applies to distributions made before
age 59%. A 50% federal tax penalty applies if RMDs are not
taken at age 70%, unless you are still employed by the state.
This applies to both before-tax and Roth money types.

'Ceiling is adjusted each year per cost-of-living index. Amount shown is for 2016.
2You are encouraged to discuss rolling money from one account to another with your financial advisor/planner, considering any potential fees and/or limitation of investment options.
*Representatives of GWFS Equities, Inc. are not registered investment advisors and cannot offer financial, legal, or tax advice. Please consult with your financial planner, attorney, and/or tax

advisor as needed.

State agency employees

No 10% federal penalty tax applies to distributions of 457 money
before age 59%. A 50% federal tax penalty applies if RMDs are
not taken at age 70%, unless you are still employed by the state.
This applies to both before-tax and Roth money types.
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Employee health plans comparison chart

Calendar year
deductible

Out-of-pocket
coinsurance
maximum*

Total out-of-

pocket maximum®
(including deductibles,
coinsurance and
copays)"

Primary care
physician required
Primary care
physicians’ office
visits

HealthSelect®" of Texas'

None

$2,000 per person
per calendar year

$6,550 per
person™*

$13,100 per family

Yes

$25

Mental health and substance use disorder

a. Outpatient
physician or mental
health provider
office visits

b. Hospital—Inpatient
stay (copay is $150 per
day, up to @ maximum of
$750 per admission and
amaximum of $2,250
per calendar year.)

c. Outpatient
facility care (partial
hospitalization/ day
treatment and extensive
outpatient treatment)

Physicals*

Specialty physicians’
office visits

Routine eye exam,
one per year per
participant*

Routine preventive
care”

Diagnostic x-rays,
lab tests, and
mammography

Office surgery and
diagnostic procedures

$25 copay

20% coinsurance
after copay

20% coinsurance

No charge

No charge

20%

20%

$500 per person
$1,500 per family

$7,000 per person
per calendar year

None

40%

40% coinsurance
after you meet

the annual Non-
Network Deductible

40% coinsurance
after copay and
you meet the
annual Non-
Network Deductible

40% coinsurance
after you meet

the annual Non-
Network Deductible

40%

40%

40%

40%

40%

40%

Out-of-Area?

$200 per person
$600 per family

$3,000 per person
per calendar year

$6,550 per person**
$13,100 per family

No

30%

30% coinsurance
after you meet the
annual Out-of-Area
Deductible

30% coinsurance
after copay and you
meet the annual Out-
of-Area Deductible

30% coinsurance
after you meet the
annual Out-of-Area
Deductible

Network provider -
No charge;

Non-network
provider - 30%

30%

30%

Network provider -
No charge;

Non-network
provider - 30%

30%

30%

Consumer Directed
HealthSelects"*

$2,100 per
person

$4,200 per
family

None

$6,550 per
person**

$13,100 per
family

No

20%

20%
coinsurance

20%
coinsurance

20%
coinsurance

No charge

20%

20%

No charge

20%

20%

$4,200 per
person

$8,400 per
family

None

$13,100 per
person*

$26,200 per
family

No

40%

40%
coinsurance

40%
coinsurance

40%
coinsurance

40%

40%

40%

40%

40%

40%

Community
First,
Scott & White

None

$2,000 per person®

$6,550 per person
$13,100 per family®

Contact your HMO

$25

$25

20% coinsurance
(plus $150 a

day copay per
admission)

$25 copay
(prior authorization
required)

No charge

$40

$40°0

No charge

20%

20%

KelseyCare

powered by

Community
Health Choice

None

$2,000 per person®

$6,550 per person
$13,100 per family?

No

$15

$25

20% coinsurance
(plus $150 a

day copay per
admission)

$25 copay

No charge

$25

$25°

No charge

No charge*
(physician office)

$15PCP or
$25 Specialist

State agency employees
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Consumer Directed
HealthSelects"!

HealthSelects" of Texas'

Boefts | mAm Ao | gy | KelserCae
Out-of-Area? First, pC%%er;initz
eslis L Health Choice
I . $150 copay per scan
High-tech radiology $100 copay $100 copay $100 copay 0 0 $100 ccgpay type per day
(CT scan, MRI, and o o o 20% 40% plus 20% . .
nuclear medicingyrs2 | PUS 20% plus 40% plus 30% CoInSUraNCe (Olut)patlent testing
only
- $50 copay $50 copay $50 copay $50 copay
Urgent care clinic ), < 20% plus 40% s At e plus 20% plus 20%
Maternity C No charge for No charge for No charge for
aternlt)|/1 are jyr. | foutine prenatal routine prenatal routine prenatal Noch
ic:IO(;tt?;r?t ﬁ;%e?t;" Y% | appointments 40% 30% appointments | 40% appointments 0 charge
coppays will agply $25 or $40 for first 20% for first $25 or $40 for first
post-natal visit® post-natal visit post-natal visit®
Chiropractic Care
CFHP: 20%;
20%;$40 copay $40 copay
a. Coinsurance plus 20% with 40% 30% 20% 40% SWHP: 20%; $25 copay
office visit $40 copay plus 20%
with office visit
b. Maximum benefit CFHP-$75/
per visit $75 $75 $75 $75 $75 SWHP - None -
¢. Maximum visits gFHPGO; :
Each participant 30 30 30 30 30 e e lips:
Per calendar year manipulative therapy
visits)
$150/day copay $150/day copay $150/day copay plus
- . olus20% (5750 | plus40% (8750 | 30% ($750 copay $150/day copay plus | $150/day copay plus
npatient hospital 20% ($750 copay 20% ($750 copay
S copay max-upto5 | copay max-upto5 | max-upto5 days
(semi-private room and . , . 0 0 max-up to 5 days per | max-up to 5 days per
day's board, and days per hospital days per hospital per hospital stay, 20% 40% hospital stay, $2.250 | hospital stay, $2.250
intensive ca’re unit)' stay, $2,250 copay | stay, $2,250 copay | $2,250 copay max copay max ;;er f)lan copay max ;;er L;Ian
max per calendar | max per calendar | per calendar year per eary er person’) eary e person)
year per person) year per person) person) yearperp year perp
$150 plus 20% $150 plus 20% $150 plus 20% $150 copay plus
(if admitted copay  (if admitted copay (if admitted copay 20% (if admitted
Emergency care will apply to will apply to L s A will apply to hospital = copay will apply to
hospital copay) hospital copay) copay) hospital copay)
Outpatient surgery
e > SO SO S e g
physician’s office
a. Deductible
$5,000 a. Deductible $5,000
Bariatric surgery? 82 o gg‘!;:surance Not covered i, E?l?surance A Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered
c. Lifetime max
c. Lifetime max $13,000
$13,000
Hearing aids Plan pays upto $1,000 per ear every three years Eﬁl\e:g; tﬂ?et:f;é(r)g (()a?lg' Plan pays up to $1 ,000 per ear every three
(no deductible). deductible is me). years (no deductible).
e":;f;’r':e’:t?;’“’a' 20% 40% 30% 20% 40% 20% 20%
Ambulance services | 5, 20% 30% 20% 20% 20% 20%

(non-emergency)'?

" Benefits are paid on allowable amounts; using providers who contract with UnitedHealthcare will protect you from liability for amounts over the allowable amount. 2Out-of-area applies to participants living outside of
Texas, retirees 65 and over, and disabled retirees with Medicare. *Applies to plan year, September 1 - August 31. * Does not include copays. ° Copay depends on whether treatment is given by PCP or specialist.

8 For treatment charges, one visit per plan year. 7 Outpatient testing only. Does not apply to inpatient services. ¢ Active employees only; see health plan for additional requirements/limitations.  The deductible and
coinsurance paid for bariatric surgery does not apply to the total out-of-pocket maximum. ® No copay if high-tech radiology is performed during ER visit or inpatient admission. " Out-of-pocket maximums are not mutually
exclusive from other out-of-pocket limits. This means that a participant’s total network out-of-pocket maximum could contain a combination of coinsurance and/or copayments.(For example, a participant could pay up to
$6,550 in copayments alone if there was no coinsurance paid throughout the year. If a participant met the $2,000 coinsurance out-of-pocket maximum, he/she would pay $4,550 in copayments, totaling $6,550 in overall
out-of-pocket expense.) " Includes medical and prescription drug copays, coinsurance and deductibles. Excludes non-network and bariatric services. 2 Preauthorization required.

*Under the Affordable Care Act, certain preventive and women'’s health services are paid at 100% (at no cost to the participant) dependent upon physician billing and diagnosis. In some cases, the participant will still be
responsible for payment on some services. **Effective calendar year January 1, 2017.

State agency employees
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Monthly premiums

Full-time Employees and

Retirees Not Eligible for Medicare

HealthSelects" of Texas

You Only $ 61730 $ 61730 $ 0.00
You + Spouse 1,324.66 970.98 353.68
You + Children 1,090.90 854.10 236.80
You + Family 1,798.26 1,207.78 590.48
You Only $ 61730 $ 61730 $ 0.00
You + Spouse 1,289.30 970.98 318.32
You + Children 1,067.22 854.10 21312
You + Family 1,739.22 1,207.78 531.44
You Only $ 51150 $ 51150 $ 0.00
You + Spouse 1,097.18 804.34 292.84
You + Children 903.66 707.58 196.08
You + Family 1,489.34 1,000.42 488.92
You Only $ 48398 $ 48398 $ 0.00
You + Spouse 1,038.02 761.00 277.02
You + Children 854.94 669.46 185.48
You + Family 1,408.98 946.48 462.50
You Only $ 61018 $ 61018 $ 0.00
You + Spouse 1,309.34 959.76 349.58
You + Children 1,078.30 844.24 234.06
You + Family 1,777.46 1,193.82 583.64

*Includes premium for Basic Term Life Insurance

**The “State Pays” amount includes a monthly contribution to the
member’s Optum Bank health savings account (HSA). Please see

the HSA Contribution table on the next page.

Part-time Employees, Graduate
Students/Teaching Assistants,
Post-doctoral and Adjunct Faculty?

m State Pays | You Pay

HealthSelect™ of Texas

You Only $ 61730 $ 308.65 $ 308.65
You + Spouse 1,324.66 485.49 839.17
You + Children 1,090.90 427.05 663.85
You + Family 1,798.26 603.89  1,194.37

Consumer Directed HealthSelectsV**

You Only $ 61730 $ 308.65 $ 308.65
You + Spouse 1,289.30 485.49 803.81
You + Children 1,067.22 427.05 640.17
You + Family 1,739.22 603.89  1,135.33

Community First Health Plans

You Only $ 51150 $ 25575 $ 255.75
You + Spouse 1,097.18 402.17 695.01
You + Children 903.66 353.79 549.87
You + Family 1,489.34 500.21 989.13

KelseyCare powered by Community Health Choice

You Only $ 48398 $§ 24199 $ 241.99
You + Spouse 1,038.02 380.50 657.52
You + Children 854.94 334.73 520.21
You + Family 1,408.98 473.24 935.74

Scott & White Health Plan

You Only $ 61018 $§ 305.09 $ 305.09
You + Spouse 1,309.34 479.88 829.46
You + Children 1,078.30 422.12 656.18
You + Family 1,777.46 596.91 1,180.55

*Includes premium for Basic Term Life Insurance

**The “State Pays” amount includes a monthly contribution to the
member’s Optum Bank health savings account (HSA). Please see the
HSA Contribution table on the next page.

TThe state does not contribute to the cost of health insurance for adjunct
faculty.

Consumer Directed HealthSelect Health Savings Account (HSA)
_ An HSA is a tax-free savings account for qualified health expenses.

You can receive the “State Pays” HSA contribution if you are:

« enrolled in Consumer Directed HealthSelect,

» eligible for a portion of your health premium to be paid by the state and
* not eligible for Medicare.

You Only

You + Spouse
You + Children
You + Family

$45 monthly ($540 annually)
90 monthly ($1,080 annually)
90 monthly ($1,080 annually)
90 monthly ($1,080 annually)

State agency employees
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Dental Insurance

HumanaDental DHMO Er;:tlﬁ)::el COBRA | COBRA Disability Surviving Dependents

You Only 9.59 $ 9.78 ' $ 14.39  Spouse Only 9.59
You + Spouse 19.17 19.55 28.76 Spouse + Children 23.01
You + Children 23.01 23.47 34.52 ' Children OnIy 13.42
You + Family 32.59 33.24 48. 89

State of Texas Dental Choice Plans¥ Egztllcz(:el COBRA | COBRA Disability Surviving Dependents
You Only 2661 $ 2714 ' $ 39.92  Spouse Only $ 26.61
You + Spouse 53.22 54.28 79.83 Spouse + Children 63.86
You + Children 63.86 65.14 95.79 | Children Only 37.25

You + Family 90.47 92.28 135.71 [

State of Texas Dental Discount Plans™

Membership Level Egztl::)::el COBRA | COBRA Disability Surviving Dependents

You Only 225 '$ 230 ' $ 3.38 | Spouse Only 2.25
You + Spouse 4.50 4.59 6.75 Spouse + Children 5.40
You + Children 5.40 5.51 8.10 | Children Only 3.15

You + Family 7.65 7.80 11.48 [

State of Texas Vision

Membership Level Egztli?éiel COBRA COBRA Disability Surviving Dependents

You Only $ 6.69/$ 6.82|9% 10.04  Spouse Only $ 6.69
You + Spouse 13.38 13.65 20.07 Spouse + Children 14.38
You + Children 14.38 14.67 21.57 ' Children Only 7.69

You + Family 2107 21.49 31.61 [

Tobacco-user Premium

If you and/or a family member enrolled in medical insurance is certified as a tobacco-user or has not certified as a non-user,
you will pay an additional tobacco-user premium of $30, $60 or $90 each month, depending on how many tobacco-users or
non-certified family members you cover.

Tobacco-users of Any Age and Adults Who Fail to Certify | Monthly Tobacco-user Premium

Member or Spouse or Children* Only $30
Member + Spouse or Member + Children* or Spouse + Children* $60
Family (Member + Spouse + Children*) $90

*The charge for a child is the same regardless of how many children in the household use tobacco or how many covered children 18 or over are not certified.

If you are a tobacco-user, you may be able to participate in an alternative to the tobacco-user premium, if it is right for your
health status and complies with your doctor’s recommendations.
Please visit www.ers.state.tx.us/Employees/Health/Tobacco_Policy for more information.

State agency employees
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Optional Term Life Insurance and Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment
(AD&D) Insurance

Optional Term Life Insurance

Monthly Rate per $1,000 of Annual Salary
Election 1 Election 2 Election 3* Election 4*t
Age Annual Salary | Annual Salary | Annual Salary | Annual Salary
_ x 1 X2 x3 x4
After_the first 31 days gf employment, Under25 | $ 0.05|$ 010 $ 015 $ 0.20
Elections 1 and 2 require approval
through evidence of insurability (EOI). 25-29 0.05 0.10 0.15 0.20
Elections 3 and 4 always require EOI 30 - 34 0.06 0.12 0.18 0.24
approval. 35-39 0.06 0.12 0.18 0.24
Term Life coverage is reduced to a 45 - 49 0.12 0.24 0.36 0.48
percentage of your annual salary as 50 - 54 0.19 0.38 057 0.76
follows:
A° °W72 e 55 - 59 0.33 0.66 0.99 132
ge /U- (] _
Age 75-79 40% 60 - 64 0.57 1.14 1.71 2.28
Age 80-84 25%, 65 - 69 0.93 1.86 2.79 3.72
Age 85-89 15% 70-74 1.48 2.96 4.44 5.92
Age 90+ 10% 75-79 2.41 4.82 7.23 9.64
80 - 84 3.92 7.84 11.76 15.68
85 -89 6.79 13.58 20.37 27.16
90+ 10.57 21.14 31.71 42.28

Retiree Fixed Optional Life Insurance ($10,000 policy)

$23.40 per month for $10,000

Dependent Term Life Insurance

Employee: $1.38 per month for $5,000 .
(includes $5,000 AD&D coverage) Retiree: $3.05 per month for $2,500
You may apply for AD&D coverage according to the following table:
. Maximum Minimum
Age Minimum Coverage
Coverage Increments You Only
Under 70 $ 10,000 | $ 200,000 | $ 5,000 | $0.02 per $1,000 of coverage
70-74 6,500 130,000 3,250 i
You + Family
75-79 4,000 80,000 2,000 $0.04 per $1,000 of coverage
80-84 2,500 50,000 1,250
85-89 1,500 30,000 750
90+ 1,000 20,000 500

Texas Income Protection PlansM (TIPP)*
Short-term disability
Long-term disability

$0.30 per $100 of monthly salary
$0.63 per $100 of monthly salary

*Optional Term Life Insurance at Elections 3 and 4, AD&D, and short-term and long-term disability insurance are not available to retirees.
tOptional Term Life Insurance is limited to a maximum of $400,000 or four times your annual salary, whichever is less.

State agency employees
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Learn more about your State of Texas

benefits

Our website: www.ers.state.tx.us

The ERS website has information and tools to help you
take advantage of your benefits. Use the Search function to
find detailed information on ERS benefits and retirement.

News About Your Benefits

This e-newsletter provides information on available
programs, wellness, health care plans and other benefits.
You can sign up to receive this and other news by email at
www.ers.state.tx.us/Customer_Support/Subscribe.

Your Statement of Retirement
Benefits

After your birthday each year, ERS will send you

a personalized statement that shows your earliest
retirement date, retirement age and projected annuity.
This statement provides important retirement planning
information, including benefit estimates and vesting
information. If you are an ERS member, you can get an
estimate of the amount of your retirement annuity by
signing into your account at www.ers.state.tx.us.

Texa$aver Quarterly Statement

You will receive a statement each quarter from
Texa$aver, administered by Empower Retirement,
detailing your Texa$aver account balance and
investment choices.

Your annual Personal Benefits
Enroliment Statement

Before Summer Enroliment every year, ERS will send you
a personalized statement listing your current coverage,
costs and choices for the next plan year. You will have the
opportunity to make changes each year during Summer
Enrollment.

State agency employees

Presentations and events

ERS holds various seminars, webinars, fairs and other
events throughout the year.

* Ask ERS webinar: On the first Tuesday of select
months, you can ask questions and get the latest news
from ERS.

* Ready, Set, Retire!: Conducted throughout the state and
as a webinar, this is a free 90-minute seminar on ERS
retirement and the Texa$aver 401(k) / 457 Program.

¢ Medicare Preparation seminars: Conducted throughout
the state and as a webinar, this presentation helps those

approaching Medicare eligibility understand enroliment
and how Medicare works with state health insurance.

To see a list of upcoming events or to register, go to
www.ers.state.tx.us/Event-Calendars.

Your benefits coordinator

See your agency's benefits coordinator or HR
representative for help signing up for and understanding
benefits.

ERS interactive voice response
system

For 24/7 access to automated information on your
insurance and retirement benefits, call toll-free
(877) 275-4377.

Designate your beneficiaries

It's not required within your first month, but it's a good
idea to designate your beneficiaries for life insurance and
Texa$aver as soon as you can.

* For life insurance, log in to your ERS Online account. You

will need to provide your beneficiaries’ Social Security
numbers, date of birth and mailing addresses.

« For Texa$aver, download a beneficiary designation form
from the website at www.texasaver.gwrs.com.

Find detailed instructions at
www.ers.state.tx.us/Customer_Support/
Online/Update_Your_Beneficiaries



http://www.ers.state.tx.us/Customer_Support/Subscribe
http://www.ers.state.tx.us
http://www.ers.state.tx.us/Event-Calendars
http://www.texasaver.gwrs.com
http://www.ers.state.tx.us/Customer_Support/Online/Update_Your_Beneficiaries
http://www.ers.state.tx.us/Customer_Support/Online/Update_Your_Beneficiaries
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Contact Information

Health insurance Optional benefits

HealthSelects™ of Texas
Administered by UnitedHealthcare
Group number — 744260

Toll-free: (866) 336-9371, TTY: 711
myNurseLine: (866) 336-9371

http://healthselectoftexas.welcometouhc.com/hs-of-texas.html

Consumer Directed HealthSelectsM

Administered by UnitedHealthcare
Group number — 744260

Toll-free (866) 336-9371, TTY: 711
healthselectoftexas.com/cdhs

Optum Bank (HSA)

Toll-free: (800) 791-9361 (TTY — 711),

7 a.m.—7 p.m. CT, Monday — Friday CT
www.optumbank.com

Prescription Drug Program
(pharmacy benefits for HealthSelect of Texas
and Consumer Directed HealthSelect)

Until Dec. 31, 2016: Administered by Caremark
Group number — RX1292

Toll-free: (888) 886-8490,

TDD: (800) 231-4403
www.caremark.com/ers

After Jan. 1, 2017: Administered by OptumRx
Toll-free: (866) 336-9371, TTY: 711
www.OptumRx.com/ERS

Community First Health Plans
an affiliate of the University Health System
Group number — 0010180000

Toll-free: (877) 698-7032,

TDD: (210) 358-6080

Local: (210) 358-6262,

NurseLink: (210) 358-6262
members.cfhp.com

KelseyCare powered by

Community Health Choice
Toll-free: (844) 515-4877, TTY: 711
Group number: 15000

NurseLine: (713) 442-0000
www.erskelseycare.com/

Scott & White Health Plan
Group number — 000058

Toll-free: (800) 321-7947

TTD: (800) 735-2989

VitalCare Nurse Advice: (877) 505-7947
ers.swhp.org

State of Texas Vision

Administered by Superior Vision Services, Inc.
Toll-free: (877) 396-4128
www.stateoftexasvision.com

Dental Plans

State of Texas Dental ChoicesM
Administered by HumanaDental Insurance Company
Group number — 536957

Toll-free: (877) 377-0987, TTY: 711
humana.com/ers

HumanaDental DHMO

Insured by DentiCare, Inc, dba CompBenefits, a
member of the HumanaDental family of companies
Group number — 538226

Toll-free: (877) 377-0987, TTY: 711
humana.com/ers

State of Texas Dental Discount Plans™
Administered by Careington International Corporation
Toll-free: (844) 377-3368, TTY: 711
www.txdentaldiscount.com

Life and Accidental Death &

Dismemberment Insurance
Administered by Securian

Toll-free: (877) 494-1716, TTY: 711
www.lifebenefits.com/plandesign/ers

Texas Income Protection Plans™ (TIPP)
(short-term and long-term disability insurance)
Administered by ReedGroup

Toll-free: (855) 604-6230, TTY: 711
www.texasincomeprotectionplan.com

Disability evidence of insurability is administered by
Securian. Contact information is listed above.

TexFlex

Administered by ADP, LLC
Toll-free: (844) 884-2364, TDD: 711
www.texflexers.com

Texa$aver 401(k) / 457 ProgramsM

Administered by Empower Retirement™
Toll-free: (800) 634-5091, TDD: (800) 766-4952
www.texasaver.com

Discount Purchase Program
Administered by Beneplace

Local: (512) 346-3300, TDD: (800) 683-2886
www.Beneplace.com/DiscountProgramERS
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Your ERS online account

Set up your online account:

1. Go to www.ers.state.tx.us.

2. Click on “Access My Account” in the upper right hand corner. You will be taken to a new page.

3. On the new page, click on “Enroll.”

4. Enter and verify your contact information

5. Enroll yourself and dependents in coverage after your agency has entered your employment information

If you move, or your other contact information changes, don'’t forget to update your ERS account.

Sign up for ERS news and updates:

You
=) f Jablin

If you have a qualifying event (QLE) such as marriage, divorce or the birth of a child, you can make certain benefit
changes at other times during the year if they meet QLE guidelines. You must request the changes within 31 days of
the event — 60 days if your child loses eligibility for the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP).

Health and Human Services Enterprise Employees:

DADS, DFPS, DSHS, HHSC, CPRIT
The HHS Employee Service Center acts as your benefits coordinator. Contact the Center toll-free at (888) 894-4747.

Employees Retirement System of Texas
Always available online at www.ers.state.tx.us
24/7 access to automated information on your insurance and retirement benefits:
(877) 275-4377, TDD: 711. Talk to a representative 7:30 a.m.to 5:30 p.m. CT, Monday through Friday.


http://www.ers.state.tx.us
http://www.ers.state.tx.us

The Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS) complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and
does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex. ERS provides free
language aids and services, such as: written information in other formats (large print, audio, accessible
electronic formats, other formats) qualified interpreters, and written information in other languages.

If you need these services, call: 1-877-275-4377, TDD: 711.

If you believe that ERS has failed to provide these services or discriminated in another way on the basis of
race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex, you can file a grievance by mail, fax or email:

Mail: Section 1557 Coordinator

Employees Retirement System of Texas

P.O. Box 13207, Austin, Texas 78711.

Fax: 512-867-3480.

Email: 1557coordinator(@ers.state.tx.us

For more information visit: http://www.ers.state.tx.us

You can also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services online,
by mail or by phone at:

Online: https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf

Complaint forms are available at: http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html.

Mail: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 509F,
HHH Building, Washington, D.C. 20201.

Phone: 1-800-368-1019, 800-537-7697 (TDD).

ATTENTION: Language assistance services, free of
charge, are available to you.

ATENCION: Si habla espafiol, tiene a su disposicidon
servicios gratuitos de asistencia linglistica.

CHU Y: Neéu baNn ndi Tiéng Viét, ¢o cac dich vu ho
trg ngdn ngit mien phi danh cho ban.
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MHAZ 222 0|25k £ SLICH Thnen kostenlos sprachliche Hilfsdienstleistungen zur
Verfugung.
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BHUMAHHWE: EcnH BH TOBOPHTE HAa PYCCKOM SI3LIKE,
TO BaM JAOCTYITHEL GECTITATHES VCIYTH TIEPEROTa.

PAUNAWA: Kung nagsasalita ka ng Tagalog, maaari
kang gumamit ng mga serbisyo ng tulong sa wika nang
walang bayad.

FEFIE: BARFEZRSNLHEBG. BHOSE
BECRRAWELETET,

ATTENTION: Sivous parlez frangais, des services
d'aide linguistique vous sont proposés gratuitement.
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1-877-275-4377
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