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A message from ERS Executive Director Porter Wilson 

Congratulations on your new job! Let me be among the first 
to welcome you to public service. 

As a State of Texas employee, you earn benefits that are 
comprehensive and, on average, make up about one-third 
of total compensation. The valuable benefits offered to you 
are designed to enhance your wellness and help secure 
your future. 

The decisions you make — some of which must be made in your first 31 to 
60 days of employment — will affect your health care, retirement security and 
take-home pay. I encourage you to take time to read about your options in 
this guide, so that you can make informed choices during your first few weeks 
on the job. Then, make the most of your benefits to improve your health, your 
financial wellbeing and your peace of mind. 

At the Employees Retirement System of Texas, we’re proud to support 
excellence in public service by administering health insurance, retirement and 
other benefits to state agency employees and their families. We’re committed to 
supporting you as you serve your fellow citizens. This New Employees Benefits 
Guide provides the information you need to make the most of your State of 
Texas retirement, insurance and related benefits. For more information, visit the 
ERS website at www.ers.texas.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Porter Wilson 
Executive Director 
Employees Retirement System of Texas 

The New Employee Benefits Guide for Plan Year 2021 highlights benefits that are effective at the time  
of publication. All Texas Employees Group Benefits Program (GBP) benefits could change without  
notice. The Texas Legislature decides the funding level for such benefits and has no obligation to  
provide those benefits beyond each fiscal year. 

Employees Retirement System of Texas  
Always available online at www.ers.texas.gov 

24/7 access to automated information on your insurance and retirement benefits:  
(877) 275-4377, TDD: 711. Talk to a representative 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. CT, Monday through Friday.

Published September 2020 

http://www.ers.texas.gov
www.ers.texas.gov
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Getting started: Signing up for your benefits 
As a State of Texas employee, you will automatically be enrolled in: 
• HealthSelect of Texas®, a point-of-service health plan, which includes prescription drug coverage. Automatic

enrollment in health insurance applies only to full-time employees.

• $5,000 Basic Term Life and accidental death & dismemberment (AD&D) insurance. This comes automatically
with your health insurance at no cost to you if you are a full-time employee. (Part-time employees who enroll in
health insurance pay half the cost of their Basic Term Life and AD&D insurance.)

• State of Texas Retirement. You will contribute 9.5% of your salary, an amount set by the Texas Legislature, to your State of
Texas Retirement account. You cannot opt out of, increase or decrease this contribution, which is taken from your monthly
paycheck before taxes. The state makes a contribution equal to 9.5% of your salary to the ERS Retirement Trust Fund,
and the agency you work for contributes another 0.5%. See page 32 to learn more about your State of Texas Retirement
account. The contributions from the state and your agency are not deposited to your personal retirement account.

• Texa$averSM 401(k) retirement savings account. If you are a first-time state employee or are returning after a break
in state employment, you will contribute 1% of your monthly salary to an individual 401(k) invested in the Target Date
Fund with the target date closest to the year you turn 65. The contribution is deducted from your monthly paycheck
before taxes. You can also open a 457 account, instead of or in addition to a 401(k), and choose the amount you want
deducted from your paycheck. If you have directly transferred from another state agency or are a return-to-work retiree,
you can enroll in a Texa$aver 401(k) and/or 457 account and choose the contribution amount you want deducted
from your paycheck. In both the 401(k) and 457, you can increase your contribution and/or make other changes to
your account or investments at any time. You can opt out of the Texa$aver account. See page 35 to learn more about
Texa$aver, how to make changes and how it can help you have a more secure retirement.

You have a choice 
If you don’t want to enroll in HealthSelect of Texas, you 
may choose one of the following health insurance plans: 

• Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM, a high-deductible
health plan paired with a tax-free health savings
account (HSA) with a monthly contribution from the
State of Texas or

• a health maintenance organization (HMO), if you live
or work in one of the counties they serve. See page 11
for a list of counties served by an HMO.

You can also enroll in the following 
optional benefits: 
• one of two dental insurance plans;

• State of Texas Vision insurance;

• additional life insurance for yourself and/or for your
eligible dependents;

• additional accidental death & dismemberment insurance;

• short-term and/or long-term disability coverage through

What are your benefits worth? 
For the average state employee, the State of Texas 
benefits package makes up more than one-third of his or 
her total compensation. 

Average state employee total compensation = $74,232 

• $47,994 in salary

• $26,238 in benefits

Employers and employees say that the benefits 
are a major draw to state employment. (Source: 
www.sao.texas.gov/saoreports/reportnumber?=20-705) 

the Texas Income Protection PlanSM (TIPP); and/or

• TexFlex flexible and/or commuter spending accounts.

A note to full-time employees 
Unless you opt out of health coverage or select another plan, ERS will enroll you in HealthSelect of Texas. You will have 31 days from your hire date to 
change health plans and/or sign up for optional benefits. If you fail to do so, you will have to wait until the annual Summer Enrollment period to sign up 
or until you experience a qualifying life event (QLE) such as marriage or a new child. If you wait, coverage in some plans is not guaranteed. 

http://www.sao.texas.gov/saoreports/reportnumber?=20-705
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Benefits checklist 
Within 31 days of your hire 
Enroll yourself and your eligible dependents in optional 
coverage. You cannot enroll your dependents in any 
coverage that you’re not enrolled in. 

Dental insurance – 
coverage for you and your family 
• DeltaCare® USA dental health maintenance

organization (DHMO) or
• State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM preferred

provider organization (PPO)

Vision insurance – 
coverage for you and your family 
• State of Texas Vision

Optional Term Life Insurance – 
coverage for yourself 
• Coverage at 1 or 2 times your annual salary
• Coverage of 3 or 4 times your annual salary, through

evidence of insurability (EOI)

Voluntary Accidental Death & 
Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance – 
coverage for you and your family 
• $10,000 - $200,000 for yourself
• Eligible dependents enrolled at a percentage of your

covered amount

Dependent Term Life Insurance – 
coverage for your family 
• Coverage for eligible dependents

Texas Income Protection Plan (TIPP) – 
coverage for yourself 
• Short-term disability insurance
• Long-term disability insurance

Certain TexFlex accounts 
For information on health care and limited-purpose flexible 
spending accounts (FSAs), please see the TexFlex entry 
under “Within 60 days of your hire.” 

• Dependent care FSA
Note: Your dependent does not need to be enrolled in your health 
insurance for you to set up this account and submit claims. 

• Commuter spending accounts for mass transit and/
or parking expenses associated with your commute
to work

Within 60 days of your hire 
Health insurance 
Change your health insurance from HealthSelect of 
Texas to one of the following options, if you are a full-time 
employee subject to a health insurance waiting period: 

• Consumer Directed HealthSelect,
• an HMO, if you live or work in an eligible county* or
• opt out of or waive health coverage. Note: If you opt

out and have other group health insurance that is
comparable to the Texas Employees Group Benefits
Program (GBP) health insurance, you can get a Health
Insurance Opt-Out Credit to apply toward premiums
for dental, vision and/or Voluntary AD&D Insurance.

Enroll yourself in one of the following, if you are a part-
time employee: 

• HealthSelect of Texas,
• Consumer Directed HealthSelect or
• an HMO, if you live or work in an eligible county*.

Enroll eligible dependents in the same plan you’re 
enrolled in. 

• Complete dependent child certification and begin
dependent verification.

Certify tobacco-use status for yourself and any covered  
dependents. 

*Note: HMO coverage will no longer be available starting September 1, 
2021. If you live or work in an eligible county, you may enroll in an HMO 
through August 31, 2021, but will have to change health coverage on 
September 1. 

TexFlex flexible spending accounts 
(FSAs) for health-related expenses 
• Health care FSA
• Limited-purpose FSA (available only to Consumer

Directed HealthSelect participants)

At any time 
Texa$aver voluntary retirement 
savings account(s) 
• Open a 457 account.
• Increase your 401(k) and/or 457 account contribution.
• Change how your 401(k) and/or 457 account is invested.
• Opt out of your Texa$aver account.

Add and update beneficiaries for: 
• Life insurance
• Texa$aver
• State of Texas Retirement
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Please Note: After your first 31 or 60 days of employment, you can make benefits changes only during 
Summer Enrollment unless you have a qualifying life event (QLE)—for example, you get married or 
divorced, or you have a child. However, you must make benefit changes within 31 days of that QLE. 
EXAMPLE: Your spouse can now provide health insurance for your child. You will have 31 days to drop him or her from your plan. 
EXCEPTION: If your child loses Medicaid or CHIP eligibility, you will have 60 days to sign them up for GBP health coverage. 

IMPORTANT: Enroll in valuable coverage, no questions asked, for 31 days 
If you want optional life insurance coverage at one or two times of your annual salary and disability 
insurance, now is the best time to sign up. If you sign up within your first month of employment, you 
will not need to provide evidence of insurability (EOI). EOI (also known as proof of good health) is an 

application process during which you must provide information about your or your dependents’ health. 

If you wait, you will have to apply for these benefits through EOI and run the risk of not qualifying based on your 
results. Don’t miss your 31-day window of opportunity! (Please note that optional life insurance at three or four 
times your annual salary always requires EOI, even in your first month of employment.) 

Dependent coverage and eligibility 
Your spouse and other eligible 
dependents can get health insurance and 
other coverage for an additional premium. 
However, you must enroll in a health, 
dental and/or vision plan before you can 
enroll your dependents in that plan. 

Your dependents must meet certain criteria to be eligible. 
Please see the dependent eligibility chart on page 5. You 
can also go online at https://ers.texas.gov/New-
Employee/Insurance-Eligibility to learn more about 
who qualifies for insurance cover age. 

Certifying dependent children  
If you enroll a child or children through your ERS OnLine  
account, you will have to certify each one before you   
submit your enrollment elections.  

If you enroll your children with help from your benefits 
coordinator/human resources department or the HHS 
Employee Service Center, you must fill out, sign and return 
the Dependent Child Certification form. Get the form: 

• from your benefits coordinator/HR department or the

Verifying all dependents enrolled
in health insurance 
Once ERS processes your dependents’ enrollment in health 
coverage, a third-party administrator called Alight Solutions 
will contact you. ERS works with Alight Solutions to verify 
that dependents are eligible to participate in GBP plans. 
Alight Solutions will mail you a letter that outlines the steps 
in the verification process. The letter will list the names of 
the dependents being verified, the documents needed to 
verify them and your deadline for sending those documents. 

Important: If you get a letter from Alight Solutions, open 
it right away! Be sure to carefully review all the information 
and keep the deadline in mind. If you don’t send the right 
documents or you send documents after the deadline, your 
dependents may be found ineligible and dropped from all 
coverage. However, you will have another opportunity to 
prove your dependent’s eligibility by providing documents 
to ERS during Summer Enrollment. You should get your 
Summer Enrollment guide in your mailbox in June or July. 

If you have questions about verifying your dependents, call 
Alight Solutions toll-free at (800) 987-6605 (TTY: 711). 

HHS Employee Service Center or

• at https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Forms/.
Scroll down until you see the link to the Dependent Child
Certification form. You can fill it out online and print it, or
you can print it and write the information in ink.

Whether you certify your children online or with a paper 
form, the certification is legally binding. If you submit false 
information, you and your dependents could lose your 
benefits or be subject to other sanctions. 

Please note: If both you and your spouse work for 
the State of Texas and enroll in separate GBP health 
plans, each of you will have a separate total out-of-
pocket maximum, and if applicable to your plan, a 
separate annual deductible. Consider enrolling your 
dependents in coverage under the GBP who is more 
likely to meet the total out-of-pocket maximum and/ 
or, if applicable, the deductible. For more information 
on out-of-pocket maximums and deductibles, see 
pages 13 and 38-41. 

https://ers.texas.gov/New-Employee/Insurance-Eligibility
https://ers.texas.gov/New-Employee/Insurance-Eligibility
https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Forms/
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Dependent eligibility chart 
Make sure your dependents are eligible for insurance and that you have the appropriate documentation to show eligibility 
before you enroll them in any coverage. If you are unable to supply the documents listed below, please contact Alight 
Solutions Customer Service. 

NOTE: You must provide a birth certificate to enroll a newborn child. Alight Solutions will accept a hospital-issued birth 
certificate for a child age three months or younger. 

Dependent of the Participant 
(employee, retiree or other 

individual enrolled in program as 
recognized by Texas law) 

Eligibility Examples of Supporting Documents 
(these documents are required) 

Spouse Spouse as recognized by law 

• Government-issued marriage certificate
AND

• Current federal tax return OR
• Proof of joint ownership** issued within last

six months OR
• Government-issued marriage certificate

only (if married in the last 12 months)

Common Law Spouse Spouse as recognized by law 

• Declaration of informal marriage with the 
county courthouse AND

• Current federal tax return OR
• Proof of joint ownership** issued within last

six months

Biological Child* Natural-born child • Government-issued birth certificate (see
note above)

Adopted Child* Child is eligible at time of placement. 
• Adoption certificate OR
• Adoption placement agreement AND
• Petition for adoption

Stepchild* Child is not required to live in participant’s 
household. 

• Government-issued marriage certificate
OR

• Declaration of informal marriage with the 
county courthouse AND 

• Child’s government-issued birth certificate
AND

• Current federal tax return OR
• Proof of joint ownership** issued within last

six months

Child of Managing Conservator* Child is identified in the managing 
conservatorship granted to the participant. 

• Managing conservatorship court document
signed by judge

Foster Child* Child must not have other governmental 
insurance. 

• Placement order AND
• Affidavit of foster child

Legal Ward Child* Child is under the protection or in the custody of 
the participant. 

• Court order signed by a judge appointing
participant as the child’s guardian
(documentation of legal custody) AND

• Government-issued birth certificate

Other Child* 

Child is related to participant by blood or 
marriage, was claimed as dependent on 
participant’s federal income tax return for 
previous tax year, and will continue to be claimed 
on participant’s federal income tax return for 
every calendar year the child is covered. 
A child who is acquired or born in the current 
calendar year will be claimed and continue to be 
claimed on participant’s federal income tax return 
for every calendar year the child is covered. 

• Government-issued birth certificate (see
note above) OR

• Government-issued marriage license to
prove family relationship AND

• Current federal tax return OR
• Affidavit of good cause

*Child must be under age 26 for health insurance, and can be married or unmarried. Child must be under age 26 and unmarried
for dental insurance, State of Texas Vision and Dependent Term Life Insurance. Disabled dependent children age 26 and over
may be eligible for insurance. For more information, visit https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Life-Changes/
Children/Disabled-Dependent-Child.

**See Alight Solutions’ Documentation Requirements for examples of Joint Ownership documents. False information could lead to 
expulsion from the GBP and/or criminal prosecution. 

https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Life-Changes/Children/Disabled-Dependent-Child
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Life-Changes/Children/Disabled-Dependent-Child
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Understand your health plan options 
Choosing the right health insurance for yourself and your 
family is an important decision. You have a responsibility 
to understand how the benefits you choose could affect 
your family’s health and finances. 

As a State of Texas agency employee, you have 
options when it comes to health insurance. You can 
choose HealthSelect of Texas or Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect. Depending on what county you live or 
work in, you may decide to enroll in one of the health 
maintenance organizations (HMOs): Community First 
Health Plans in the San Antonio area and Scott and 
White Care Plans in central Texas. (Note: Community 
First Health Plans and Scott and White Care Plans will no 
longer be available starting September 1, 2021. If you live 
or work in an eligible county, you may enroll in one of the 
HMOs through August 31, 2021, but will have to change 
health coverage on September 1.) 

All the health plans are network-based. This means you’ll 
save money—sometimes a lot of money—if you go to 
doctors and other providers in the plan’s network. The 
two HealthSelect plans have a large network of more 
than 50,000 primary care providers (PCPs), specialists, 
hospitals and other providers. The HMOs have smaller 
networks that are limited to certain counties. 

All plans require cost-sharing. You and the State of 
Texas, as your employer, both pay for coverage and care. 
The state pays 100% of the monthly premium for eligible 
full-time employees and 50% of the premium for their 

Set up an ERS OnLine 
account 
With an ERS OnLine account, you can 
check your coverage, update contact 
information and do other benefits-related 

activities at any time of the day or night, without having to 
call or visit ERS. Follow these steps to set up an account: 

1. Go to https://www.ers.texas.gov/account-login.

2. Click on Register Now.

3. Enter your information and create a username and
password.

eligible dependents. The state pays 50% of the premium 
for eligible part-time employees and 25% of the premium 
for their eligible dependents. 

You may also pay out of pocket for some of your 
care—through copays, coinsurance, deductibles for 
prescriptions, and in some cases, deductibles for 
medical care. How much you pay out of pocket depends 
on the plan you choose and, once you’re enrolled, 
the providers you see. With the Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect high-deductible plan, you could have much 
higher upfront, out-of-pocket costs. However, this plan 
also gives you the chance to save money tax-free in a 
health savings account (HSA) for health care costs and, 
if you’re eligible, includes a monthly contribution from 
the state to your HSA. The HSA is portable, meaning 
you keep the account and all the funds in it if you leave 
state employment. In addition, you don’t have to use the 
money during the plan year—you can save it as long as 
you want and use it when you decide to. 

Which plan is best for you and your family?  The table  
on the next page shows features of each plan.  You can 
also use the online decision tool at  https://healthselect.  
bcbstx.com/content/healthselect-plans/index. Part-
time and dependent premium information is on page 38. 

Because you are a new employee, your benefits  
coordinator will likely enroll you and your dependents  
in the coverage you choose. However, with your ERS  
OnLine account, you will be able to update your elections  
on your own during the next Summer Enrollment period. 

Don’t forget to update your ERS OnLine account if you  
move or have other life changes. In addition to creating  
your account, you can sign up for ERS news and 
updates  at https://www.ers.texas.gov/subscribe. 

https://www.ers.texas.gov/account-login
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/healthselect-plans/index
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/healthselect-plans/index
https://www.ers.texas.gov/subscribe
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Health insurance plan features 

HealthSelect of Texas Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect 

Community First Health Plans,
Scott and White Care Plans 

Key advantage(s) 

• Low out-of-pocket costs for in-
network care 

• Copays for certain in-network 
services, like PCP office visits 

• Large, statewide network 
(large, nationwide network for 
those who live or work outside  
Texas) 

• Tax-advantaged health savings 
account (HSA), with monthly 
contributions from the state 

• Large statewide and nationwide 
networks 

• Referrals not required 

• Low out-of-pocket costs for 
in-network care 

• Lower monthly premiums 
than some other plans 

In-network 
preventive care 
covered at 100% 

Yes Yes Yes 

Prescription drug 
coverage Yes Yes Yes 

Key downside(s) 

• Referrals needed for most 
specialty care 

• Higher monthly premiums 
for dependents and part-time 
employees 

• The plan pays nothing until the 
deductible is met 

• Must meet IRS’ eligibility 
guidelines to participate in the 
HSA 

• Limited regional network 
• Plan pays nothing for out- 

of-network care (except 
emergencies) 

• Will be unavailable after August 
31 

Might be good for 
people who … 

• Want to keep their out-of-
pocket costs low 

• Don’t mind getting referrals for 
specialty care 

• Are willing to pay higher 
dependent or part-time 
employee premiums 

• Usually have low (or very high) 
health expenses 

• Can afford to pay for medical 
and pharmacy expenses out-of-
pocket until the deductible is met 

• Want the state’s tax-free HSA 
contribution 

• Don’t want to get referrals for 
specialty care 

• Want to keep their out-of-pocket 
costs low 

• Don’t mind getting all non- 
emergency care from a smaller, 
regional network 

• Want to pay generally lower 
dependent or part-time 
employee premiums 

• Don’t mind changing plans on 
September 1, 2021 

What is the GBP? 
Employees of State of Texas 
agencies and many higher education 
institutions can participate in the 
Texas Employees Group Benefits 
Program (GBP). Created by the 
Texas Legislature in 1991, the GBP 
offers insurance and other related 
benefits that help State of Texas 
employees and their families live 
healthy, financially secure lives. 

You are a member of the GBP while you’re employed at: 

• a state agency, 

• a Texas public institution of higher education that is not part of 
the University of Texas or Texas A&M University systems, 

• Community Supervision and Corrections Department (CSCD), 

• Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS), 

• Windham School District, 

• Texas Municipal Retirement System (TMRS) or 

• Texas County and District Retirement System (TCDRS). 
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HealthSelect of Texas and 
Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
No matter where you live or work, you can choose between HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect. With both plans, you have access to a network of more than 50,000 doctors, hospitals and other 
providers. Both plans include a comprehensive prescription drug program administered by OptumRx. 

Key features of HealthSelect of Texas: 
• You do not have to meet an annual medical deductible if you use 

providers in the HealthSelect network. If you get care outside the 
network, you will have to meet a $500 annual deductible per person, 
with a maximum annual deductible of $1,500 per family. 

• You have prescription drug coverage through a plan administered by 
OptumRx. You will have to meet a $50 per person deductible before 
the plan begins to pay for prescription drugs. This deductible resets at 
the beginning of each calendar year. (The plan year for health benefits 
and premiums follows the state’s fiscal year calendar – September 
through August.) 

• You are responsible for copays and/or coinsurance for doctor and 
hospital visits and other medical services, such as outpatient surgery 
and high-tech radiology. 

• To keep your costs as low as possible, you need to choose a primary 
care provider (PCP) on file with BCBSTX and get referrals from 
your PCP to see in-network specialists. If you do not have a referral 
from your PCP on file with BCBSTX before you get treatment from a 
specialist, you could pay more for your treatment, even if the provider 
is in the HealthSelect network. 

You do not need a referral for: 

• eye exams (both routine and 
diagnostic), 

• OB-GYN visits, 

• mental health counseling, 

• chiropractic visits, 

• occupational therapy, speech 
therapy and physical therapy, 

• virtual visits* through Doctor on 
Demand or MDLIVE for medical or 
mental health care and 

• urgent care centers and convenience 
care clinics. 

*Virtual visits for medical care are 
covered at no cost for HealthSelect 
of Texas participants. Virtual visits for 
mental health care have the same 
benefit as an in-network mental health 
office visit—a $25 copay. 

Lower your health care costs with HealthSelectShoppERSSM 

HealthSelect of Texas, HealthSelectSM Out-of-State and Consumer Directed HealthSelect participants can lower their 
health care costs and earn incentives with HealthSelectShoppERSSM. Shopping for lower cost options for care can save 
you money on certain medical services or procedures and reward you with contributions to your health care TexFlex 
flexible spending account (FSA) or limited-purpose FSA. See page 44 to learn more. 
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Consumer Directed HealthSelect is a high-deductible health plan paired with a 
tax-free health savings account (HSA). The high deductible means you could 
have higher out-of-pocket costs before your health plan begins to pay for non-
preventive medical services and prescription drugs. The plan covers 100% for 
in-network preventive services. It is available to GBP participants who are not 
enrolled in Medicare. 

Key features of Consumer Directed HealthSelect: 

• You do not need to designate a PCP or get referrals
to specialists.

• The monthly dependent premium is lower than
HealthSelect of Texas, but you pay the full cost of
doctor visits, prescriptions, hospital stays and any
other non-preventive health services or products
until you have reached the annual deductible. (See
deductible amounts below.)

• You get a monthly health savings account (HSA)
contribution from the state to help pay for eligible medical
costs. (See information on HSAs on page 10.)

• You have prescription drug coverage through a plan
administered by OptumRx.

• After you meet the deductible, you pay coinsurance
(20% in network, 40% out of network) for medical
services and prescriptions, rather than a copay.

Eileen Eiden 
Understanding this 
newer health plan 
option 
When Eileen Eiden joined 
Austin Community College 
in 2014, a high-deductible 
health plan (HDHP) wasn’t 
among her health plan 
options. “I was surprised, 
and I kept asking when ERS 
would offer a high-deductible 
plan,” Eiden recalled. 

Two years later, when ERS 
began offering Consumer Directed HealthSelect, Eiden 
promptly signed up and found this HDHP with a Health 
Savings Account (HSA) to be a good fit for her. 

An HDHP “is perfect for healthy adults, especially if you 
see a doctor only once a year. Your in-network preventive 
care is fully covered, with no copay or coinsurance,” 
Eiden explained. Then, there is the HSA. “It’s like a 
401(k), but for health.” 

• Your deductible and total out-of-pocket maximums for
individual and family coverage reset on January 1.
(The plan year for premiums and health benefits
follows the state’s fiscal year calendar – September
through August.)

For more information on Consumer Directed  
HealthSelect, see https://ers.texas.gov/ 
Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/ 
High-Deductible-Health-Plan. 

Consumer Directed HealthSelect annual deductibles 
For Calendar Years 2020 and 2021 (includes prescription drugs) 

In-network Out-of-network 
Individual $2,100 $4,200 

Family $4,200 $8,400 

The State of Texas contributes money to the HSA every 
month, when a Consumer Directed HealthSelect member 
opens an HSA with Optum Bank. Plus, GBP members can 
contribute pre-tax money. HSA funds are tax-free when 
spent on eligible health care expenses (even in retirement). 

And, if you should leave your job or retire, the money 
in your account—even the portion contributed by the 
state—is yours to keep. In time, the funds in an HSA 
can accumulate with contributions, earned interest and 
investment earnings. None of this growth is taxed when 
spent on eligible health care expenses. 

Eiden acknowledged that plans like Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect might be risky for people who don’t have 
enough cash to cover the plan’s annual high deductible, 
which includes both covered pharmacy and medical 
costs. After the deductible is met, the GBP member pays 
20% coinsurance (not copays) for in-network health care 
services and prescription drugs. If you haven’t saved 
enough in your HSA to meet the deductible, you could be 
faced with a financial challenge. 

“What scared me the most was the possibility that I 
wouldn’t be able to pay for my medical care,” Eiden 
stated. “Once I started adding money to my HSA, that 
was no longer an issue.” 

https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/High-Deductible-Health-Plan
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/High-Deductible-Health-Plan
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/High-Deductible-Health-Plan
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Health savings account (HSA) 
Available only with Consumer Directed HealthSelect 

An HSA allows you to set money aside, tax free, and use the funds 
to pay for eligible out-of-pocket health expenses anytime, even in 
retirement. (Once you reach age 65, you can even use your HSA 
for non-health expenses, but you’ll pay taxes on any funds spent 
on non-health costs.) 

• You can use your HSA funds for qualified medical expenses for  
yourself, your spouse and eligible dependents – even if they’re  not 
covered under your health insurance. The Internal Revenue  
Service (IRS) defines qualified medical expenses. Visit http://
www.hsacenter.com/what-is-an-hsa/qualified-medical-
expenses/  for more information.

• To help cover your out-of-pocket health costs, the state makes a  
monthly contribution to the HSA of every eligible GBP member  
enrolled in Consumer Directed HealthSelect. You are not  eligible 
to make or receive any contributions to an HSA if you  are enrolled 
in Medicare. Contributions--both from the state and  a GBP 
member’s paycheck (optional)--are typically deposited  between 
the seventh and the 10th business day of the month. To  learn 
more about HSA eligibility, visit https://www.optumbank.  com/
all-products/hsa/hsa-eligibility.html

• You can make pre-tax contributions to your HSA through payroll 
deductions. The IRS sets the maximum contribution amount each 
year. See the table below for maximum contributions.

• All the money in your HSA carries over from one year to the  next
—there is no use-it-or-lose-it rule—and you can keep the  funds if 
you change health plans or even leave state employment.

Contribute yearly for 
TRIPLE TAX SAVINGS 

1.Contribute money into the account (tax-free).

2. Pay for qualified medical expenses (tax-free).

3.Earn interest or investment growth on the
account (tax-free).

HSA contributions and maximums* 
Contribution Individual Account Family Account** 

Annual maximum contribution 
Jan. 1 - Dec. 31, 2020 

Up to age 54: $3,550 
Age 55 and older: $4,550 $7,100 

Annual maximum contribution*** 
Jan. 1 - Dec. 31, 2021 

Up to age 54: $3,600 
Age 55 and older: $4,600 $7,200 

Annual state contribution 
Sept. 1 2020 - Aug. 31, 2021 $540 ($45 monthly) $1,080 ($90 monthly) 

*HSA contributions and limits may change from year to year. They may also change based on eligibility requirements and the participant’s age. Maximums are set 
by the IRS and include both pre-tax and post-tax contributions to an HSA. Contributions are based on the calendar year, and maximums reset on January 1. 
**A family account includes the GBP member plus any number of dependents enrolled in Consumer Directed HealthSelect. 
***An additional $1,000 annual contribution is allowed for an accountholder who is age 55 or older by the end of the calendar year. 

For more information about HSAs, see https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/Consumer-Directed-HealthSelect-
Health-Savings-Account. 

http://www.hsacenter.com/what-is-an-hsa/qualified-medical-expenses/
http://www.hsacenter.com/what-is-an-hsa/qualified-medical-expenses/
http://www.hsacenter.com/what-is-an-hsa/qualified-medical-expenses/
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/Consumer-Directed-HealthSelect-Health-Sa
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/Consumer-Directed-HealthSelect-Health-Sa
https://www.optumbank.com/all-products/hsa/hsa-eligibility.html
https://www.optumbank.com/all-products/hsa/hsa-eligibility.html
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Go online 
Enrolling in Consumer Directed  
HealthSelect? Open your HSA as  
soon as possible.  

If you enroll in Consumer Directed  
HealthSelect, open your HSA as soon as possible, so the  
state’s monthly contributions and any other funds can  
be deposited into your account. The state’s deposits are  
funded monthly, around the 15th of the month. Optum  
Bank manages the ERS HSA program. Even if you  
don’t plan to make your own pre-tax HSA contributions,  
you must open an Optum Bank HSA to get the state’s  
contributions. You can go to http://optumbank.com/ 
texasers to open an account, or to get an application  
mailed to you, call Optum Bank toll-free at (800) 243-
5543. Once you open the account, Optum Bank will send  
you a debit card to pay for eligible health expenses.  

If you want to contribute to your HSA via payroll  
deduction, you must elect your payroll deductions  
through your ERS Online account––or your agency’s  
benefits coordinator can do it for you. (You don’t to have  
to contribute to your HSA with payroll deductions, but  
it’s a convenient and consistent way to make pre-tax  
contributions.) You can change your contributions any  
time during the year, as long as you don’t exceed the IRS’  
total contribution maximum for the year. 

You will have access only to the amount of money that 
has accumulated in your HSA, not any funds that are 
pledged to be deposited in the future. 

Please note! 
You can opt out of health 
insurance coverage—and 
get credit. 

If you can certify that you already have health 
insurance that is equal to or better than that offered 
through ERS, you can sign up for a monthly health 
insurance Opt-Out Credit of up to $60 for full-time 
employees and $30 for part-time employees. 

• The credit helps pay your dental, vision and/or
Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment
insurance premiums. Please note: No portion of the
opt-out credit will be refunded if the full opt-out credit
is not used for dental, vision, and/or AD&D premium.

• The credit is not available if your only other
insurance is Medicare, you have health insurance
coverage through ERS as a dependent or you get
a state contribution for other insurance coverage.

Important: If you opt out of an ERS health plan, you 
give up your prescription drug coverage and will no 
longer have $5,000 Basic Term Life Insurance that 
includes $5,000 AD&D coverage. 

If you lose your other coverage, you can enroll in one 
of the health insurance plans offered through ERS. 
Losing coverage is a qualifying life event, and you will 
have 31 days after losing your other plan to enroll in 
an ERS health plan. 

Health maintenance organizations (HMOs) 
If you live or work in an eligible county, you may decide 
to enroll in an HMO. These regional plans have smaller 
networks than the HealthSelect plans, but they cover 
most of the same care and services as HealthSelect and 
have different dependent premiums. 

• You must use providers (such as doctors and
hospitals) in the HMO network for your services to
be covered, unless the HMO has authorized out-of-
network treatment. Only emergency care services are
covered outside the network without authorization.

• HMOs have their own prescription drug coverage. The
annual $50-per-person drug deductible and out-of-
pocket maximums reset on September 1.

• The HMOs will no longer be available starting
September 1, 2021. If you live or work in an eligible
county, you may enroll in one of the HMOs through
August 31, 2021, but will have to change health
coverage on September 1.

HMO Plan Service 
Area Counties 

Community First 
Health Plans San Antonio 

Atascosa, Bandera, 
Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, 
Kendall, Medina and 
Wilson 

Scott and White 
Care Plans 

Central 
Texas 

Austin, Bastrop, Bell, 
Bosque, Brazos, Burleson, 
Burnet, Coryell, Falls, 
Freestone, Grimes, 
Hamilton, Hill, Lampasas, 
Lee, Leon, Limestone, 
Llano, Madison, McLennan, 
Milam, Mills, Robertson, 
San Saba, Somervell, 
Travis, Walker, Waller, 
Washington and Williamson 

http://optumbank.com/texasers
http://optumbank.com/texasers
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Please note: 
• You must select a primary care provider (PCP) if you enroll in HealthSelect of Texas or the Community 

First Health Plans HMO. If you don’t choose a PCP, you may end up paying more—possibly a lot more— 
for services. 

• You do not need to designate a PCP if you enroll in Consumer Directed HealthSelect or Scott and White Care 
Plans, or if you’re enrolled in HealthSelect of Texas and your address on file with ERS is outside Texas. 

• If you are in HealthSelect of Texas and need to see a specialist (that is, someone other than your PCP), 
you will need to have a referral from your PCP to the specialist on file with BCBSTX to receive in-
network benefits. 

Prescription drug coverage 
Your health insurance plan includes coverage for  
prescription drugs. OptumRx administers the prescription  
drug program for the HealthSelect plans. If you are  
enrolled in HealthSelect of Texas or Consumer Directed  
HealthSelect, you will get separate ID cards for medical  
(Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas) and prescription  
drug (OptumRx) coverage. HMOs have their own  
prescription plans and will send just one ID card for both  
medical and prescription coverage. You may need to  
present your card when filling a prescription. 

Prescription drugs fall into three categories, called tiers, 
with different copays for each tier. 

• Tier 1 prescriptions are usually inexpensive 
medications, such as generic drugs.

• Tier 2 prescriptions are usually lower-cost preferred 
brand-name drugs.

• Tier 3 prescriptions are non-preferred brand-name 
drugs with a high cost. 

To find out which pharmacies you can use under each plan, visit the plan website. 
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Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses 
To help protect you from extremely high health costs, all GBP health plans have in-network out-of-pocket maximums. 
This is the maximum amount you or your family will pay in one year for in-network copays, coinsurance and deductibles 
(as applicable) for covered medical and prescription drugs. If you reach this maximum, the plan will pay 100% of 
covered in-network health and pharmacy expenses for the rest of the year. (There is no out-of-pocket maximum for out-
of-network services in any of the health plans.) 

The out-of-pocket maximums for HealthSelect plans reset every calendar year (January 1), while the HMOs reset every 
plan year (September 1). The chart below lists the out-of-pocket maximums for the health plans. 

In-network out-of-pocket maximums (all plans) 

Plan Year 2020 
HealthSelect (through Dec. 31, 2020) $6,750 individual 

$13,500 family*HMOs (through Aug. 31, 2020) 

Plan Year 2021 
HealthSelect (Jan. 1 - Dec. 31, 2021) $6,750 individual 

$13,500 family*HMOs (Sept. 1, 2020 - Aug. 31, 2021) 
*Family includes the GBP member plus one or more covered family member(s). 

You must certify your status—whether you use tobacco or not 

If you enroll in a GBP health insurance plan, you must 
certify your and any covered dependent’s status as 
tobacco users or non-users. Certified tobacco users pay 
a monthly tobacco user premium. 

ERS’ tobacco policy defines tobacco products as all types 
of tobacco, including but not limited to cigarettes, cigars, 
pipe tobacco, chewing tobacco, snuff, and dip; and all 
electronic cigarettes and vaping products. Vaping products 
that do not contain tobacco or nicotine also are considered 
tobacco products. 

A tobacco user is a person who has used any tobacco 
product, as defined above, five or more times within the 
past three consecutive months. 

If you or a covered dependent uses tobacco products, you 
are required to certify yourself or your dependents as a 
tobacco user and pay the monthly tobacco user premium. 

Note: You need to certify your status only once, unless your 
status changes. You can update your tobacco status through 
your ERS OnLine account, by phone or by returning the 
online Tobacco Use Certification form to ERS. Failing to do 
so could result in losing your GBP health insurance coverage. 

Ready to quit? 
All health plans offered through ERS cover programs and 
prescription drugs that will help you quit. If you remain 
tobacco-free for three consecutive months, you can re-
certify as a tobacco non-user and you will no longer have 
to pay the higher premiums. 

Tobacco user premium alternative 
If you are a tobacco user, you may qualify for an 
alternative to the tobacco user premium, if it complies with 
your doctor’s recommendations. For more information, see 
the ERS tobacco policy on ERS website at https://ers. 
texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-
Certification or contact ERS toll-free at (877) 275-4377. 

Improve your health and lifestyle! 
The tobacco cessation program is only one of the programs 
and tools your state benefits package offers to help you get 
healthier. Visit your health plan’s website to find out more 
about the wellness programs available to you. 

If you are a return-to-work retiree, you can switch between retiree and active benefits by contacting 
your agency’s benefits coordinator or human resources office. If you are a Health and Human Services 
Enterprise employee, please contact the HHS Enterprise Employee Service Center. 

https://ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification
https://ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification
https://ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification
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HealthSelect of Texas®  
and HealthSelect  

Out-of-State   
In Network 

HealthSelect of Texas  
and HealthSelect  

Out-of-State   
Out of Network 

Consumer Directed  
HealthSelectSM   

High-deductible Plan  
In Network 

Consumer Directed  
HealthSelect   

High-deductible Plan  
Out of Network 

Community First  
Health Plans HMO   

In Network 

 Scott and White 
Care Plans HMO 

In Network 

Annual deductible None $500 per individual, 
$1,500 per family 

$2,100 per individual,  
 $4,200 per family 

 Note: To help cover 
part of the deductible,  
the State contibutes to  
an eligible member’  s 
health savings  
account: $540/year for  
an individual, $1,080/ 
year for a family. 

$4,200 per individual, 
$8,400 per family  
Note: To help cover  

 part of the deductible, 
 the State contibutes to 

an eligible member’s  
 health savings 

account: $540/year for  
an individual, $1,080/ 
year for a family. 

None None 

Out-of-network 
benefits? 

Yes. See below for 
benefit details for out-
of-network services. 

Yes. See below for 
benefit details for out-
of-network services. 

No, except for 
emergency and 
urgent care services, 
services provided by 
out-of-network facility-
based providers in 
a network facility, 

No, except for 
emergency and 
urgent care services, 
services provided by 
out-of-network facility-
based providers in 
a network facility, 

and out-of-network 
services that are 
authorized in advance 
by the plan. 

and out-of-network 
services that are 
authorized in advance 
by the plan. 

Balance billing?  
(Balance billing is 
when an out-of-
network provider 
charges you the 
difference between 
their billed charges 
and the plan’s 
allowed amount.) 

Yes. Balance billing 
may apply to certain 
out-of-network 
services. For more 
information, see the 
plan’s Master Benefit 
Plan Document. 

Yes. Balance billing 
may apply to certain 
out-network services. 
For more information, 
see the plan’s 
Master Benefit Plan 
Document. 

No. Out-of-network 
benefits are not 
covered unless 
authorized in advance 
or an emergency, so 
balance billing does 
not apply. 

No. Out-of-network 
benefits are not 
covered unless 
authorized in advance 
or an emergency, 
so typically balance 
billing should not 
apply. 

Total in-network 
out-of-pocket 
maximum  
(including 
deductibles, 
coinsurance and 
copays)1 

$6,750 per person,  
$13,500 per family  
These reset on 
January 1. 

 $6,750 per person, 
$13,500 per family 
These reset on 
January 1. 

 $6,750 per person, 
 $13,500 per family 

These reset on 
September 1. 

 $6,750 per person, 
$13,500 per family  
These reset on 
September 1. 

Out-of-pocket 
coinsurance 
maximum 

$2,000 per person $7,000 per person None None $2,000 per person $2,000 per person 

Inpatient copay 
maximum 

$750 copay max, 
up to five days per 
hospital stay  
$2,250 copay max 
per calendar year per 
person 

$750 copay max, 
up to five days per 
hospital stay  
$2,250 copay max 
per calendar year per 
person 

None None 

$750 copay max, 
up to five days per 

 hospital stay 
$2,250 copay max per 
plan year per person 

$750 copay max, 
up to five days per 
hospital stay $2,250 
copay max per plan 
year per person 

Primary care 
provider (PCP) 
required? 

Yes for participants 
who live and work in 
Texas;  
No for out-of-state 
participants 

No No No Yes No 

Referrals required? 

Yes for participants 
who live and work in 
Texas;  
No for out-of-state 
participants as well 

No No No No No 

EMPLOYEE AND NON-MEDICARE-ELIGIBLE RETIREE 
HEALTH PLANS COMPARISON CHART  

DRAFT
 EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 

1 Includes medical and prescription drug copays, coinsurance and deductibles. Excludes non-network and bariatric services. 
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Medical Benefits - Member’s Share of the Cost 
HealthSelect of Texas 

and HealthSelect 
Out-of-State 
In Network 

HealthSelect of Texas 
and HealthSelect 

Out-of-State 
Out of Network 

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect 

High-deductible Plan 
In Network 

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect 

High-deductible Plan 
Out of Network 

Community First 
Health Plans HMO 

In Network 

Scott and White 
Care Plans HMO 

In Network 

Allergy treatment 

No cost to participant(s) 
if administered in a 
physician’s office, 20% 
in any other outpatient 
location 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% 20% 

Ambulance 
services 
(for emergencies) 

20% 
20%, annual 
deductible does not 
apply 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual in-network 
deductible is met 

20% 20% 

Bariatric surgery2 
Deductible: $5,000 
Coinsurance: 20% 
Lifetime max: $13,000 

Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Chiropractic care 

20% if billed without 
an office visit; 
$40 copay plus 20% 
with office visit; 
$75 maximum benefit 
per visit; 30 visits max 
per participant per 
calendar year 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 
$75 maximum benefit 
per visit; 30 visits max 
per participant per 
calendar year 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 
$75 maximum benefit 
per visit; 30 visits max 
per participant per 
calendar year 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 
$75 maximum benefit 
per visit; 30 visits max 
per participant per 
calendar year 

$40 copay plus 20%; 
$75 maximum benefit 
per visit; 30 visits max 
per participant per 
calendar year 

$40 copay plus 20% 
with office visit; 
No per-visit limit on 
maximum; 
35 visits max per 
participant per 
calendar year 

Diabetes 
equipment2 20% 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% 20% 

Diabetes supplies 
20%. Covered under 
the medical and 
pharmacy plan* 

20%, annual 
deductible does not 
apply 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met. Covered under 
the medical and 
pharmacy plan* 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual in-network 
deductible is met 

20% for in-network 
supplies only, no out-
of-network coverage. 
Covered under the 
pharmacy plan 

20% for in-network 
supplies only, no out-
of-network coverage. 
Covered under the 
pharmacy plan 

Diagnostic X-rays 
and lab tests 20% 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% 20% 

Diagnostic 
mammography 

No cost to 
participant(s) 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

No cost to 
participant(s) 

No cost to 
participant(s) 

Durable medical 
equipment2 20% 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% 20% 

Facility-based 
providers 
(radiologists, 
pathologists 
and labs, 
anesthesiologists, 
emergency room 
physicians etc.) 

20% 

For emergencies, 
20% coinsurance and 
annual deductible 
does not apply. For 
non-emergencies, 
40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

For emergencies, 20% 
coinsurance after the 
annual in-network 
deductible is met. For 
non-emergencies, 40% 
coinsurance after the 
annual out-of-network 
deductible is met. 

20% 20% 

Facility emergency 
care and 
hospital-affiliated 
freestanding 
emergency 
departments 
(Does not apply 
to freestanding 
emergency rooms 
not affiliated with a 
hospital.) 

$150 copay plus 20% 
(If admitted, copay 
will apply to hospital 
copay.) 

$150 copay plus 20% 
(If admitted, copay 
will apply to hospital 
copay.) Annual 
deductible does not 
apply. For non-
emergencies, $150 
copay plus 40% 
coinsurance after the 
annual out-of-network 
deductible is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

For emergencies, 
20% coinsurance after 
the annual in-network 
deductible is met. For 
non-emergencies, 40% 
coinsurance after the 
annual out-of-network 
deductible is met 

$150 plus 20% 
(If admitted, copay 
will apply to hospital 
copay.) 

$150 plus 20% 
(If admitted, copay 
will apply to hospital 
copay.) 

*Some diabetic supplies are covered at no cost to participant(s) under the pharmacy plan. (Consumer Directed HealthSelect participants must meet their annual deductible first.) 
For more information, see your pharmacy plan’s Master Benefit Plan Document. 
2Preauthorization may be required. 
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HealthSelect of Texas 
and HealthSelect 

Out-of-State 
In Network 

HealthSelect of Texas 
and HealthSelect 

Out-of-State 
Out of Network 

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect 

High-deductible Plan 
In Network 

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect 

High-deductible Plan 
Out of Network 

Community First 
Health Plans HMO 

In Network 

Scott and White 
Care Plans HMO 

In Network 

Freestanding 
emergency room 
facility 

$150 copay plus 20% 

$300 copay plus 20%. 
Annual deductible 
does not apply. 
For non-emergencies, 
$300 copay plus 40% 
coinsurance after the 
annual out-of-network 
deductible is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

For emergencies, 20% 
coinsurance after the 
annual in-network 
deductible is met. For 
non-emergencies, 40% 
coinsurance after the 
annual out-of-network 
deductible is met 

$150 copay plus 20% 
for in-network and 
out-of-network 

$150 copay plus 20% 
for in-network and 
out-of-network 

Habilitation and 
rehabilitation 
services -
outpatient 
therapy (including 
physical therapy, 
occupational therapy 
and speech therapy) 

20% 
40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance 
without office visit, 
$40 plus 20% 
coinsurance with 
office visit 

20% coinsurance 
without office visit, 
$40 plus 20% 
coinsurance with 
office visit 

Hearing aids 
(for covered 
participants over 
age 18) 

HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-
of-State pay up to $1,000 per ear every three 
years and cover in-network and out-of-network 
hearing aids at the same benefit level. 

Consumer Directed HealthSelect pays up 
to $1,000 per ear every three years (after 
deductible is met) and covers in-network 
and out-of-network hearing aids at the same 
benefit level. 

Plan pays up to 
$1,000 per ear every 
three years. No out-
of-network benefits 
available 

Plan pays up to 
$1,000 per ear every 
three years. No out-
of-network benefits 
available 

Hearing aids 
(for participants age 
18 and under) 

HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-
of-State pay 100%, limit of one per ear every 
three years, and cover in-network and out-of-
network hearing aids at the same benefit level. 

Consumer Directed HealthSelect pays 80% 
after the annual in-network deductible is met 
and covers in-network and out-of-network 
hearing aids at the same benefit level. 

20%, limit of one per 
ear every 3 years 

20%, limit of one per 
ear every 3 years 

High-tech 
radiology (CT scan, 
MRI and nuclear 
medicine)2 

$100 copay plus 20% 

$100 copay plus 40% 
coinsurance after the 
annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

$100 copay plus 20% $100 copay plus 20% 

Home health care2 20% 
40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% 20% 

Hospice care2 20% 
40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% 20% 

Inpatient hospital 
facility (semi-private 
room and day’s 
board, and intensive 
care unit)2 

$150/day copay plus 
20% 
($750 copay max, 
up to five days per 
hospital stay. $2,250 
copay max per 
calendar year per 
person) 

$150/day copay plus 
40% after the annual 
deductible is met. 
($750 copay max, 
up to five days per 
hospital stay. $2,250 
copay max per 
calendar year per 
person) 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

$150/day copay plus 
20% 
($750 copay max, 
up to five days per 
hospital stay. $2,250 
copay max per plan 
year per person) 

$150/day copay plus 
20% 
($750 copay max, 
up to five days per 
hospital stay. $2,250 
copay max per plan 
year per person) 

Maternity care 
doctor charges 
only; inpatient 
hospital copays will 
apply 

$25 or $40 for first 
prenatal visit. No 
charge for routine post 
natal appointments 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

No charge for routine 
prenatal appointments. 
20% coinsurance for 
first postnatal visit after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

No charge for routine 
prenatal appointments. 
$25 or $40 for first 
postnatal visit 

No charge for routine 
prenatal appointments. 
$25 or $40 for first 
postnatal visit 

Medications 
and injections 
administered by 
a provider (see 
below for outpatient 
medications and 
injections)2 

No cost to participant(s) 
after you pay the copay 
if administered in a 
physician's office*, 20% 
in any other outpatient 
location. 
*No cost to participant(s) 
if no office visit charge 
is assessed. Preventive 
vaccines covered at 100% 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met. 
Preventive vaccines 
covered at 100% 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

Covered at benefits 
throughout chart 
dependent on where 
they are administered. 
Preventive vaccines 
covered at 100% 

Covered at benefits 
throughout chart 
dependent on where 
they are administered. 
Preventive vaccines 
covered at 100% 

2Preauthorization may be required. 
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HealthSelect of Texas 
and HealthSelect 

Out-of-State 
In Network 

HealthSelect of Texas 
and HealthSelect 

Out-of-State 
Out of Network 

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect 

High-deductible Plan 
In Network 

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect 

High-deductible Plan 
Out of Network 

Community First 
Health Plans HMO 

In Network 

Scott and White 
Care Plans HMO 

In Network 

Office surgery 
and diagnostic 
procedures 

20% 
40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% 20% 

PCP office visit $25 copay 
40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

$25 copay $25 copay 

Private-duty 
nursing2 20% 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% 20% 

Retail health/ 
convenience care 
clinic 

$25 copay 
40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

Not covered $25 copay 

Routine eye exam, 
one per year per 
participant 

$40 copay 
40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

$40 copay $40 copay 

Routine preventive 
care 

No cost to 
participant(s) 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

No cost to 
participant(s) 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

No cost to 
participant(s) 

No cost to 
participant(s) 

Skilled nursing 
facility/inpatient 
rehabilitation 
facility services2 

20% 
40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% 20% 

Specialist 
physician office 
visit 

$40 copay 
40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

$40 copay $40 copay 

Surgery 
(outpatient) other 
than in physician’s 
office2 

$100 copay plus 20% 

$100 copay plus 40% 
coinsurance after the 
annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

$100 copay plus 20% $100 copay plus 20% 

Telemedicine visit 

Coverage is based 
on place of treatment 
billed ($25/$40 
copay if physician's 
office visit, 20% for 
any other outpatient 
telemedicine). 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

Coverage is based 
on place of treatment 
billed ( $25 copay 
if physician's office 
visit, 20% for any 
other outpatient 
telemedicine). 

Coverage is based 
on place of treatment 
billed ($25 copay 
if physician's office 
visit, 20% for any 
other outpatient 
telemedicine). 

Therapeutic 
treatments -
outpatient 

20% 
40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% 20% 

Urgent care clinic $50 copay plus 20% 
40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

$50 copay plus 20% $50 copay plus 20% 

Virtual visits/ 
e-visits (medical) 

No cost to 
participant(s) if Doctor 
on Demand or MDLive 
is used 

Not covered 
20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

Not covered No virtual visit or 
e-visit benefits offered 

Virtual Visits/E-visits 
with a Scott and White 
Health Plan provider 
covered at 100% 
through online portal 
or app 

2Preauthorization may be required. 
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Mental Health/Behavioral Health/Substance Abuse Benefits –
Member’s Share of Cost 

HealthSelect of Texas 
and HealthSelect 

Out-of-State 
In Network 

HealthSelect of Texas 
and HealthSelect 

Out-of-State 
Out of Network 

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect 

High-deductible Plan 
In Network 

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect 

High-deductible Plan 
Out of Network 

Community First 
Health Plans HMO 

In Network 

Scott and White 
Care Plans HMO 

In Network 

Mental health 
administrator and 
network 

BCBSTX effective 
September 1, 2020 

BCBSTX effective 
September 1, 2020 

BCBSTX effective 
September 1, 2020 

BCBSTX effective 
September 1, 2020 CFHP SWHP 

Inpatient hospital 
mental health stay2 

$150/day copay plus 
20% 
($750 copay max, 
up to five days per 
hospital stay. $2,250 
copay max per 
calendar year per 
person) 

$150/day copay 
plus 40% after the 
annual deductible 
is met. ($750 copay 
max, up to five days 
per hospital stay. 
$2,250 copay max 
per calendar year per 
person) 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

$150/day copay plus 
20% 
($750 copay max, 
up to five days per 
hospital stay. $2,250 
copay max per plan 
year per person) 

$150/day copay plus 
20% 
($750 copay max, 
up to five days per 
hospital stay. $2,250 
copay max per plan 
year per person) 

Coverage is based 
on place of treatment 

Coverage is based 
on place of treatment 

Mental health 
telemedicine 

billed ($25 copay if 
mental health office 
visit, 20% for any 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

Coverage is based 
on place of treatment 
billed. 

billed ($25 copay if 
mental health office 
visit, 20% for any 

other outpatient 
telemedicine) 

other outpatient 
telemedicine) 

Outpatient facility 
care (partial 
hospitalization/ 
day treatment and 
extensive outpatient 

20% 
40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% 20% 

treatment)2 

Outpatient 
physician or 
mental health 
provider office visit 

$25 copay 
40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

$25 copay $25 copay 

Virtual visits / 
e-visits (mental 
health) 

$25 copay for mental 
health virtual visits 
provided by Doctor on 
Demand or MDLive 

Not covered 
20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

Not covered Not covered Not covered 

2Preauthorization may be required. 
Benefits listed in cells above apply to all covered mental health/behavioral health/substance abuse services (including serious mental illness treatment, substance abuse 
treatment, autism spectrum disorder services etc.). 
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 Prescription Drug Benefits and Coverage 
– Member’s Share of Cost 
NOTE: PBMs have different formularies and covered drugs, based on the determinations of their own pharmacy and therapeutics committees and individual formulary 
strategies. Drugs covered under the HealthSelect plan may not be the same drugs covered under CFHP or SWHP. 

Pharmacy benefits 
manager (PBM) 

OptumRx 
(UnitedHealthcare) 

OptumRx 
(UnitedHealthcare) 

OptumRx 
(UnitedHealthcare) 

OptumRx 
(UnitedHealthcare) Navitus Scott and White 

Care Plans 
Out-of-network 
benefits? Yes Yes No No 

Deductible 

$50 prescription 
drug deductible 
per participant per 
calendar year applies 
before the plan pays 
for any prescription 
drugs 

$50 prescription 
drug deductible 
per participant per 
calendar year applies 
before the plan pays 
for any prescription 
drugs 

$2,100 per individual, 
$4,200 per family. 
Medical and 
prescription drug 
expenses apply to the 
deductible. 

$4,200 per individual, 
$8,400 per family. 
Medical and 
prescription drug 
expenses apply to the 
deductible. 

$50 deductible per 
participant per plan 
year applies before 
the plan pays for any 
prescription drugs 

$50 deductible per 
participant per plan 
year applies before 
the plan pays for any 
prescription drugs 

Tier 1 
(mostly generic 
drugs) 

$10 copayment 
(nonmaintenance), 
$10 copayment 
(maintenance); 
$30 copayment 
(90-day supply mail 
order or extended day 
supply pharmacy) 

$10 copayment plus 
40% coinsurance 
(non-maintenance) 
$10 copayment plus 
40% coinsurance 
(maintenance); 
$30 copayment plus 
40% coinsurance 
(mail order or 
extended day supply) 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

$10 copayment (non-
maintenance),
 $10 copayment 
(maintenance),
 $30 copayment 
(90-day supply mail 
order or extended day 
supply) 

$10 copayment (non-
maintenance),
 $10 copayment 
(maintenance),
 $30 copayment 
(90-day supply mail 
order or extended day 
supply) 

Tier 2 
(mostly preferred 
brand-name 
drugs)2,3 

$35 copayment 
(nonmaintenance), 
$45 copayment 
(maintenance); 
$105 copayment (mail 
order or extended day 
supply 

$35 copayment plus 
40% coinsurance 
(non-maintenance) 
$45 copayment plus 
40% coinsurance 
(maintenance); $105 
copayment plus 40% 
coinsurance (mail 
order or extended day 
supply) 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

$35 copayment 
(nonmaintenance), 
$45 copayment 
(maintenance); 
$105 copayment (mail 
order or extended day 
supply 

$35 copayment 
(nonmaintenance), 
$45 copayment 
(maintenance); 
$105 copayment (mail 
order or extended day 
supply 

Tier 3 
(mostly non-
preferred brand-
name drugs)2,3 

$60 copayment (non-
maintenance), 
$75 copayment 
(maintenance); 
$180 copayment (mail 
order or extended day 
supply) 

$60 copayment plus 
40% coinsurance 
(non-maintenance) 
$75 copayment plus 
40% coinsurance 
(maintenance); 
$180 copayment plus 
40% coinsurance 
(mail order or 
extended day supply) 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

$60 copayment (non-
maintenance), 
$75 copayment 
(maintenance); 
$180 copayment (mail 
order or extended day 
supply) 

$60 copayment (non-
maintenance), 
$75 copayment 
(maintenance); 
$180 copayment (mail 
order or extended day 
supply) 

Specialty drugs2,3 

If purchased through 
a pharmacy, specialty 
drugs are covered as 
preferred brand drugs 
or nonpreferred brand 
drugs as listed above. 
Otherwise, covered as 
a medical benefit. 

If purchased through 
a pharmacy, specialty 
drugs are covered as 
preferred brand drugs 
or nonpreferred brand 
drugs as listed above. 
Otherwise, covered as 
a medical benefit. 

20% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

40% coinsurance after 
the annual deductible 
is met 

If purchased through 
a pharmacy, specialty 
drugs are covered as 
preferred brand drugs 
or nonpreferred brand 
drugs as listed above. 
Otherwise, covered as 
a medical benefit. 

If purchased through 
a pharmacy, specialty 
drugs are covered as 
preferred brand drugs 
or nonpreferred brand 
drugs as listed above. 
Otherwise, covered as 
a medical benefit. 

Syringes 
for insulin 
administration 

$0 copay $0 copay $0 copay $0 copay 

$35 copay for 30 
days' supply, $105 
copay for 90-day 
supply 

$35 copay for 30 
days' supply, $105 
copay for 90-day 
supply 

2Preauthorization may be required. 
3Tier 2 and Tier 3 : If a generic is available and you choose to buy the brand-name medication, you will pay the generic copay plus the cost difference between the brand-
name and the generic medication. 
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Programs for a healthy life 

Participants can: 
• Get support for managing chronic conditions like

diabetes, heart failure, coronary artery disease
(CAD), asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary
disease (COPD).

• Enroll in health coaching programs for physical
activity, stress, nutrition, weight management and
tobacco cessation.

• Get clinical support making informed choices about
treatment options or services related to coronary
disease, chronic back pain, hip or knee replacement,
benign prostate disease, prostate and breast cancer,
benign uterine condition, endometriosis and fibroids.

• Enroll in one of two online weight management
programs, Naturally Slim and Real Appeal. Both
programs feature interactive components and user-
friendly resources.

Online health and wellness tools 
Go to healthselectoftexas.com and click the Log In 
button to go to your personal Blue Access for Members 
account. On Blue Access for Members, you can do any 
or all of the following to help improve or maintain your 
healthy habits: 

• Take the online health assessment to identify your
personal health needs and learn healthy habits. Then
take your personal health report to your PCP.

• Use wellness trackers to help you stay on target
with your goals. Trackers are available for stress
management, tobacco usage, nutrition and more.

• Sync your fitness device such as a Fitbit or Jawbone
and see activity minutes, miles traveled and calories
burned on the dashboard.

• Learn about our wellness incentive program called
BluePoints and begin earning points by engaging in
healthy activities to purchase merchandise from the
online shopping mall.

• Use interactive tools like the symptom checker.

• Get telephone coaching support.

• Download mobile apps like the BCBSTX app, Centered
and AlwaysOn.

• View your and your family’s claims history.

• Chat with a Personal Health Assistant.

Jennica Preston 
Benefits Coordinator 
Seeing results with 
Real Appeal 
When Jennica Preston joined 
Real Appeal, she wanted 
to lose the weight she had 
gained while pregnant with 
her now 10-year-old son. 
Preston, a human resources 
specialist at the Railroad 

Commission of Texas (RRC), wasn’t happy with the 
woman she saw in her mirror. 

“I’d always been petite and small,” says Preston, who 
was enthusiastic about the Real Appeal approach from 
the beginning. “Real Appeal motivated me to make the 
right choices,” she said. “Right off the bat, I went cold 
turkey and stopped eating fast food and sodas. I started 
using my husband’s workout equipment to get exercise at 
home. A few times each week, I walked the twelve flights 
of stairs to my office.” 

Preston’s commitment paid off. In less than six months, 
she lost 32 pounds. Today, she is 64 pounds lighter and 
delighted with the results of her lifestyle change. “I’m 
thrilled to be getting back to the person I really am.” 

Preston is also eager to help other GBP members as they 
seek to become healthier—and happier. She recently agreed 
to become the new wellness coordinator at the Texas RRC 
and is excited to “have an opportunity to help my colleagues 
by sharing the benefits of getting and staying fit.” 

Health and wellness discounts 
Save money on health and wellness products and 
services from top retailers that are not covered by 
insurance. There are no claims to file and no referrals or 
prior authorizations required. Visit healthselectoftexas. 
com and click Health and Wellness/Incentives, then click 
Blue 365. 

http://healthselectoftexas.com
http://healthselectoftexas.com
http://healthselectoftexas.com
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The Texas 
Employees Group 
Benefits Program 
offers a full menu 
of scientifically 
based health 
and wellness 
programs for state 
employees, retirees 
and their families: 

• Health assessments

• Diabetes management

• Exercise

• Heart health

• Nutrition

• Tobacco cessation

• Weight management

• Stress management

• Disease management

• Healthy pregnancy

Get physical! 
Did you know that even moderate 
exercise helps prevent or delay 
disease and disabilities? Be sure 
to warm up before exercising. 
Stretch your muscles slowly. Try 
a little slow walking and light arm 
pumping. When doing endurance 
activities that make you sweat, 
drink plenty of liquids, especially 
water or drinks that contain 
electrolytes. Avoid holding your 
breath while exercising. 
Source: www.seniors.gov 

members.cfhp.com ers.swhp.org  

• Disease management programs for those with chronic conditions

• Online health management and medical information resources

• Discounts on gyms, massage therapy, acupuncture and vitamins

• Coaching for weight loss, nutrition, smoking cessation and stress

• 24-hour nurse lines

• Vision and hearing discounts

To find out more about what your health plan offers, go to your plan’s 
website. 

"AMP" up your health 
Get to know your health risks to improve your overall health. AMP is an ERS 
wellness initiative that encourages you to Assess your health through online 
assessments, Manage your weight and take steps to Prevent potential issues 
through preventive care. 

https://ers.swhp.org
https://members.cfhp.com
www.seniors.gov
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 When do my insurance benefits start? 
First day of employment 
Coverage for your optional benefits—dental, vision, 
optional life insurance elections 1 and 2, dependent life, 
AD&D and TIPP disability insurance—could begin right 
away if you enroll on your first day. 

First of the month following your date of hire 
If you don’t enroll in optional benefits on your first day, but 
within 31 days of your hire date, coverage begins on the 
first day of the month after you added the coverage. 

Important note: For optional life insurance elections 3 
and 4, coverage begins when you are approved through 
evidence of insurability (EOI). Learn more about EOI on 
page 26. 

First of the month after 60 days 
of employment 
Health insurance coverage, prescription drug coverage 
and, if you elect it, a TexFlex health care or limited-
purpose FSA become active on the first day of the 
month following your 60th day of employment. If your 
60th day of employment falls on the first of the month, 
the coverage begins on that day. For example, if you 
are hired on March 2, your 60th day will be May 1. 
Your health coverage, prescription drug coverage and/ 
or TexFlex health care or limited-purpose FSA become 
active on May 1—you don’t have to wait until June 1. 

This waiting period does not apply to your medical 
coverage, prescription drug coverage and TexFlex health 
care or limited-purpose FSA if you: 

• transferred from one GBP agency or higher education 
institution to another GBP agency or institution without 
a break in GBP health coverage, 

• transferred from the University of Texas or Texas A&M 
University system without a break in health coverage, 

• are a return-to-work retiree enrolled in GBP health 
coverage as a retiree, 

• are enrolled in GBP health coverage as a dependent 
on the date of hire or rehire, 

• are enrolled in GBP health coverage in accordance 
with the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation 
Act of 1985 (COBRA) on the date of hire or rehire or 

• were rehired on or after September 1, 2015 and 
returned to employment at the same state agency 
within 90 days of leaving active military duty 

If you are in one of the categories above, please notify your 
HR department within 31 days to start receiving your health 
benefits. For those starting mid-month, coverage under your 
new employer begins the first of the next month. 

If you do not have a waiting period, you will have 31 
days to make health coverage changes. Those changes 
will begin the first day of the next month. However, if 
you transferred as an employee from one GBP entity to 
another with no break in service, start your job on the first 
day of the month and change your health coverage that 
day, the change takes place immediately. 

If you enroll in a dependent care FSA on your hire date, 
your enrollment begins on that day. If you enroll because 
of a qualifying life event, your coverage begins the first of 
the following month. For example, if you get married on 
October 4 and enroll in a dependent care account, your 
enrollment would begin on November 1. Your November 
contribution will be deducted from your December 
paycheck and be available for use once it is deposited 
into your account. 

Commuter spending account (CSA) enrollment 
and election changes can be made at any time. Your 
enrollment or change begins the first of the month 
following your next pay period. For example, if you enroll 
on January 31, your next pay period is February and your 
enrollment begins on March 1. 
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State of Texas 

Dental Choice 

Dental insurance 

For an additional premium, you may enroll in one of the following two dental plans. 

You must enroll in a dental plan before you can add dependents, and your dependents must be enrolled in 
the same plan as you. 

Go online 
Find a list of providers for the State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM or DeltaCare USA DMHO at  
https://www.ERSdentalplans.com or by calling Delta Dental, toll-free, at (888) 818-7925 (TTY: 
711), Monday – Friday from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. CT 

State of Texas Dental 
Choice is a preferred 
provider organization 
(PPO) dental insurance 
plan. You can see any 
dentist you want, but you 
will pay less if you go to a 
dentist in one of the two 
Delta Dental networks: 

• Delta Dental PPO

• Delta Premier

“Smart” benefits 

To keep costs low, active employees who sign up  
for GBP dental insurance will not get an ID card  
from the plan–– and participating Delta dentists  
should not require them.  

Instead, you can download a digital card to your  
smartphone through the Delta Dental app. If you  
don’t have a smartphone, you can download and  
print your information from www.ERSdentalplans. 
com or call Delta Dental toll-free at (888) 818-7925
(TTY: 711) and they will mail a paper copy to you. 

 

Note: Covered dependents cannot access the  
app, and their names are not listed on the card.  
A dependent can verify coverage with a provider  
by giving either their name or the GBP member’s  
name and plan ID number. 

Check the Discount  
Purchase Program for  
dental discounts 

The Discount Purchase  
Program, administered by  
Beneplace, offers dental  
discount programs and  
discounted dental services.  
You can view them at  
https://www.beneplace. 
com/discountprogramers/. 
(To access discounts, you  
will need to register using  
your email address.) 

Dentists of both the Delta Premier and Delta Dental PPO are in-network providers. You will get the same coverage in 
either network, but you may pay less for covered services in the Delta Dental PPO network. Delta Premier dentists can 
charge higher rates for the same services, which means your costs might be higher with those dentists. 

Benefits are available in the United States, Canada and Mexico, if you live in the United States. 

DeltaCare USA is a dental health maintenance organization (DHMO) dental 
insurance plan. 

• Coverage applies only to dentists in the Texas service area. Before you enroll,
make sure there is a DHMO network dentist in your area who is accepting new
patients. For a list of providers, visit https://www.ERSdentalplans.com or call at
(888) 818-7925 (TTY: 711).

• You must choose a primary care dentist (PCD) from a list of approved providers.
You and your enrolled dependents can choose different PCDs.

• Services from participating specialty dentists cost 25% less than the dentists’
usual charge.

https://www.ERSdentalplans.com
https://www.ERSdentalplans.com
https://www.beneplace.com/discountprogramers/
https://www.beneplace.com/discountprogramers/
www.ERSdentalplans


 

 

 
 
 

 

  

 
 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
     

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

  

Dental plans comparison chart 
DeltaCare USA DHMO 

(Services from participating 
PCDs only) 

State of Texas Dental Choice Plan PPO 
Administered by Delta Dental 

Dentists 

You must select a primary care 
dentist (PCD). 
NOTE: Not all participating dentists 
accept new patients. Dentists are 
not required to stay on the plan for 
the entire year. 

In-network / participating dentist Out-of-network / non-participating dentist1 

Deductibles None 
Preventive: Individual-$0; Family-$0 
Combined Basic/Major: Individual-$50; Family-$150 
Orthodontic services: no deductible 

Preventive: Individual-$50; Family-$150 
Combined Basic/Major: Individual-$100; Family-$300 
Orthodontic services: no deductible 

Copays/ 
coinsurance 

PCD: Copays vary according 
to service and are listed in the 
“Schedule of Dental Benefits” 
booklet. 
Specialty dentistry: 75% of the 
dentist’s usual and customary fee. 
DHMO pays nothing2 

Preventive and Diagnostic Services: No charge. 
Basic Services: 10% coinsurance after meeting the 
Basic Services deductible. 
Major Services: 50% coinsurance after meeting the 
Major Services deductible. 
There is no charge for anything over the allowed 
amount. 
Once the Maximum Calendar Year Benefit is reached, 
the participant pays 60% until January 1. 

Preventive and Diagnostic Services: 10% coinsurance 
after meeting the Preventive and Diagnostic deductible. 
Basic Services: 30% coinsurance after meeting the 
Basic Services deductible. 
Major Services: 60% coinsurance after meeting the 
Major Services deductible. 
Participants may be required to pay the difference 
between the allowed amount and billed charges. 
Once the Maximum Calendar Year Benefit is reached, 
the participant pays 100% until January 13. 

Maximum 
calendar year 
benefits 

Unlimited $2,000 per covered individual 
(includes orthodontic extractions) 

$2,000 per covered individual 
(includes orthodontic extractions) 

Maximum 
lifetime 
benefit 

Unlimited $2,000 per covered individual for orthodontic services $2,000 per covered individual for orthodontic services 

Average cost 
of cleaning / 
oral exams 

Vary according to service and are 
listed in the “Schedule of Dental 
Benefits” booklet. 
Up to two cleaning/oral exams per 
calendar year allowed. 

No charge. 
Up to two cleaning/oral exams per calendar year 
allowed. 

10% of the allowed amount after deductible is met. 
Up to two cleaning/oral exams per calendar year 
allowed. 

Orthodontic 
coverage 

Orthodontic services performed 
by a general dentist listed in the 
directory with an “0” treatment 
code: 
child - $1,800; 
adult- $2,100. 
Orthodontic services performed 
by specialist: 75% of the usual 
fee. DHMO pays nothing. 

50% of the allowed amount. 
50% of the allowed amount. 
Participants may be required to pay the difference 
between the allowed amount and billed charges. 

*In the State of Texas Dental Choice Plan PPO, deductibles and annual maximums are per calendar year. Non-participating dentists can bill for charges above the amount covered 
by Delta Dental. Visit a participating dentist to ensure you do not have to pay additional charges. 
NOTE: This comparison chart is a summary of the benefits offered by the two dental insurance plans. See the plan booklet for actual coverage and limitations. Before starting 
treatment, discuss your treatment plan and all charges with your dentist. 

24 | ERS | 2021 New Employee Benefits Guide State agency employees 



2021 New Employee Benefits Guide | ERS | 25 State agency employees   

    
   

 

  

 

Vision Plan 
Your health insurance plan covers some vision and eye health services, including an 
annual eye exam and treatment for diseases of the eye. (See the chart below.) 

With the exception of the Community First Health Plans HMO, GBP health plans do 
not cover the cost of eyeglasses or contact lenses. If you need that kind of coverage, 
you and your eligible dependents can enroll in State of Texas VisionSM for an additional 
monthly premium. 

For a set copay amount, State of Texas Vision (administered by Superior Vision 
Services) covers an eye exam, contact lens fitting and other eyewear options (such 
as ultraviolet coating). The plan includes an allowance for eyeglass frames or contact 
lenses, as well as discounts for LASIK. For a complete list of plan benefits and a list of 
providers, visit https://www.stateoftexasvision.com. 

Vision coverage comparison chart, in-network services 
Listed benefits are available for the plan year period, unless indicated. Benefits differ for out-of-network providers and in 
the HealthSelect Secondary (Medicare) plan. See your health plan materials for details 

State of Texas 
Vision 

HealthSelect 
of Texas 

Consumer 
Directed 

HealthSelect 

Community 
First HMO 

Scott and 
White Care 

Plans 

Routine eye exam $15 copay $40 copay1 
20% coinsurance 
after deductible 

is met 

$40 copay at any 
in-network doctor $40 copay 

Frames $150 retail 
allowance Not covered Not covered $125 retail 

allowance1 Not covered 

Standard contact lens fitting $25 copay Not covered Not covered $125 allowance2 Not covered 

Specialty contact lens fitting $35 copay Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Single-vision lenses $10 copay Not covered Not covered 100% covered Not covered 

Bifocal lenses $15 copay Not covered Not covered 100% covered Not covered 

Trifocal lenses $20 copay Not covered Not covered 100% covered Not covered 

Progressives $70 copay Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Polycarbonate $50 copay Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Scratch coat (factory, single sided) $10 copay Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Ultraviolet coating $10 copay Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Tint $10 copay Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Standard anti-reflective coating $40 copay Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Contact lenses2 $200 allowance Not covered Not covered $125 allowance Not covered 

1Cost savings when using OptiCare vision providers. Frame discounts are not available if the frame manufacturer prohibits the discount. 
2Contact lenses are in lieu of the benefit for eyeglass lenses and frames benefits. 
All costs and allowances are retail; you are responsible for any charges in excess of the retail allowances. 

Note: Besides the eye exam, any additional vision offerings through the health plans are value-added benefits. ERS does not guarantee the length of time that a specific 
value-added product will be offered.) 

https://www.stateoftexasvision.com
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Optional life and voluntary AD&D insurance 

Optional Term Life Insurance 
Your health coverage through ERS includes $5,000 of 
Basic Term Life Insurance and $5,000 of Accidental 
Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) coverage at no cost to 
you. You can purchase additional life insurance coverage 
in increments based on your annual salary. Optional 
Term Life Insurance, in addition to the Basic Term Life 
Insurance benefit included with your health coverage, is 
insured by Securian. 

If you choose Optional Term Life Election 1 or 2 (one or 
two times your annual salary) during your first 31 days of 
employment, you will not have to apply through evidence 
of insurability (EOI). If you do not sign up as a new 
employee, you can apply when you have a qualifying life 
event or during Summer Enrollment, but you will have to 
apply through EOI and coverage is not guaranteed. 

You can apply for Optional Term Life Election 3 or 4 
(three or four times your annual salary) up to $400,000. 
You will have to apply through EOI, a process that requires 
you to provide information about your health. Coverage 
is not guaranteed; you may not be approved for benefits 
based on the information included in your EOI. 

Each Optional Term Life election provides an equal 
amount of additional Accidental Death & Dismemberment 
(AD&D) coverage. 

Securian’s website for GBP members can help you decide 
how much life insurance coverage you might need: 
https://www.securian.com/content/securian/en/ 
insights-tools/life-insurance-needs-calculator. 

Premiums and coverage amounts for each plan year 
(September 1 – August 31) will be based on the salary 
reported to ERS on September 1 of that plan year. Your 
monthly premiums for Optional Term Life Insurance will 
depend on your age, salary and level of coverage each plan 
year. To calculate your premium, see page 41 of this guide. 

Dependent Term Life Insurance 
For an additional premium, you can enroll your eligible 
dependents in term life insurance. The plan includes 
$5,000 term life with $5,000 AD&D for each covered 
dependent, for a monthly premium of just a few dollars. 
You will get the life insurance benefit when your covered 
dependents die. You will get the AD&D benefit when they 
die or are injured in an accident. One monthly premium 
covers all your eligible dependents, but all eligible 
dependents must be named under the coverage. 

If you do not sign up as a new employee, you can apply 
for this insurance when you have a qualifying life event 
(QLE) or during Summer Enrollment, but you will have to 
supply EOI and coverage is not guaranteed. You can add 
a newly eligible dependent such as new spouse within 31 
days after getting married or enroll a newborn child within 
31 days of birth in Dependent Term Life Insurance without 
supplying EOI. 

Designate your beneficiaries 
Although you aren’t required to do so in your 
first month, it’s a good idea to designate your 
beneficiaries for your State of Texas Retirement 
account, life insurance policy and Texa$aver 
account(s) as soon as you can. 

You can find instructions on how to designate your 
beneficiaries for each at https://www.ers.texas. 
gov/About-ERS/Update-Your-Beneficiaries. 

First 31 days: No questions 
If you want additional life insurance coverage and disability insurance, now is the best time to sign up because 
you will not have to provide evidence of insurability (EOI) for Optional Term Life Election 1 or 2, or for short-term 
or long-term disability insurance. EOI is an application process during which you must provide information about 
your or your dependents’ health. Don’t miss your 31-day window of opportunity! If you wait, you run the risk of not 
qualifying for these benefits based on EOI results. 

https://www.securian.com/content/securian/en/insights-tools/life-insurance-needs-calculator
https://www.securian.com/content/securian/en/insights-tools/life-insurance-needs-calculator
https://www.securian.com/content/securian/en/insights-tools/life-insurance-needs-calculator
https://www.ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Update-Your-Beneficiaries
https://www.ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Update-Your-Beneficiaries


2021 New Employee Benefits Guide | ERS | 27 State agency employees   

 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 

Voluntary AD&D coverage can 
provide additional financial support 
when there is an accidental injury 
or death. You can choose insurance 
in increments of $5,000, starting at 
$10,000 up to $200,000. You will 
not have to provide EOI for AD&D 
Insurance. Securian insures AD&D 
insurance benefits. 
You can sign up for coverage for 
yourself only, or for yourself and 
your eligible dependents. 

Coverage includes the following: 

• If you die as the direct result of an accidental bodily injury, your 
beneficiaries will receive the full amount of your coverage. 

• Enrolled family members are covered at partial benefit levels. Your 
spouse is covered at 50% of your enrolled amount. Eligible children 
are covered at a lower percentage, which is reduced if your spouse is 
alive at the time of your child’s death. 

• If you have an accident and suffer any of the covered injuries, such as 
loss of a hand, a foot or sight in one or both eyes, you will receive a 
percentage of the full amount of your coverage. 

• If an eligible family member loses a hand, a foot, or sight of one or 
both eyes in an accident, you receive a percentage of the benefit if 
you have coverage for that family member. 

You can update your beneficiaries at any time. Go to https://www.ers.texas.gov/Beneficiary-
Designation for step-by-step instructions. 

Disability insurance 
The Texas Income Protection PlanSM (TIPP) provides you 
with money to help pay your bills if an accident or other 
health-related condition makes it impossible for you to work. 

• Short-term disability insurance provides a maximum 
benefit of 66% of your monthly salary (up to $10,000) 
or $6,600 monthly, whichever is less, for up to five 
months (a maximum of 150 days). For example, if your 
monthly salary is $4,000, the highest amount you’ll get 
for short-term disability is $2,640 per month. 

• Long-term disability insurance provides a maximum 
benefit of 60% of your monthly salary (with a cap of 
$6,000 per month for those making more than $10,000 
monthly). For example, if your salary is $4,000 per 
month, your monthly long-term disability payment 
would be $2,400. Benefits are paid until you return 
to work, reach full Social Security retirement age or 
are no longer considered disabled under the plan. 
If you become disabled at 69 or older, benefits are 
payable for up to 12 months. (Note: For some mental 
diseases and disorders, the maximum benefit period 
for disability is two years.) 

Pre-existing conditions are subject to certain exclusions. 

You must use all of your sick leave (including extended 
sick leave, donated sick leave and sick leave pool) or 
complete a waiting period (30 days for short-term, 180 
days for long-term), whichever option is longest, before 
disability payments will be paid. You are not required to 
use your vacation time. 

If you are eligible for Workers’ Compensation payments 
and/or State of Texas Disability Retirement, your long-term 
disability payments may be reduced. The minimum benefit 
is 10% of your monthly salary. 

TIPP coverage is not available for family members. 

Please review the plan documents, including the User’s 
Guide (https://reedgrouptipp.com/forms-users-guide. 
html), before applying for TIPP disability insurance. 

https://www.ers.texas.gov/Beneficiary-Designation
https://reedgrouptipp.com/forms-users-guide.html
https://reedgrouptipp.com/forms-users-guide.html
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Beneficiary-Designation
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TIPP coverage overview 
Short-term Disability Coverage Long-term Disability Coverage 

Monthly benefits 66% of your monthly salary, up to $10,000 60% of your monthly salary, up to $10,000 

When do benefits start? 

After a waiting period of 30 consecutive days or 
after you’ve used all your sick leave (whichever is 
longer); sick leave can be used during the 30-day 
waiting period 

After a waiting period of 180 consecutive days or 
after you’ve used all your sick leave (whichever is 
longer); sick leave can be used during the 180-day 
waiting period 

How long are benefits
paid? 

Up to 150 days after the completion of your 
waiting period 

Until you are able to return to work or until you 
reach your Maximum Benefits Period (based on 
the age you become disabled) or based on the 
condition causing your disability 

Note: TIPP benefits are reduced if you get other disability payments. The minimum benefit is 10% of your monthly salary. 

TIPP disability insurance coverage is administered by ReedGroup. 

If you do not sign up as a new employee, you can apply for this insurance when you have a qualifying life event (QLE) or 
during Summer Enrollment, but you will have to supply EOI and coverage is not guaranteed. EOI for short-term and long-
term disability coverage is managed by Guardian Life Insurance. 

Thomas Barker-White 
Statewide intake supervisor 
For more than 20 years, GBP participant Thomas Barker-
White has worked for the Texas Department of Family 
and Protective Services (DFPS), currently as a statewide 
intake supervisor overseeing a staff of nine. 

Barker-White and his wife, Lutishia, a former state 
employee, value their ERS-administered health and 
retirement benefits. 

They set aside money for retirement through Texa$aver to 
prepare for their future. They believe it is a good benefit 
for employees who don’t trust their own judgment with 
investments. 

But five years ago, the most important benefit became 
short-term and long-term disability insurance. 

In 2011, Lutishia became disabled due to arthritis and 
related injuries. Her disability insurance payments made 
up for a portion of the income she lost when she could no 
longer work. 

As a result, the couple was able to manage their finances 
without any substantial changes. 

Having both short-term and long-term disability insurance 
made a huge difference by providing the financial support 
the couple needed when one of them could no longer 
work, says Barker-White. 

“I know people who work in the private sector who do not 
have access to disability insurance through their employer. 
They can buy it on their own, but the premium is not as 
reasonable as what we have as state employees.” 

Barker-White appreciates that the state covers the full cost 
of the employee’s health insurance premium. It’s another 
valuable benefit that makes working for the state attractive, 
he says. 

“Having good insurance coverage is so important. You may 
never need it (and I hope you don’t), but if you do, you are 
probably REALLY going to need it. Life can come at you 
quick, so it’s best to cover all your bases.” 
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Participating in one or more of the TexFlexSM flexible 
spending accounts (FSAs) or commuter spending 
accounts (CSAs) allows you to set aside pre-tax dollars 
from your paycheck to cover eligible out-of-pocket health 
care, dependent care and/or commuting expenses. Your 
TexFlex contribution is automatically withdrawn from your 
paycheck and deposited in your account each month. 
Before you enroll, you may want to use the tools in the 
Program Resources section of the TexFlex website. 

Save on taxes 
The benefit of TexFlex accounts is the ability save on 
taxes. Contributions to an FSA are deducted before you 
pay income taxes, lowering your taxable income. The 
federal Internal Revenue Service (IRS) regulates FSAs 
and CSAs. The IRS says what you can spend FSA and 
CSA funds on and sets deadlines for when you must use 
the money in your FSAs. If you don’t spend your FSA 
money by those deadlines, you could lose that money. If 
you are considering enrolling, you may want to use the 
contribution worksheet posted at TexFlexERS.com to 
help you decide how much you’d like to contribute. 

Active employees may be eligible to enroll in more than 
one TexFlex account at a time. See the following charts 
for rules that apply to each type of account. 

Before you enroll, you may want to use the tools in the 
Program Resources section of the TexFlex website 
(www.texflexers.com) to figure out how much to 
contribute to each account. 

Summer Enrollment is the only time you can change the 
amount you contribute to your TexFlex FSA(s), unless you 
have a qualifying life event during the plan year. If you 
do not make a change during Summer Enrollment, your 
annual contributions will stay the same in the next plan 
year. You can make changes to your CSA(s) any time 
during the year. 

Leftover TexFlex dollars? 
You can carry over unused funds of $25 up to $550 in 
a health care or limited-purpose FSA from Plan Year 
2021 to Plan Year 2022. You will lose any funds over 
$550 if you do not spend them by the end of the plan 
year on August 31. You cannot carry over any funds in 
a dependent care FSA, but you have extra time to use 
those funds, called the grace period. The grace period 
allows you 2½ more months (after the plan year ends on 
August 31) to use any leftover money in that account. 
See the following chart for more details on carryovers 
and the grace period. 

If you enroll in Consumer Directed HealthSelect, you cannot enroll in a health care FSA. But you can enroll 
in a limited-purpose FSA. You can use the limited-purpose FSA for eligible out-of-pocket dental and vision 
expenses only. General health care expenses that are eligible under a health care FSA–such as doctor 
visits and prescription medicines–are NOT eligible under a limited-purpose FSA. 

Visit https://texflex.spendingaccounts.info/downloads/Limited-FSA-Fact-Sheet.pdf for more information. 

How to pay with TexFlex 
After you enroll in a TexFlex commuter, health care or 
limited-purpose FSA, you will get a debit card in the 
mail that you can use to pay eligible expenses–such 
as a prescription, a dentist visit or bus fare. If you have 
a TexFlex dependent care account, you must submit a 
claim for reimbursement after the eligible services have 
been provided. You cannot use a TexFlex debit card to 
pay dependent care expenses. 
For the health care FSA, limited-purpose FSA and 
parking CSA, you can choose not to use the debit card 
and instead submit a claim for reimbursement online, 
or by mail or fax. You must use the debit card for transit 
CSA expenses. 

If you submit a claim for reimbursement online or by 
mail or fax, TexFlex will mail a check to you. For quicker 
reimbursement, set up a direct deposit for funds to be 
deposited directly into your bank account within a few days. 

Keep your receipts 
Because TexFlex accounts are tax-free, the IRS requires 
all purchases with TexFlex funds to be validated. 
WageWorks, the TexFlex plan administrator, may ask 
you to submit proof that you used your TexFlex funds 
to pay for eligible expenses. Please remember to SAVE 
YOUR RECEIPTS, regardless of how you pay. If you 
cannot provide a receipt for an eligible purchase with 
your TexFlex debit card, WageWorks might ask you to 
reimburse your account for the funds. 

https://texflex.spendingaccounts.info/downloads/Limited-FSA-Fact-Sheet.pdf
www.texflexers.com
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Flexible spending accounts charts 
Health and dependent care 

Health care FSA 
Limited-purpose FSA 

(Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
participants only) 

Dependent care FSA 

Eligible Expenses  
See complete list at  
www.texflexers.com 

• Copays, coinsurance and
other medically necessary
charges not covered by
insurance

• Prescription drug deductible
and copays

Vision and dental expenses not 
covered by insurance 

• Day care, after-school care and summer
day camp for dependent children under
age 13

• Adult “day” care for qualifying individuals

Maximum 
contribution 

$2,750 per participant, 
per plan year 

$2,750 per participant, 
per plan year $5,000 per household, per plan year 

Funds availability* 

If you do not have a health coverage waiting period, you can 
enroll in a health care and/or limited-purpose FSA during your 
first 31 days of hire. 

If you have a health coverage waiting period, you can enroll in a 
health care and/or limited-purpose FSA within your first 60 days 
of hire. Your TexFlex health care and/or limited-purpose FSA 
enrollment will begin on the first day of the month following your 
60th day of employment. If the 60th day of employment falls on 
the first of the month, your enrollment begins on that day. 

You can enroll in the dependent care account 
as a new employee during your first 31 days 
of hire. Funds are available for reimbursement 
after contributions are made into your account. 
You can submit claims for dependent care 
services that have been rendered. Claims with 
future dates of services are ineligible. 

Debit card (no fee) Yes Yes No 

Carryover of 
funds or grace 
period 

Carry over up to $550 after 
Aug. 31, 2021 

Any remaining funds over  
$550 are forfeited. 

Carry over up to $550 after 
Aug. 31, 2021 

Any remaining funds over  
$550 are forfeited. 

Grace period (extra time to incur expenses 
under FY21 account) from Sept. 1, 2021 to 
Nov. 15, 2021 

Any remaining funds over $550  
are forfeited. 

Runout period 
Submit claims incurred 
between Sept. 1, 2020 and 
Aug. 31, 2021 by Dec. 31, 2021 

Submit claims incurred between 
Sept. 1, 2020 and Aug. 31, 
2021 by Dec. 31, 2021 

Submit claims incurred between Sept. 1, 2020 
and Nov. 15, 2021 by Dec. 31, 2021 

*If you are a transfer with no break in your GBP health coverage, your FSA is effective immediately. 

Serena Lopez
Information specialist 
As a benefits educator at ERS, GBP participant Serena Lopez helps 
active employees and retirees understand which benefits options are 
right for them. For this mother of three, TexFlex makes sense. 

“With three growing boys, I know I’m going to spend money on health 
and dependent care throughout the year,” she says. “TexFlex allows 
me to put aside money tax-free for those expenses and lowers my 
taxable income.” 

“My kids seem to get sick like clockwork in November, just when 
I’m starting to make my holiday shopping list. That’s when I’m glad 
I have my TexFlex health care flexible spending account to pay for 
doctor visits and medicine. By setting aside a certain amount from my 
paycheck each month, I know the money will be there when I need it.” 

“With the dependent care flexible spending account, I don’t have to wait 
for the tax benefit at the end of the year. I can set aside up to $5,000 
pre-tax each year, which is $2,000 more than the federal child care credit. 
That means more money in your pocket!” 

www.textflexers.com
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Commuter 
Transit Parking 

Eligible Expenses 
See complete list at   
www.texflexers.com 

Eligible mass transit or vanpool expenses 
associated with travel to and from work, 
including bus, train or subway. 

Eligible parking expenses either near your place 
of employment or at a location from which you 
commute to work via transit or vanpool. 

Maximum monthly contribution $270 per month $270 per month 

Funds availability 
CSA enrollment and election changes can be made at any time. Your enrollment or change begins 
the first of the month following your next pay period. For example, if you enroll on January 31, your 
next pay period is February and your enrollment begins on March 1. 

Debit card (no fee) Yes Yes 

Manual claims submission 
(online, fax or mail) 

No 

Participants must use the TexFlex debit card to 
pay for eligible transit expenses. The IRS does 
not allow for manual submission of transit-
related claims. 

Please check with your local transportation 
authority to ensure a debit card is an acceptable 
form of payment prior to enrollment. 

Yes 

Participants have 180 days from the date they 
incurred a parking expense to submit the claim to 
WageWorks. 

Carryover of funds 

Funds can be used as long as you are actively employed. 

Every month, any balance greater than $3 rolls over to the next month and is subject to the 
$3 monthly administrative fee. If you are enrolled in both parking and transit accounts, the $3 
administrative fee is only deducted from one account. Any amount less than $3 is forfeited. 

Participants in the GBP are also eligible for discounts on a variety of products 
and services offered through the Discount Purchase Program, administered 
by Beneplace. There are no fees or membership requirements. Visit https:// 
www.ers.texas.gov/Discount-Purchase-Program for more information. 

http://www.texflexers.com
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Discount-Purchase-Program
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Discount-Purchase-Program
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State of Texas Retirement 
As a state employee, you will contribute a portion of your  
salary each month into a State of  Texas Retirement account  
that ERS manages and invests for you.  Your contributions  
begin the month you start working for the state.  The State  
of Texas retirement program is a  401(a) defined benefit  
retirement plan. Defined benefit retirement plans are  
valuable benefits that few employers offer anymore.  

In a defined benefit plan, employees must contribute a 
percentage of their salary (currently 9.5%) to the ERS 
retirement fund. The state currently also contributes an 
amount equal to 9.5% of your salary. Your agency or 
institution currently contributes an additional 0.5% to the 
fund. (The Texas Legislature decides the percentage of 
salary each employee is required to contribute to the ERS 
Retirement Trust Fund.) 

Employees sometimes ask if they can opt out of or 
contribute less to their State of Texas Retirement. The 
answer is no. Defined benefit plans are designed with 
the understanding that all employees will participate and 
contribute a set amount. Employees cannot take out loans
and cannot transfer or withdraw money from the ERS 
retirement fund while they are employed by the state. 

 

If you leave state employment before you’re eligible to 
retire, you can keep your retirement contributions where 
they are or move them to another retirement account. You 
can also request a refund for the amount you contributed 
plus interest, minus taxes. You should consult a tax advisor 
to learn if you might face any tax penalty for withdrawing 
the funds before a certain age. 

Defined benefit plans are different than 401(k)s and many  
other workplace retirement plans because they pay a  
lifetime benefit after retirement. If you do not withdraw your  
funds, when you become eligible to retire you will get a  
monthly payment (called an annuity) for the rest of your life.  
(Plans like 401(k)s provide a benefit only until the account  
runs out of money.) Today, the average state retiree gets  
a lifetime monthly annuity payment of about $1,700. 

Your retirement eligibility and benefits depend on when  
you were hired, your years and months of service (service  
credit), and your highest average salary over the course  
of your state career. Your eligibility to retire also depends  
on your age, in years and months. If you are a part-time  
employee, a year of service counts the same as a year of  
service for a full-time employee. Retirement eligibility and  
benefits are different for law enforcement and custodial  
officers, elected state officials, district attorneys and judges. 

For information about your State of Texas Retirement, 
including annuity calculators, your minimum retirement age 
and retirement benefits, go to https://www. 
ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/ 
State-of-Texas-Retirement. 

Health insurance in retirement 
GBP retiree insurance is currently available to retirees 
with at least 10 years of service at a state agency or 
higher education institution participating in the GBP. A 
retiree who meets this requirement is eligible for GBP 
retiree health insurance benefits at age 65 or after 
meeting the Rule of 80. You meet the Rule of 80 when 
the sum of your age and service credit–in both months 
and years–equal or exceed 80. 

For retirees eligible for GBP health insurance, state 
contribution levels vary depending on years of 
service. For more information on health insurance in 
retirement, go to https://www.ers.texas.gov/Retirees/ 
Health-Benefits-for-retirees. 

As with all GBP benefits, health insurance for retirees 
is subject to change without notice. The Texas 
Legislature sets the level of funding for such benefits 
and has no continuing obligation to provide those 
benefits beyond each fiscal year. 

State of Texas Disability
Retirement for regular state
employees, certified peace
officers (CPOs) and custodial
officers (COs) 
If you become disabled, you may be eligible for 
retirement and insurance benefits sooner than your 
normal retirement age. The ERS Medical Board must 
certify that the disability is likely to be permanent and 
prevents you from continuing your state job or any 
other occupation offering comparable pay. ERS has two 
retirement eligibility plans for disability: nonoccupational 
and occupational. Occupational disability retirement 
applies to regular state employees, CPOs and COs 
who become injured or disabled due to a specific event* 
occurring on the job, have at least one month of ERS or 
creditable state service, and meet certain other criteria. 

If ERS approves your disability retirement, you are 
eligible for: 
• a monthly retirement payment based on your age

at retirement (reduced if you have nonoccupational
disability retirement) and

• retiree health insurance through the GBP.
*Injury must be solely from an extremely dangerous risk or severe
physical or mental trauma or disease uncommon to the public, or peculiar
and inherent in a dangerous duty arising from the nature and in the
course of the GBP member’s state employment.

https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/State-of-Texas-Retirement
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/State-of-Texas-Retirement
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/State-of-Texas-Retirement
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Retirees/Health-Benefits-for-retirees
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Retirees/Health-Benefits-for-retirees
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Jo Ann Norman 
Continued income ... and continued service 
For nearly 17 years, GBP member  Jo Ann Norman’s day 
job was to guard the women serving time in the Crain 
Unit in Gatesville, the state women’s prison. Although 
she retired in 1997, Norman continues to watch over and 
support the women who remain imprisoned at Gatesville. 
She has led Friday evening prayer services as a volunteer 
prison minister for close to 20 years. 

Some 50 to 100 inmates attend services at one of four 
different Gatesville units every Friday night. Women of 
different ages and backgrounds gather in the prison prayer 
room for two hours of prayer and fellowship. 

Her ministry has contributed to Norman’s own sense of 
self-worth, and she tries to build the same self-confidence 
in the women in her care. “I try to instill in them that they 
need to build lives on their own.” 

At age 81, Norman leads an independent and active life. In 
addition to her ministry, she provides sensitivity training for 
prison staff members who interact directly with Gatesville 
inmates. At home, she drives her own John Deere 
tractor to mow the three acres of grass on her property. 
“Somebody forgot to tell me I’m supposed to be old!” 

Norman says her ERS retirement annuity combined with 
Social Security have allowed her to live by herself and 
to avoid having to move in with her children. (She has 
four children, 10 or 11 grandchildren, and more great-
grandchildren than she can keep track of.) She has also 
been able to provide financial help when a grandchild was 
diagnosed with cancer. 

She herself has had knee surgery. The experience 
made her especially grateful for the health insurance 
and prescription drug coverage she receives as an ERS 
retiree. “I had one of the best knee surgeons in the state. 
The care I received was tremendous.” 

Norman acknowledges that, without the support of her ERS 
benefits, her rich and blessed life would not be possible. 

Service credit 
Military service credit 
After you have made your first full retirement 
contribution to ERS, you can purchase up to 60 months 
of your active duty U.S. military service without paying 
interest. If you wait to purchase military service after 
your first year of employment, you will be charged 10% 
interest for every year you wait. 

You must have at least five years of ERS service before 
you can use purchased military service to determine 
eligibility for service retirement or non-occupational 
disability retirement benefits. 

You cannot purchase active duty military service if 
you are eligible for military retirement based on 20 or 
more years of active military duty or if you received a 
dishonorable discharge from the military. 

Waiting period service credit 
State employees hired September 1, 2003 through 
August 31, 2015 contributed to the ERS retirement fund 
after they had been working for 90 days. If you started 
working for the state during this period, you can buy 
credits for this waiting period. 

Withdrawn (refunded) ERS 
service credit 
When you leave state employment and withdraw your 
ERS retirement account, you no longer have service 
credit for the time you worked. If you return to state 
employment, you may buy back withdrawn ERS 
service when at least six months have passed since 
the date of your withdrawal. 

If you are a non-contributing member of ERS --
meaning you have a retirement account balance with 
ERS, but are no longer employed by a state agency 
and are not getting a State of Texas Retirement annuity 
-- you may also buy back withdrawn ERS service. 

Please note: There are different retirement groups, 
based on hire date, with different eligibility rules and 
benefit levels. If your withdrawn ERS service is from 
before September 1, 2013, buying withdrawn service 
credit will not put you back in the ERS retirement group 
you were in before you withdrew the service. 
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Additional Service Credit (ASC) 
You can buy up to three years of Additional Service Credit 
if you: 
• are an active employee, 
• have purchased all other service credit available to 

you and 
• have at least 10 years of actual ERS service credit 

(not counting military service). 

The cost of ASC is based on actuarial factors such as 
your age, years of service and salary. It tends to be more 
expensive than withdrawn and military service.. 

You can purchase service credit: 
• with a lump-sum payment (check or money order), 
• through a rollover from your Texa$aver account that is 

not a Roth account and not the self-directed brokerage 
account provided by Charles Schwab & Co. Inc. or 

• from other fund sources such as individual retirement 
accounts (IRAs). 

Learn more about purchasing service credit by visiting 
https://www.ers.texas.gov Active-Employees/ 
Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-
Retirement. 

Service from other Texas retirement 
systems 
The following Texas retirement systems are part of the 
Proportionate Retirement Program (PRP): 
• City of Austin Retirement System 
• City of Austin Police Retirement System 
• El Paso City Employees’ Pension Fund 
• El Paso Firemen & Policemen’s Pension Fund 
• Employees Retirement System of Texas 
• Judicial Retirement System of Texas Plan 1 
• Judicial Retirement System of Texas Plan 2 
• Texas County and District Retirement System (TCDRS) 
• Texas Municipal Retirement System (TMRS) 
• Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS) 

As a state employee, you can purchase withdrawn 
service from any of these systems. 
You can combine service from two or more of these 
systems to become eligible for retirement. When you 
retire, you will receive a retirement payment from each 
system based on your service with each system. 
For example, if you have at least three years of ERS 
service credit, you can apply previous TRS service to 
become eligible for ERS retirement. 
Learn more about PRP by visiting https://www. 
ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-
Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/Proportionate-
Retirement-Program-(PRP). 

Three income sources for a financially 
secure retirement 
State employees contribute to the retirement fund 
while they work and earn a steady monthly benefit in 
retirement. It is only one part of a financially secure 
retirement. 
Because the average state retiree receives a monthly 
annuity of about $1,700, with no guaranteed cost-
of-living adjustments (COLAs), both federal Social 
Security and personal savings are key components of an 
employee’s retirement income security. ERS offers an 
option for personal retirement savings. 

https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/P
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/P
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/P
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/P
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State of Texas Social Security
Retirement 6.2% of pay 
9.5% of pay 

Personal Savings
1% of pay 

(auto-enrollment) or 
more to 401(k) or 457 

Retirement Preparation:
Member's Share of 

Responsibility 

Texa$averSM 401(k) / 457 Program 

Are you a direct transfer from another state agency? 
If so, you may participate in Texa$aver, but you will have to enroll in the program on your own—your contribution is 
not automatically deducted from your paycheck. 

Your monthly State of Texas Retirement annuity will be 
an important source of income during retirement, but 
it probably won’t replace your full salary as an active 
employee. In fact, for most retirees, their annuity is 
about half the salary they earned while working and 
opportunities for annuity increases like COLAs are 
very rare. That’s why it’s important for you to have 
other sources of retirement income, such as personal 
retirement savings. 

The Texa$aver 401(k) / 457 Program offers the chance 
to save for retirement through a variety of investment 
opportunities at lower-than-average fees. 

As a new state agency employee, you will 
automatically be enrolled in a Texa$aver 401(k) 
account, contributing 1% of your monthly salary to 
be invested in a target date fund closest to the year 
you turn 65. Contributions will be deducted from your 
paycheck automatically—before income taxes are 
taken out. This reduces your taxable income while 
helping you save for retirement. 

If you don’t want to participate in Texa$aver and don’t 
want money taken out of your first paycheck, you 
can cancel your auto-enrollment by calling Empower 
Retirement toll-free at (800) 634-5091 within 30 
days of employment and request a refund, which will 
process within 90 days. 

You can increase your contribution if you would like 
to save more. You can make other changes, including 
enrolling in a 457 account, stopping contributions or 
changing how your contributions are invested. You can 
make these changes at any time during the year—you 
do not have to wait for an enrollment period. 

You can keep your Texa$aver account even after you no 
longer work for the state, and Texa$aver can help you 
manage your retirement income. Because Texa$aver has 
lower fees than many other retirements savings plans, you 
could save money by keeping your Texa$aver account. 

Among the things you can do with your Texa$aver 
account are: 
• Purchase state service credit 

• Defer unused annual leave when you leave state 
employment (instead of taking a cash payout, to 
reduce taxes) 

• Consolidate and roll over money from other qualified 
IRAs or 401(k) or 457 accounts. 

• Roll over a payment from your State of Texas 
Retirement account, if you opt for a partial lump-sum 
payment upon retirement 

• Make periodic (monthly or quarterly) withdrawals* 

• Make partial withdrawals* 

• Withdraw your entire account at once.* 
*Withdrawals from a traditional 401(k) before age 59½ may be subject to a 
10% early distribution penalty tax, above what you will owe in income tax. 



 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 
 

 

 
 
 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

  
 

 

  

  

  

  

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

What is a target date fund? 
For many people, one of the hardest part of saving for 
retirement is knowing how best to invest their individual 
account, like a Texa$aver 401(k) or 457. With a target 
date fund, you get a professionally managed portfolio in 
a single investment option–with a mix of investments that 
changes based on your “target” retirement date. The mix of 
investments grows more conservative as you approach the 
target date you when you are expected to start withdrawing 
your money (generally assumed to be age 65). The principal 
value of the fund(s) is not guaranteed at any time, including 
at the time of the target date and/or withdrawal. 

Beginning the first month of your employment, 1% of your 
paycheck will automatically be invested in a LifePath 
Target Date Fund, but you can change your Texa$aver 
investment option at any time. 

The example below shows how, depending on your 
age, a $68 monthly contribution in a Texa$aver account 
until age 65 can grow into a higher monthly payment to 
yourself in retirement. 

Age at which you
start contributing

$68 monthly 

Gross monthly payment
from age 65 to 85, 

assuming investments yield 
6% rate of return 

Age 30 
($28,560 total 
investment) 

$694 
($166,560 total savings + 

investment earnings) 
Age 40 

($20,400 total 
investment) 

$338 
($81,120 total savings + 

investment earnings) 
Age 50 

($12,240 total 
investment) 

$142 
($34,080 total savings + 

investment earnings) 
Age 60 

($4,080 total 
investment) 

$34 
($8,160 total savings + 
investment earnings) 

Administrative fees for your 
Texa$aver account 
Administrative fees for new Texa$aver accounts are 
waived for six months. At the end of the waiver period, a 
monthly fee will be deducted from your account based on 
your account balance. 

Texa$aver 401(k) / 457 Program Administrative 

Account Balance Monthly Fee 
Per Participant, Per Account 

$1,000.00 or less $0.60 
$1,000.01 to $16,000.00 $2.05 
$16,000.01 to $32,000.00 $3.08 
$32,000.01 to $48,000.00 $4.19 
$48,000.01 to $64,000.00 $5.58 
$64,000.01 or more $6.99 

Rolling over funds from other retirement 
accounts to Texa$aver 
Do you have retirement savings accounts from other 
jobs? You can transfer–or “roll over”–money from a 
qualified prior eligible employer’s 401(k), 401(a), 403(b) 
or governmental 457 plan into your Texa$aver 401(k) 
or 457 account. You can also roll over money from 
an eligible individual retirement account (IRA). The 
Texa$aver 401(k) and 457 plans accept Roth rollovers 
from other qualified plans as well, but you cannot roll over 
Roth IRAs to Texa$aver. 

You should discuss rolling money from one account to 
another with your financial advisor/planner, considering 
any potential fees and/or limitation of investment options. 

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY. This is a hypothetical 
illustration intended to show possible retirement income. It is not 
intended as a projection or prediction of future investment results, nor 
is it intended as financial planning or investment advice. It assumes 
a 6% annual rate of return in both the accumulation and withdrawal 
phases. Assumes the reinvestment of earnings and that the payee 
lives 20 years in retirement. Rates of return may vary. Payments (also 
known as withdrawals or distributions) from a tax-deferred retirement 
plan may be taxable as ordinary income. The illustration does not 
take into account the income taxes on payments from a 401(k) or 
457 account, or any associated charges, expenses or fees. The 
hypothetical income shown would be reduced if these fees and/or 
taxes were deducted. 
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 Learn more about your
State of Texas benefits 
Our website: www.ers.texas.gov 
The ERS website has information and tools to help you 
make the best use of your benefits. Use the Search 
function to find detailed information on ERS insurance, 
retirement and related benefits. 

Monthly News About Your Benefits 
This e-newsletter provides information on available 
programs, wellness, health plans and other benefits. You 
can sign up to get this every month and other news by 
email at https://service.govdelivery.com/accounts/ 
TXERS/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXERS_45. 

Your annual Statement of 
Retirement Benefits 
After your birthday each year, ERS will send you 
a personalized statement that shows your earliest 
retirement date, retirement age and projected annuity. 
This statement provides important retirement planning 
information, including benefit estimates and vesting 
information. You should review it every year. If you are 
an ERS member, you can also get an estimate of your 
retirement annuity by signing in to your account at http:// 
www.ers.texas.gov/my-account-login. 

Your Texa$aver 
quarterly statement 
You will get a statement each quarter from Texa$aver, 
currently administered by Empower Retirement, detailing 
your Texa$aver account balance and investment choices. 

Your annual Personal Benefits 
Enrollment Statement 
Before Summer Enrollment every year, ERS will send you 
a personalized statement listing your current coverage, 
costs and choices for the next plan year. You will have 
the opportunity to make changes each year during 
Summer Enrollment. You should review this statement 
even if you do not think you will make any changes. 

Your benefits coordinator 
See your agency’s benefits coordinator or HR 
representative for help signing up for and understanding 
insurance benefits. 

Presentations and events 
ERS holds seminars, webinars, fairs and other events 
throughout the year. 

• Ask ERS webinar: At certain times throughout the
year, you can ask questions and get the latest news
from ERS.

• Ready, Set, Retire!: Conducted throughout the state
and as a webinar, this is a free 90-minute seminar
on ERS retirement and the Texa$aver 401(k) / 457
Program.

• Medicare Preparation: Conducted throughout the
state and as a webinar, this presentation helps those
approaching Medicare eligibility understand enrollment
and how Medicare works with state health insurance.

• Health and wellness: ERS hosts wellness events and
webinars that provide you with the tools you need to
take charge of your health.

To see a list of upcoming events or to register, go to 
http://www.ers.texas.gov/Event-Calendars/. 

ERS interactive voice 
response system 
For 24/7 access to automated information on your 
insurance and retirement benefits, call toll free 
(877) 275-4377.

Designate your beneficiaries 
It’s not required within your first month, but it’s a good 
idea to designate your beneficiaries for life insurance, 
your State of Texas Retirement account balance and 
Texa$aver account as soon as you can. 

• For life insurance and State of Texas Retirement,
log in to your ERS OnLine account. You will need to
provide your beneficiaries’ Social Security numbers,
dates of birth and mailing addresses.

• For Texa$aver, download a beneficiary designation
form from the website at https://texasaver.com.

You can find instructions on how to designate your 
beneficiaries for each type of account at https://ers. 
texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/ 
Update-Your-Beneficiaries. 
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Monthly Premiums 

PLAN YEAR 2021 RATES 
EMPLOYEES, RETIREES NOT ELIGIBLE FOR MEDICARE, 

SURVIVING DEPENDENTS AND COBRA 

September 1, 2020 - August 31, 2021 

NOTE: Rates for HealthSelectSM Medicare Advantage and KelseyCare Advantage Medicare health maintenance organization 
(MA HMO) also may change, but any rate changes for those plans would be effective January 1, 2021. Information on 
possible rate changes for those plans will be available in the fall. 

Full-time Employees and Retirees
Not Eligible for Medicare 
Health plan premiums are the same as or lower than in 
PY20. 

Premium* State Pays You Pay 

HealthSelect of Texas® 

You Only $ 624.82 $ 624.82 $ 0.00 

You + Spouse 1,339.90 982.36 357.54 

You + Children 1,103.58 864.20 239.38 

You + Family 1,818.66 1,221.74 596.92 

Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM** 

You Only $ 624.82 $ 624.82 $ 0.00 

You + Spouse 1,304.16 982.36 321.80 

You + Children 1,079.64 864.20 215.44 

You + Family 1,758.98 1,221.74 537.24 

Community First Health Plans 

You Only $ 549.62 $ 549.62 $ 0.00 

You + Spouse 1,178.30 863.96 314.34 

You + Children 970.54 760.08 210.46 

You + Family 1,599.22 1,074.42 524.80 

Scott and White Care Plans 

You Only $ 621.98 $ 621.98 $ 0.00 

You + Spouse 1,333.78 977.88 355.90 

You + Children 1098.54 860.26 238.28 

You + Family 1,810.34 1,216.16 594.18 
*Includes premium for Basic Term Life Insurance 
**The “State Pays” amount includes a monthly contribution to the
member’s Optum Bank health savings account (HSA). Please see 
the Consumer Directed HealthSelect HSA Contribution table on 
the next page. 

Part-time Employees, Graduate
Students/Teaching Assistants,
Post-doctoral and Adjunct Faculty

Premium* State Pays You Pay 

HealthSelect of Texas® 

You Only $ 624.41 $ 312.41 $ 312.00 

You + Spouse 1,339.49 491.18 848.31 

You + Children 1,103.17 432.10 671.07 

You + Family 1,818.25 

† 

Health plan premiums are the same as or lower than in 
PY20. 

610.87 1,207.38 

Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM** 

You Only $ 624.41 $ 312.41 $ 312.00 

You + Spouse 1,303.75 491.18 812.57 

You + Children 1,079.23 432.10 647.13 

You + Family 1,758.57 610.87 1,147.70 

Community First Health Plans 

You Only $ 549.26 $ 274.81 $ 274.45 

You + Spouse 1,177.94 431.98 745.96 

You + Children 970.18 380.04 590.14 

You + Family 1,598.86 537.21 1,061.65 

Scott and White Care Plans 

You Only $ 621.57 $ 310.99 $ 310.58 

You + Spouse 1,333.37 488.94 844.43 

You + Children 1,098.13 430.13 668.00 

You + Family 1,809.93 608.08 1,201.85 
*Includes premium for Basic Term Life Insurance 
**The “State Pays” amount includes a monthly contribution to the
member’s Optum Bank health savings account (HSA). Please see 
the Consumer Directed HealthSelect HSA Contribution table on 
the next page. 
†The state does not contribute to the cost of health insurance for 
adjunct faculty. 
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Consumer Directed HealthSelect Health Savings Account (HSA) Contribution 
State Pays 

You Only $ 45 monthly ($540 annually) 
You + Spouse 90 monthly ($1,080 annually) 
You + Children 90 monthly ($1,080 annually) 
You + Family 90 monthly ($1,080 annually) 

An HSA is a tax-free savings account for qualified health expenses. 
You can receive the “State Pays” HSA contribution if you are: 
• enrolled in Consumer Directed HealthSelect, 
• eligible for a portion of your health premium to be paid by the state and 
• not eligible for Medicare. 

Medicare-enrolled Dependents of Retirees Not Eligible for Medicare 
Full-time Benefits Part-time Benefits 
Through December 31, 2020 Through December 31, 2020 

Premium State Pays You Pay 
HealthSelectSM Medicare Advantage 
Spouse Only $ 509.70 $ 358.00 $ 151.70 
Children Only 391.40 239.70 151.70 
Spouse + Children 901.10 597.70 303.40 
KelseyCare Advantage MA HMO 
Spouse Only $ 254.24 $ 127.12 $ 127.12 
Children Only 254.24 127.12 127.12 
Spouse + Children 508.48 254.24 254.24 

Premium State Pays You Pay 
HealthSelectSM Medicare Advantage 
Spouse Only $ 406.55 $ 179.00 $ 227.55 
Children Only 347.40 119.85 227.55 
Spouse + Children 753.95 298.85 455.10 
KelseyCare Advantage MA HMO 
Spouse Only $ 254.24 $ 63.56 $ 190.68 
Children Only 254.24 63.56 190.68 
Spouse + Children 508.48 127.12 381.36 

Surviving Dependents 
HealthSelect 

of Texas® 
Consumer Directed 

HealthSelectSM 
Community First 

Health Plans 
Scott and White 

Care Plans 
Spouse Only $ 715.08 $ 679.34 $ 628.68 $ 711.80 
Children Only 478.76 454.82 420.92 476.56 
Spouse + Children 1,193.84 1,134.16 1,049.60 1,188.36 

COBRA 
HealthSelect 

of Texas® 
Consumer Directed 

HealthSelectSM 
Community First 

Health Plans 
Scott and White 

Care Plans 
You Only $ 634.22 $ 588.32 $ 557.61 $ 631.32 
You + Spouse 1,363.60 1,235.34 1,198.87 1,357.35 
You + Children 1,122.55 1,006.33 986.95 1,117.41 
You + Family 1,851.93 1,699.26 1,628.21 1,843.44 

COBRA Disability 
HealthSelect 

of Texas® 
Consumer Directed 

HealthSelectSM 
Community First 

Health Plans 
Scott and White 

Care Plans 
You Only $ 932.68 $ 865.18 $ 820.01 $ 928.41 
You + Spouse 2,005.29 1,816.68 1,763.04 1,996.10 
You + Children 1,650.81 1,479.90 1,451.40 1,643.25 
You + Family 2,723.43 2,498.91 2,394.43 2,710.94 
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Dental Insurance (no change from PY20) 
DeltaCare USA DHMO Employee/ 

Retiree COBRA COBRA Disability Surviving Dependents 

You Only $ 9.59 $ 9.78 $ 14.39 Spouse Only $ 9.59 
You + Spouse 19.18 19.56 28.77 Spouse + Children  23.02 
You + Children 23.02 23.48 34.53 Children Only  13.43 
You + Family 32.59 33.24 48.89 

State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM Employee/ 
Retiree COBRA COBRA Disability Surviving Dependents 

You Only $ 27.21 $ 27.75 $ 40.82 Spouse Only $ 27.21 
You + Spouse 54.42 55.51 81.63 Spouse + Children 65.30 
You + Children 65.30 66.61 97.95 Children Only 38.09 
You + Family 92.51 94.36 138.77 

State of Texas Vision (no change from PY20) 
Employee/ 

Retiree COBRA COBRA Disability Surviving Dependents 

You Only $ 5.12 $ 5.22 $ 7.68 Spouse Only $ 5.12 
You + Spouse 10.24 10.44 15.36 Spouse + Children 11.01 
You + Children 11.01 11.23 16.52 Children Only 5.89 
You + Family 16.13 16.45 24.20 

Tobacco-user premium 
If you and/or a family member enrolled in medical insurance is certified as a tobacco-user or has not certified as a non-
user, you will pay an additional tobacco-user premium of $30, $60 or $90 each month, depending on how many tobacco-
users or non-certified family members you cover. 

Tobacco-users of Any Age and Adults Who Fail to Certify Monthly Tobacco-user Premium 
Member or Spouse or Children* Only $30 
Member + Spouse or Member + Children* or Spouse + Children* $60 
Family (Member + Spouse + Children*) $90 

*The charge for a child is the same regardless of how many children in the household use tobacco or how many covered children age 
18 or over are not certified. 

If you are a tobacco-user, you may be able to participate in an alternative to the tobacco-user premium, if it is right for your 
health status and complies with your doctor’s recommendations. 
Please visit www.ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification for more information. 
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The plans on this page are not available to surviving dependents, or those enrolled through COBRA and COBRA Disability. 

Optional Term Life Insurance (no change from PY20) 

Monthly Rate per $1,000 of Annual Salary 
Under 25 $ 0.05 $  0.10 $ 0.15 $ 0.20 

 0.05  0.10  0.15 0.20 
30 - 34  0.06  0.12  0.18 0.24 

 0.06  0.12  0.18 0.24 
40 - 44  0.08  0.16  0.24 0.32 

 0.12  0.24  0.36 0.48 
50 - 54  0.19  0.38  0.57 0.76 

 0.33  0.66  0.99 1.32 
60 - 64  0.57  1.14  1.71 2.28 

 0.93  1.86  2.79 3.72 
70 - 74  1.48  2.96  4.44 5.92 

 2.41  4.82  7.23 9.64 
80 - 84  3.92  7.84    11.76 15.68 

 6.79  13.58 20.37 27.16 
90+ 10.57  21.14 31.71 42.28 

After the first 31 days of 
employment, Elections 
1 and 2 require approval 
through evidence of 
insurability (EOI). 
Elections 3 and 4 always 
require EOI approval. 
Beginning at age 70, 
Optional Term Life 
coverage is reduced to a 
percentage of your annual 
salary as follows: 
Age 70-74 65% 
Age 75-79 40% 
Age 80-84 25% 
Age 85-89 15% 
Age 90+ 10% 

Retiree Fixed Optional Life Insurance ($10,000 policy) 
$23.40 per month for $10,000 

Dependent Term Life Insurance 
Employee: $1.38 per month for $5,000 

(includes $5,000 AD&D coverage) Retiree: $3.05 per month for $2,500 

Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment Insurance (AD&D)* 
(no change from PY20) 
You may enroll in AD&D coverage according to the following table: 

Age Minimum Coverage Maximum Coverage Minimum Increments 
Under 70 $ 10,000 $ 200,000 $ 5,000 

70-74 6,500 130,000 3,250 
75-79 4,000 80,000 2,000 
80-84 2,500 50,000 1,250 
85-89 1,500 30,000 750 
90+ 1,000 20,000 500 

You Only 
$0.02 per $1,000 of coverage 

You + Family 
$0.04 per $1,000 of coverage 

Texas Income Protection PlanSM (TIPP)* (no change from PY20) 
Short-term disability Long-term disability 

$0.26 per $100 of monthly salary $0.63 per $100 of monthly salary 
*Optional Term Life Insurance at Elections 3 and 4, AD&D, and short-term and long-term disability insurance are not available to retirees.
†Optional Term Life Insurance is limited to a maximum of $400,000 or four times your annual salary, whichever is less.
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Age Election 1  
Annual Salary x 1 

Election 2  
Annual Salary x 2 

Election 3*  
Annual Salary x 3 

Election 4*†  
Annual Salary x 4 

Optional Term Life Insurance 

25 - 29

35 - 39

45 - 49

55 - 59

65 - 69

75 - 79

85 - 89
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Understanding insurance terms 

Balance billing 
when a patient owes an out-of-network provider for the difference between amount billed by their 
provider and the amount paid by the plan, after the GBP member pays any applicable deductibles, 
copays and/or coinsurance. You cannot be balance billed by an in-network provider. 

Copay 

a fixed amount you pay for a covered health service, usually at the time you receive the service. 
For example, HealthSelect of Texas has a $25 copay per visit to your in-network primary care 
provider (PCP) for non-preventive care. If you see your PCP for a sore throat, you will pay $25 
before you leave the doctor’s office. 

Coinsurance a percentage of the allowable amount for a covered service or product that you are required to 
pay for covered health care and prescription drug services. 

Deductible 

the amount you are required to pay for covered health care or prescription drug expenses before 
your plan begins to pay for any services (except in-network preventive care) each year. If you 
have a $50 prescription drug deductible, for example, you must pay the full cost of the first $50 of 
covered prescription drugs yourself. Deductibles for the HealthSelect plans reset on January 1, 
while deductibles for the HMOs reset on September 1. 

Total out-
of-pocket 
maximum 

the maximum amount you and your covered dependents must pay for in-network copays, 
coinsurance and deductibles within a year. These maximums help protect you from catastrophic 
health costs. All health plans have the same total out-of-pocket maximums for covered in-network 
health and prescription drug costs. The total out-of-pocket maximums reset on January 1 for the 
HealthSelect plans. They reset on September 1 for HMOs. 

Out-of-pocket 
coinsurance 
maximum 

the most you are required to pay each year for coinsurance for covered health services. This 
amount does not include copays. The out-of-pocket coinsurance maximum resets on January 1 
for the HealthSelect plans and September 1 for the HMOs. 

Evidence of 
insurability 
(EOI) 

proof of good health, established during an application process for certain types of insurance, such 
as life and disability insurance. During the process, you provide information about your health. 

Monthly 
premiums the monthly cost of insurance. 

Plan year for GBP plans, the plan year is September 1 through August 31. However, certain aspects of 
some of the plans are based on the calendar year (January 1 – December 31). 

Third-party 
administrator 
(TPA) 

the company contracted by ERS to manage certain aspects of many of our benefit plans. For 
example, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas is the TPA for the HealthSelect of Texas and 
Consumer Directed HealthSelect medical plans. As such, it manages the provider network, 
processes claims (ERS pays the claims) and provides customer service. By contracting with 
TPAs, ERS saves money in administrative costs. 



2021 New Employee Benefits Guide | ERS | 43 State agency employees   

  
 

 
 

 
 

 

  

  
  

 

Tips for saving money in HealthSelect plans 
Making the best use of your HealthSelect benefits might 
require a little extra effort. Learn about your coverage, 
confirm that all providers are in the network, get 
referrals when needed and opt for lower-cost drugs and
providers when appropriate.  Taking those extra steps 
will help  you save money–sometimes a lot of money– 
and avoid  surprise bills, while getting high-quality care.

Get care from an 
in-network provider 
In-network providers  have a contract to provide care 
at a lower rate negotiated by BCBSTX. So, they 
typically cost you less than an out-of-network provider. 
BCBSTX also makes sure they have the credentials to 
provide  appropriate, high-quality care. 

Out-of-network providers do not have a contract with 
BCBSTX to accept the lower amount. If you see an out-
of-network provider, you may be responsible 
for the difference between what the plan usually pays 
(the allowable amount) and what the provider charges, 
as well as any applicable out-of-network deductibles, 
coinsurance and copays. 

Call BCBSTX or visit  https://healthselectoftexas.  
com/ and click on “Find a Doctor/Hospital” to find in-
network providers in your health plan. Call Optum Rx or 
visit https://healthselectrx.com  to find in-network 
pharmacies. 

Consider a virtual visit when 
appropriate—for both medical and 
mental health. 
Virtual visits not only cost less than a trip to the doctor’s 
office or urgent care facility, they’re more convenient— 
letting you consult with a Board-certified doctor or mental 
health professional via smartphone, tablet or computer 
from home or anywhere you have internet access. Learn 
more at https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/ 
medical-bene its/virtual-visits. 

In HealthSelect of Texas, choose a   
PCP and get referrals when needed. 
If you are in HealthSelect of Texas, you need to designate   
a primary care provider (PCP) on file with BCBSTX and  
make sure you have your PCP’s referral on file with  
BCBSTX before you see most specialists. Otherwise, your   
specialist visit will be considered out of network, even if  
the specialist is in the HealthSelect network. You can verify  
that a referral is in place by calling BCBSTX or logging  
in  to  your  Blue  Access for Members Account at https:// 
healthselectoftexas.com. (Some specialist visits don’t 
require referrals. Find out which on the HealthSelect 
website or by calling BCBSTX.) 

Use the Provider Finder tool.  
You can estimate health costs and compare costs for 
different providers. Log in to your Blue Access for Members 
account and click the "Doctors & Hospitals" tab at the top 
of the screen. Select "Find a Doctor or Hospital" and use 
“Provider Finder” to estimate health costs with different in-
network providers. With Provider Finder, you’ll be able to: 

• compare costs for in-network providers and procedures,

• compare quality ratings for those providers,

• estimate out-of-pocket costs,

• consider your treatment options and

• save money and make the best use of your health
care benefits.

Compare costs before you go 
You can find the lowest-cost in-network providers for a 
number of procedures and services in your area: 

1. Log in to your Blue Access for Members account at
https://healthselectoftexas.com/.

2. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the
Cost Estimator.

3. Input the requested information to compare the costs of
care with different in-network providers.

You can also save money on prescriptions by logging in to 
your OptumRx account at https://healthselectRx.com/ and 
using the Drug Pricing Tool to compare a drug’s cost 
across in-network pharmacies, or learn what you could save 
by using the mail-order pharmacy. 

https://healthselectoftexas.com/
https://healthselectoftexas.com/
https://healthselectrx.com
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/medical-benefits/virtual-visits
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/medical-benefits/virtual-visits
https://healthselectoftexas.com
https://healthselectoftexas.com
https://healthselectoftexas.com/
https://healthselectRx.com/
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Participate in HealthSelectShoppERSSM. 
You may earn rewards when you choose to save with 
HealthSelectShoppERS on certain medical services. 
HealthSelectShoppERS is a health care shopping and 
savings program available to benefits-eligible active 
employees enrolled in HealthSelect of Texas®, HealthSelectSM 

Out-of-State or Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM. Retirees, 
Medicare primary participants, COBRA members and 
HealthSelectSM Secondary participants are not eligible for the 
HealthSelectShoppERS program. 

HealthSelectShoppERS can help you: 

• Compare costs for many health care procedures 

• Estimate out-of-pocket costs 

• Earn rewards for certain medical services and procedures 
by shopping for care and choosing lower cost providers 

• Save money and get the most value from your health 
care benefits 

How does the HealthSelectShoppERS program work? 

After your primary care provider (PCP) or specialist 
recommends a HealthSelectShoppERS-eligible medical 
procedure or service, you: 

1. Log in to Blue Access for Members at www. 
healthselectoftexas.com, click the “Doctors and 
Hospitals” tab, and then the “Find a Doctor or 
Hospital” link. 

2. In Provider Finder, select “Browse by Category” and type 
in the name of your procedure to search. 

3. From the list of health care providers (facilities) that 
perform the procedure, follow the prompts to select 
a lower-cost, quality provider that qualifies for a 
HealthSelectShoppERS reward. 

4. Have your medical service or procedure completed at 
the HealthSelectShoppERS-eligible facility. 

• Note: A referral or prior authorization may be required 
for your procedure. If you have questions about referrals 
or prior authorizations, call a BCBSTX Personal Health 
Assistant toll-free at (800) 252-8039, Monday–Friday 7 
a.m. - 7 p.m. and Saturday 7 a.m. - 3 p.m. CT. 

5. When your medical service or procedure is complete, 
your provider will submit the claim to BCBSTX for 
processing. Once BCBSTX processes the claim and as 
long as you are still eligible, ERS will deposit your reward 
into your TexFlex health care flexible spending account 
(FSA) or limited-purpose FSA. If you do not have a 
TexFlex health care or limited-purpose FSA before you 
earn a reward, ERS will open one for you. 

You can earn up to $500 in rewards, total per family, 
each plan year. For more information, please see the 
HealthSelectShoppERS Frequently Asked Questions 
at www.healthselectoftexas.com. 

Confirm network status and costs for 
doctor visits, lab work, radiology and 
other services. 
• If your doctor orders lab work or imaging, confirm that the 

lab or imaging center is in your plan’s network by calling 
BCBSTX or visiting the Find a Doctor/Hospital page of 
https://healthselect.com/ 

• Find out how much you might owe for a test before you 
agree to it. 

Confirm network status for facilities, 
surgery centers and emergency rooms. 
• If possible, confirm in advance if the facility, surgery center 

or emergency room is in your health plan’s network. Most 
freestanding emergency rooms not affiliated with a 
hospital are not in health plans’ networks. 

• Use Provider Finder to locate the in-network 
emergency room(s) and urgent care facility(ies) 
closest to your home, work and other places you 
spend a lot of time—before you need urgent or 
emergency care. 

• If possible, confirm if everyone who will provide you 
with services during your procedure or stay is in the 
HealthSelect network. This includes, but is not limited to 
anesthesia, pathology, radiology, surgery and surgical 
assistants. 

• If you have an actual medical emergency, call an 
ambulance or go to the nearest emergency room. 

• If your situation is urgent but not a medical emergency, 
keep in mind that most urgent medical needs can be 
treated at an in-network urgent care facility or with 
a medical virtual visit at a fraction of the cost of an 
emergency room visit. Learn where to go for care in a 
variety of situations, at https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/ 
pdf/publications-and-forms/where-to-go-for-care.pdf. 

For more tips on using your health care dollars wisely and 
avoiding unexpected health care costs, visit https://www. 
ers.texas.gov/Avoiding-Unexpected-Health-Costs. 

http://www.healthselectoftexas.com
http://www.healthselectoftexas.com
http://www.healthselectoftexas.com
https://healthselect.com/
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/pdf/publications-and-forms/where-to-go-for-care.pdf
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/pdf/publications-and-forms/where-to-go-for-care.pdf
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Avoiding-Unexpected-Health-Costs
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Avoiding-Unexpected-Health-Costs
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Use emergency rooms for
emergencies only 
Did you know that going to an emergency room can 
cost you more than five times as much as going to 
urgent care? Did you also know that it can cost the 
plan 10 times more, sometimes higher? A procedure 
that costs your health plan $100 in an urgent care 
facility can cost more than $1,000 at an emergency 
room. Why should you care? When costs for the 
plan increase, premiums increase. Help keep costs 
low. If you have a primary care provider, you can 
often schedule an office visit the same day. Urgent 
care centers have extended hours for whenever 
the unexpected occurs. Save money, and save the 
emergency room visit for life-threatening illnesses 
and accidents. 

Know your benefits 
Call a BCBSTX Personal Health Assistant toll-free at 
(800) 252-8039, Monday – Friday 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. and 
Saturday 7 a.m. – 3 p.m. CT. 

BCBSTX Personal Health Assistants are here to help you 
understand and use your HealthSelect benefits. They can: 

• answer questions about benefits, 

• assist with prior authorizations and referrals, 

• provide information about programs and benefits 
available to you, 

• help you locate an in-network provider, 

• explain health care costs and options for care, 

• provide you with cost estimates for services, 

• schedule or cancel doctor’s appointments, 

• help you use self-service tools and connect you to 
other resources. 

You can also visit www.healthselectoftexas.com to 
find out more about your HealthSelect benefits, locate 
an in-network provider, view claims and explanations of 
benefits (EOBs), and more! 

Keep plan information handy with the BCBSTX mobile app 
Download the mobile app by texting BCBSTXAPP to the phone number 33633 

Provider Finder Cost EstimatorDashboard 

http://www.healthselectoftexas.com
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 Your benefits plans: At a glance 
The following is a brief overview of the valuable insurance and retirement benefits available to you. For more details 
about coverage and eligibility, please read the information in this book, visit the ERS website at 
www.ers.texas.gov, or talk to your agency's benefits coordinator or human resources department. 

Plan Administrator / 
Carrier Highlights 

Medical Plans with Prescription Drug Coverage and Basic Term Life Insurance 

HealthSelectSM 

of Texas 
Blue Cross and Blue 
Shield of Texas 

• Point-of-service plan with lower costs for in-network care 
• Large provider network 
• Requires a designated primary care provider (PCP) and 

referrals to specialists 
• Copays for certain services, like non-preventive PCP and 

specialist office visits 
• Includes prescription drug coverage (administered by OptumRx) 

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelectSM 

Blue Cross and Blue 
Shield of Texas 

• High-deductible health plan paired with a tax-free health savings 
account (HSA, administered by Optum Bank) 

• Large network 
• 100% of covered medical care (except preventive) and 

prescriptions paid by GBP member until deductible is met 
• Coinsurance instead of copays for services and prescription drugs 
• No PCP or referrals needed 
• Includes prescription drug coverage (administered by OptumRx) 
• Monthly HSA contribution from the state 

Health maintenance 
organizations (HMOs) 

Scott and White 
Care Plans in 
central Texas • Regional provider network 

• No coverage for out-of-network care (except for emergency care)Community First 
Health Plans in the 
San Antonio area 

Dental Plans 

State of Texas Dental 
Choice PlanSM Delta Dental 

• Preferred provider organization (PPO) with lower costs for in-
network care 

• Large, two-tiered network 

DeltaCare® USA dental 
HMO Delta Dental 

• No coverage for out-of-network care 
• Smaller provider network than State of Texas Dental Choice PPO 
• Primary care dentist (PCD) required 

Vision Plan 

State of Texas 
VisionSM Superior Vision 

• Large network of eye care professionals and vision retailers 
• Covers certain vision services, like eye exams and contact 

lens fittings 
• Annual allowance for cost of eyeglasses or contact lenses 
• Discounts on LASIK 

http://www.ers.texas.gov
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Plan Administrator Highlights 
Other Insurance Plans 

Optional Term 
Life Insurance Securian 

• Four coverage amounts to choose from 
• Provides equal amount of Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) 

coverage 
• Requires evidence of insurability (EOI) depending on coverage amount 

and after first 31 days of employment 

Dependent Term 
Life Insurance Securian 

• One low premium for all eligible dependents 
• Includes AD&D insurance 
• Requires EOI after first 31 days of employment or qualifying life event 

Voluntary 
Accidental Death 
& Dismemberment 
Insurance 

Securian 
• Coverage for you only or for you and your family 
• Does not require EOI 

Texas Income 
Protection PlanSM 

(TIPP) disability 
insurance 

ReedGroup 

• Pays a percentage of your salary if you're unable to work 
due to illness or injury 
• Short-term disability: up to 66% for up to five months 
• Long-term disability: up to 60% until you can return to work 

• May require EOI after first 31 days of employment 

TexFlexSM Flexible and Commuter Spending Accounts (FSAs and CSAs) 

Health care FSA WageWorks 
• Pre-tax savings for eligible health, dental, vision and prescription drug 

expenses 
• Not available to Consumer Directed HealthSelect participants 

Dependent care FSA WageWorks 
• Pre-tax savings for day care, after- school care and summer day camp 

for children under age 13, or day care for dependent adults who can't 
care for themselves 

Limited-purpose FSA WageWorks 
• Pre-tax savings for eligible dental and vision expenses only 
• Available only to Consumer Directed HealthSelect participants 

Transit CSA WageWorks • Pre-tax savings for public transportation expenses to and from work 

Parking CSA WageWorks • Pre-tax savings for parking near your workplace or near public transit 
you take to and from work 

Retirement Plans 

State of Texas 
Retirement ERS 

• Mandatory defined benefit plan 
• Monthly pre-tax contribution, set by Texas Legislature, taken from paycheck 
• Matching contribution from the state, with smaller contribution from your 

agency 
• Upon retirement, monthly annuity for life 

Texa$averSM 

401(k) / 457 Program 
Empower 
Retirement 

• Additional retirement savings and ability to lower income taxes 
• Automatic 401(k) enrollment at 1% of salary (new employees only) 

• Ability to opt out and re-enroll at any time 
• Ability to increase, decrease or stop contributions, or make changes to 

investments at any time 
• A variety of account and investments options 

Discount Purchase ProgramSM 

Discount Purchase 
Program Beneplace 

• Access to discounts and special services by various companies 
• No fees or other membership requirements 
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Notice of creditable coverage 
Plan Year 2021 
This notice applies to you if you are both: 

• entitled to Medicare Part A and/or enrolled in Medicare Part B and 
• enrolled in Texas Employees Group Benefits Program health insurance. 

Important notice from the Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS) about your Texas Employees Group 
Benefits Program (GBP) prescription drug coverage and Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage (sometimes 
called Part D). 

Please read this notice carefully and 
keep it where you can find it. No action is 
required of you at this time. 
Federal law requires ERS to send this notice to people 
who may be eligible for Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage and are enrolled in health insurance that is 
part of the GBP provided by the State of Texas. You 
have GBP prescription drug coverage through your GBP 
enrollment with HealthSelect of Texas®, administered by 
UnitedHealthcare, or one of the other health plans offered 
by the state. 

This notice provides: 
• important information about your current prescription 

drug coverage, 

• answers that will assist you in deciding whether you 
should purchase Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage, 

• contact numbers for more information and 

• a document that you can use later to avoid a penalty for 
late enrollment in Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage. 

Q. What is Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage (sometimes called Part D)? 
A. Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage is a prescription 
program that is available to people who qualify 
for Medicare Part A or Medicare Part B. Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage started on January 1, 2006. 

Q. What is creditable coverage and 
does GBP coverage meet this definition? 
A. The prescription drug coverage offered by the GBP 
has been examined by ERS’ consulting actuaries and 
is, on average for all plan participants, expected to pay 
out as much as standard Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage pays. The GBP is therefore considered to be 
creditable coverage. 

Q. Why is creditable coverage important to 
Medicare-eligible participants in the GBP? 
A. Because you have creditable coverage under the 
GBP, the Social Security Administration (SSA) has said 
that you will not have to pay a penalty if you join a private 
Medicare prescription drug plan later. Each year, there is an 
enrollment period that allows people with Medicare to enroll 
in private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage. Although 
you will have a chance to enroll every year, normally you 
would have to pay a penalty if you enrolled after your initial 
eligibility date. However, because you have creditable 
coverage under the GBP, you can choose to join a private 
Medicare prescription drug plan later without a penalty. 

Q. Should I enroll in private Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage? 
A. Most Medicare-eligible participants in the GBP should 
NOT enroll in private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage 
because, for most people, the GBP prescription drug 
coverage will provide better benefits at a lower cost. If 
you qualify for financial assistance, you could benefit from 
private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage and you 
would get savings on premiums, copays and coinsurance. 

Q. How do I know if I qualify for financial 
assistance with private Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage? 
A. Financial assistance is available to Medicare 
beneficiaries with incomes up to 150% of the Federal 
Poverty Level (FPL) and limited resources. The FPL is 
set each year. ERS does not make this determination or 
set the guidelines. To determine if you qualify for financial 
assistance with private Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage, you should contact the SSA toll-free at (800) 
772-1213. TTY users should call toll-free at (800) 
325-0778. Or visit SSA online at www.socialsecurity.gov. 

http://www.socialsecurity.gov
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Q. Is private Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage free? 
A. No. If you enroll in private Medicare Prescription 
Drug Coverage, you will pay a monthly premium. The 
amount will likely increase each year. You will also have 
to pay the private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage 
deductibles and copays. Currently, the deductible may be 
as high as $435, and will increase to $445 in 2021. 

Q. How does private Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage work? 
A. Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage is offered through 
private prescription drug plans that have been approved 
by Medicare. All private Medicare prescription drug plans 
offer a standard level of coverage set by Medicare. Some 
plans might also offer more coverage for a higher monthly 
premium. If you enroll in a private Medicare prescription 
drug plan, you will receive a prescription drug card that 
you will present to your pharmacy to cover a portion of 
your prescription drug costs. 

Q. Will private Medicare Prescription 
Drug Coverage have any effect on my 
medical plan under the GBP? 
A. Yes, if the private Medicare Prescription Drug plan 
also includes Medicare Advantage medical coverage. 
Medicare rules do not allow you to be enrolled in a GBP 
Medicare Advantage plan (HealthSelectSM Medicare 
Advantage, or KelseyCare Advantage MA HMO) and a 
private Medicare Prescription Drug plan that includes 
Medicare Advantage medical coverage at the same 
time. If you enroll in private Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage and it has a Medicare Advantage medical 
plan included, your medical coverage with the GBP 
Medicare Advantage plan will be terminated and you will 
be automatically enrolled in your previous non-Medicare 
Advantage plan under the GBP. If you are enrolled in a 
non-Medicare GBP medical plan, there is no change to 
your medical coverage. 

If you enroll in ERS’ HealthSelect Medicare Advantage 
or KelseyCare Advantage MA HMO, and do not decline 
ERS’ HealthSelect Medicare RX prescription drug 
coverage, your private Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage will be terminated. 

Q. Will private Medicare Prescription 
Drug Coverage have any effect on 
HealthSelect Medicare Rx? 
A. Yes. Medicare rules do not allow you to be in two 
different Medicare prescription plans at the same time. If 
you enroll in a private Medicare prescription plan you will 
no longer be eligible for the HealthSelectSM Medicare Rx 
plan and will lose all prescription coverage through ERS. 

Q. Most GBP participants were 
encouraged not to enroll in private 
Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage 
last year. What about future years? 
A. You do not need to sign up for private Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage for the coming plan year. 
However, you should know that if you drop or lose your 
coverage under the GBP and do not enroll in private 
Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage within 63 days 
after your current GBP coverage ends, you may be 
required to pay more to enroll in private Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage later. 

Q. Where can I get more information? 
A. More detailed information about private Medicare 
plans that offer prescription drug coverage is available in 
the Medicare & You handbook. You may have received 
a copy of the handbook in the mail from Medicare. The 
handbook is also available at the website below. You may 
also be contacted directly by approved, private Medicare 
prescription drug plans. To get more information about 
private Medicare prescription drug plans 

• Visit www.medicare.gov for personalized help. 

• Call your State Health Insurance Assistance Program. 
(See your copy of the Medicare & You handbook for 
their telephone number.) 

• Call toll-free at (800) MEDICARE (800) 633-4227. 
TTY users should call (877) 486-2048. 

NOTE: You may receive this notice at other times in the 
future, such as before the next period you can enroll in 
Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage or if this coverage 
changes. You may also request a copy of this notice by 
calling ERS toll-free at (877) 275-4377. 

Keep this notice. If you enroll in one of the Medicare-approved prescription drug plans at a later 
date, you may need to submit a copy of this notice when you join to show that you are not required 
to pay a higher premium amount. 

http://www.medicare.gov
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Contact information 
Health Insurance 

Plan Administrator Phone number Website 

HealthSelect of Texas® 

HealthSelectSM Out-of-State 
Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM 

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas 

Group number – 2380000 

Toll-free: (800) 252-8039 
(TTY: 711) 

Nurseline: (800) 581-0368 
www.healthselectoftexas.com 

HealthSelect Prescription 
Drug Program OptumRx Toll-free: *855) 828-9834 

(TTY: 711) www.HealthSelectRx.com 

Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
health savings accounts (HSAs) Optum Bank Toll-free: (800) 791-9361 

(TTY: 711) www.optumbank.com 

Community First Health Plans Group number – 0010180000 

Toll-free: (877) 698-7032 
(TTY: 711 or (210) 358-6080) 
Local: (210) 358-6262 
NurseLink: (210) 358-6262 

members.cfhp.com 

Scott and White Care Plans Group number – 012700 

Toll-free: (800) 321-7947 
(TTY: (800) 735-2989) 
VitalCare Nurse Advice: 
(877) 505-7947 

https://ers.swhp.org 

Dental Insurance 
Plan Administrator Phone number Website 

State of Texas Dental Choice Delta Dental 
PlanSM PPO Group number – 20020 

Toll-free: (888) 818-7925 www.ERSdentalplans.com 
DeltaCare® USA DHMO Delta Dental 

Group number – 70140 

Vision Insurance 
Plan Administrator Phone number Website 

State of Texas VisionSM Superior Vision Services, Inc. 
Group number – 35040 

Toll-free: (877) 396-4128 
(TTY: 711) www.StateofTexasVision.com 

Life and accidental death & dismemberment insurance 
Plan Administrator Phone number Website 

Basic Term Life and AD&D Insurance 

Optional Term Life Insurance 

Dependent Term Life Insurance 
Voluntary AD&D Insurance 

Securian Financial Toll-free: (877) 494-1716 
(TTY: 711) www.lifebenefits.com/plandesign/ers 

Short-term and long-term disability insurance 
Plan Administrator Phone number Website 

Texas Income Protection 
PlanSM (TIPP) 

ReedGroup 
Evidence of insurability underwritten 
by Guardian Life 

Toll-free: (855) 604-6230 
(TTY: 711) www.texasincomeprotectionplan.com 

Other programs 
Plan Administrator Phone number Website 

TexFlexSM WageWorks, LLC Toll-free: (844) 884-2364 (TTY: 711) www.texflexers.com 

Texa$averSM 401(k) / 457 Program Empower Retirement Toll-free: (800) 634-5091 (TTY: (800) 766-4952) www.texasaver.com 

Discount Purchase Program Beneplace Toll-free: (800) 683-2886 (TTY: 711) 
Local: (512) 346-3300 

www.Beneplace.com/ 
DiscountProgramERS 

Health and Human Services Enterprise Employees: 
DADS, DFPS, DSHS, HHSC, CPRIT 

The HHS Employee Service Center acts as your benefits coordinator. Contact the Center toll-free at (888) 894-4747. 

http://www.healthselectoftexas.com
http://www.HealthSelectRx.com
http://www.optumbank.com
http://members.cfhp.com
https://ers.swhp.org
http://www.texflexers.com
http://www.texasaver.com
http://www.Beneplace.com/ DiscountProgramERS
http://www.Beneplace.com/ DiscountProgramERS
http://www.ERSdentalplans.com
http://www.StateofTexasVision.com
http://www.texasincomeprotectionplan.com
http://www.lifebenefits.com/plandesign/ers


 توجھ: اگر بھ زبان فارسی گفتگو می کنید، تسھیلات زبانی
.بصورت رایگان برای شما فراھم می باشد

ò  [ffl

ATENCIÓN: si habla español, tiene a su disposición 
servicios gratuitos de asistencia lingüística.

PAUNAWA: Kung nagsasalita ka ng Tagalog, maaari 
kang gumamit ng mga serbisyo ng tulong sa wika nang 
walang bayad.

لحوظة:  إذا كنت تتحدث اذكر اللغة، فإن خدمات المساعدة اللغویة ВНИМАНИЕ: Если вы говорите на русском 
языке, то вам доступны бесплатные услуги 
перевода.

ACHTUNG: Wenn Sie Deutsch sprechen, sACHTUNG: Wenn Sie Deutsch sprechen, stehen Ihnentehen 
kostenlos sprachliche Hilfsdienstleistungen zur Ihnen kostenlos sprachliche Hilfsdienstleistungen zur 
VeVerfügungrfügung.

ATTE: Si vNTION : Si vous parlez français, des ous parlez français, des services d'aide 
services d'aide linguistique vous sont linguistique vous sont proposés gratuitement. 
proposés gratuitement.

주의: 한국어를 사용하시는 경우, 언어 지원 
서비스를 무료로 이용하실 수 있습니다.

 注意：如果您使用繁體中文，您可以免費獲得語言
援助服務。

ATTENTION : Language assistance services, free of 
charge are available to you.

: CHÚ Ý: Nếu bạn nói Tiếng Việt, có các dịch vụ hỗ trợ 
ngôn ngữ miễn phí dành cho bạn.

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

The Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS) complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and does not 
discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex. ERS provides free language aids and 
services, such as: written information in other formats (large print, audio, accessible electronic formats, and other 
formats), qualified interpreters, and written information in other languages 

If you need these services, call: 1-877-275-4377, TDD: 711. 

If you believe that ERS has failed to provide these services or discriminated in another way on the basis of race, 
color, national origin, age, disability, or sex, you can file a grievance by mail, fax or email: 

Mail: Section 1557 Coordinator Employees Retirement System of Texas 
1. Fax: 512-867-3480.1P.O. Box 13207, Austin, Texas 787

Email: 1557coordinator@ers.texas.gov 

For more information visit: http://www.ers.texas.gov 

You can also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services online, by mail or by 
phone at: 

Online: https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf 

Complaint forms are available at: http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html. 

Mail: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 509F, HHH Building, 
Washington, D.C. 20201. 

Phone: 1-800-368-1019, 800-537-7697 (TDD). 

1-877-275-4377

http://1557coordinator@ers.texas.gov
http://www.ers.texas.gov
https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf
http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html
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	Getting started: Signing up for your benefits 
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	• 
	Getting started: Signing up for your benefits 
	®
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	Benefits checklist 
	• 
	• 
	Benefits checklist 
	Benefits checklist 
	• 
	Within 31 days of your hire 

	Benefits checklist 
	Benefits checklist 
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	Within 31 days of your hire 
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	IMPORTANT: Enroll in valuable coverage, no questions asked, for 31 days 
	Please Note: After your first 31 or 60 days of employment, you can make benefits changes only during Summer Enrollment unless you have a qualifying life event (QLE)—for example, you get married or divorced, or you have a child. However, you must make benefit changes within 31 days of that QLE. 

	If you enroll your children with help from your benefits coordinator/human resources department or the HHS  Employee Service Center, you must fill out, sign and return  the Dependent Child Certification form. Get the form: 
	HHS Employee Service Center or 

	EXAMPLE: Your spouse can now provide health insurance for your child. You will have 31 days to drop him or her from your plan. EXCEPTION: If your child loses Medicaid or CHIP eligibility, you will have 60 days to sign them up for GBP health coverage. 
	IMPORTANT: Enroll in valuable coverage, no questions asked, for 31 days 
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	Make sure your dependents are eligible for insurance and that you have the appropriate documentation to show eligibility before you enroll them in any coverage. If you are unable to supply the documents listed below, please contact Alight  Solutions Customer Service. 
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	Dependent eligibility chart 
	• Managing conservatorship court document signed by judge 
	• Government-issued marriage certificate AND • Current federal tax return OR • Proof of joint ownership** issued within last six months OR • Government-issued marriage certificate only (if married in the last 12 months) 
	Dependent eligibility chart 
	Dependent eligibility chart 
	Eligibility 
	Make sure your dependents are eligible for insurance and that you have the appropriate documentation to show eligibility before you enroll them in any coverage. If you are unable to supply the documents listed below, please contact Alight  Solutions Customer Service. 

	Dependent eligibility chart 
	Dependent eligibility chart 
	Dependent eligibility chart 
	• Adoption certificate OR • Adoption placement agreement AND • Petition for adoption 
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	Foster Child* 

	NOTE: You must provide a birth certificate to enroll a newborn child. Alight Solutions will accept a hospital-issued birth certificate for a child age three months or younger. 
	Dependent eligibility chart 
	Eligibility 

	Make sure your dependents are eligible for insurance and that you have the appropriate documentation to show eligibility before you enroll them in any coverage. If you are unable to supply the documents listed below, please contact Alight  Solutions Customer Service. 
	Choosing the right health insurance for yourself and your family is an important decision. You have a responsibility to understand how the benefits you choose could affect your family’s health and finances. 
	Understand your health plan options 
	Understand your health plan options 
	With an ERS OnLine account, you can check your coverage, update contact information and do other benefits-related activities at any time of the day or night, without having to 
	Understand your health plan options 
	Understand your health plan options 
	Understand your health plan options 
	Because you are a new employee, your benefits coordinator will likely enroll you and your dependents in the coverage you choose. However, with your ERS OnLine account, you will be able to update your elections on your own during the next Summer Enrollment period. 
	call or visit ERS. Follow these steps to set up an account: 
	Understand your health plan options 
	Understand your health plan options 
	All plans require cost-sharing. You and the State of Texas, as your employer, both pay for coverage and care. The state pays 100% of the monthly premium for eligible full-time employees and 50% of the premium for their 
	Choosing the right health insurance for yourself and your family is an important decision. You have a responsibility to understand how the benefits you choose could affect your family’s health and finances. 

	Understand your health plan options 
	Understand your health plan options 
	Understand your health plan options 
	eligible dependents. The state pays 50% of the premium  for eligible part-time employees and 25% of the premium  for their eligible dependents. 
	Understand your health plan options 
	Don’t forget to update your ERS OnLine account if you move or have other life changes. In addition to creating your account, you can sign up for ERS news and  updates at 

	As a State of Texas agency employee, you have options when it comes to health insurance. You can choose HealthSelect of Texas or Consumer Directed HealthSelect. Depending on what county you live or work in, you may decide to enroll in one of the health maintenance organizations (HMOs): Community First Health Plans in the San Antonio area and Scott and White Care Plans in central Texas. (Note: Community First Health Plans and Scott and White Care Plans will no longer be available starting September 1, 2021. If you live or work in an eligible county, you may enroll in one of the HMOs through August 31, 2021, but will have to change health coverage on September 1.) 
	Understand your health plan options 
	All plans require cost-sharing. You and the State of Texas, as your employer, both pay for coverage and care. The state pays 100% of the monthly premium for eligible full-time employees and 50% of the premium for their 

	Choosing the right health insurance for yourself and your family is an important decision. You have a responsibility to understand how the benefits you choose could affect your family’s health and finances. 
	HealthSelect of Texas 
	Health insurance plan features 
	Health insurance plan features 
	• Low out-of-pocket costs for in-network care • Lower monthly premiums than some other plans 
	Health insurance plan features 
	Health insurance plan features 
	Health insurance plan features 
	• Want to keep their out-of
	In-network  preventive care  covered at 100% 
	Health insurance plan features 
	Health insurance plan features 
	Key advantage(s) 
	HealthSelect of Texas 

	Health insurance plan features 
	Health insurance plan features 
	Health insurance plan features 
	• Referrals needed for most specialty care • Higher monthly premiums for dependents and part-time employees 
	Health insurance plan features 
	-

	Consumer Directed  HealthSelect 
	Health insurance plan features 
	Key advantage(s) 

	HealthSelect of Texas 
	No matter where you live or work, you can choose between HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect. With both plans, you have access to a network of more than 50,000 doctors, hospitals and other providers. Both plans include a comprehensive prescription drug program administered by OptumRx. 
	HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
	HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
	You have prescription drug coverage through a plan administered by OptumRx. You will have to meet a $50 per person deductible before the plan begins to pay for prescription drugs. This deductible resets at the beginning of each calendar year. (The plan year for health benefits and premiums follows the state’s fiscal year calendar – September through August.) 
	HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
	HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
	HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
	virtual visits* through Doctor on Demand or MDLIVE for medical or mental health care and 
	• 
	HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
	HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
	• 
	No matter where you live or work, you can choose between HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect. With both plans, you have access to a network of more than 50,000 doctors, hospitals and other providers. Both plans include a comprehensive prescription drug program administered by OptumRx. 

	HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
	HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
	HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
	• 
	HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
	• 

	HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
	• 

	No matter where you live or work, you can choose between HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect. With both plans, you have access to a network of more than 50,000 doctors, hospitals and other providers. Both plans include a comprehensive prescription drug program administered by OptumRx. 
	Consumer Directed HealthSelect is a high-deductible health plan paired with a tax-free health savings account (HSA). The high deductible means you could have higher out-of-pocket costs before your health plan begins to pay for non- preventive medical services and prescription drugs. The plan covers 100% for in-network preventive services. It is available to GBP participants who are not enrolled in Medicare. 
	• 
	Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/ 
	You get a monthly health savings account (HSA) contribution from the state to help pay for eligible medical costs. (See information on HSAs on page 10.) 
	You do not need to designate a PCP or get referrals to specialists. 
	Consumer Directed HealthSelect is a high-deductible health plan paired with a tax-free health savings account (HSA). The high deductible means you could have higher out-of-pocket costs before your health plan begins to pay for non- preventive medical services and prescription drugs. The plan covers 100% for in-network preventive services. It is available to GBP participants who are not enrolled in Medicare. 

	Two years later, when ERS began offering Consumer Directed HealthSelect, Eiden promptly signed up and found this HDHP with a Health Savings Account (HSA) to be a good fit for her. 
	High-Deductible-Health-Plan

	Key features of Consumer Directed HealthSelect: 
	You do not need to designate a PCP or get referrals to specialists. 

	Consumer Directed HealthSelect is a high-deductible health plan paired with a tax-free health savings account (HSA). The high deductible means you could have higher out-of-pocket costs before your health plan begins to pay for non- preventive medical services and prescription drugs. The plan covers 100% for in-network preventive services. It is available to GBP participants who are not enrolled in Medicare. 
	Available only with Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
	Health savings account (HSA) 
	Health savings account (HSA) 
	-
	Health savings account (HSA) 
	Health savings account (HSA) 
	Health savings account (HSA) 
	Contribution 
	expenses/ 
	Health savings account (HSA) 
	Health savings account (HSA) 
	You can use your HSA funds for qualified medical expenses for yourself, your spouse and eligible dependents – even if they’re not covered under your health insurance. The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) defines qualified medical expenses. Visit 
	Available only with Consumer Directed HealthSelect 

	Health savings account (HSA) 
	Health savings account (HSA) 
	Health savings account (HSA) 
	All the money in your HSA carries over from one year to the next —there is no use-it-or-lose-it rule—and you can keep the funds if you change health plans or even leave state employment. 
	Health savings account (HSA) 
	Individual Account 

	An HSA allows you to set money aside, tax free, and use the funds to pay for eligible out-of-pocket health expenses anytime, even in retirement. (Once you reach age 65, you can even use your HSA for non-health expenses, but you’ll pay taxes on any funds spent on non-health costs.) 
	Health savings account (HSA) 
	You can use your HSA funds for qualified medical expenses for yourself, your spouse and eligible dependents – even if they’re not covered under your health insurance. The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) defines qualified medical expenses. Visit 

	Available only with Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
	texasers
	Health maintenance organizations (HMOs) 
	 to open an account, or to get an application mailed to you, call Optum Bank toll-free at (800) 243
	Enrolling in Consumer Directed HealthSelect? Open your HSA as  soon as possible. 

	• 
	If you live or work in an eligible county, you may decide to enroll in an HMO. These regional plans have smaller networks than the HealthSelect plans, but they cover most of the same care and services as HealthSelect and have different dependent premiums. 

	Go online 
	Enrolling in Consumer Directed HealthSelect? Open your HSA as  soon as possible. 

	Please note: 
	If you are in HealthSelect of Texas and need to see a specialist (that is, someone other than your PCP), you will need to have a referral from your PCP to the specialist on file with BCBSTX to receive in- network benefits. 
	Prescription drug coverage 
	• 
	Please note: 

	(Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas) and prescription 
	• 
	• 

	Please note: 
	To help protect you from extremely high health costs, all GBP health plans have in-network out-of-pocket maximums. This is the maximum amount you or your family will pay in one year for in-network copays, coinsurance and deductibles (as applicable) for covered medical and prescription drugs. If you reach this maximum, the plan will pay 100% of covered in-network health and pharmacy expenses for the rest of the year. (There is no out-of-pocket maximum for out
	Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses 
	Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses 
	HealthSelect (through Dec. 31, 2020) 
	Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses 
	Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses 
	Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses 
	Tobacco user premium alternative 
	$6,750 individual $13,500 family*
	Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses 
	Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses 
	The out-of-pocket maximums for HealthSelect plans reset every calendar year (January 1), while the HMOs reset every plan year (September 1). The chart below lists the out-of-pocket maximums for the health plans. 
	To help protect you from extremely high health costs, all GBP health plans have in-network out-of-pocket maximums. This is the maximum amount you or your family will pay in one year for in-network copays, coinsurance and deductibles (as applicable) for covered medical and prescription drugs. If you reach this maximum, the plan will pay 100% of covered in-network health and pharmacy expenses for the rest of the year. (There is no out-of-pocket maximum for out

	Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses 
	Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses 
	Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses 
	ERS’ tobacco policy defines tobacco products as all types of tobacco, including but not limited to cigarettes, cigars,  pipe tobacco, chewing tobacco, snuff, and dip; and all  electronic cigarettes and vaping products. Vaping products  that do not contain tobacco or nicotine also are considered  tobacco products. 
	Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses 
	If you are a tobacco user, you may qualify for an  alternative to the tobacco user premium, if it complies with  your doctor’s recommendations. For more information, see  the ERS tobacco policy on ERS website at 

	-
	Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses 
	The out-of-pocket maximums for HealthSelect plans reset every calendar year (January 1), while the HMOs reset every plan year (September 1). The chart below lists the out-of-pocket maximums for the health plans. 

	To help protect you from extremely high health costs, all GBP health plans have in-network out-of-pocket maximums. This is the maximum amount you or your family will pay in one year for in-network copays, coinsurance and deductibles (as applicable) for covered medical and prescription drugs. If you reach this maximum, the plan will pay 100% of covered in-network health and pharmacy expenses for the rest of the year. (There is no out-of-pocket maximum for out
	Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM High-deductible Plan In Network  Consumer Directed HealthSelect High-deductible Plan Out of Network  Community First Health Plans HMO In Network  Scott and White Care Plans HMO In Network $2,100 per individual, $4,200 per family Note: To help cover part of the deductible, the State contibutes to an eligible member’s health savings account: $540/year for an individual, $1,080/ year for a family. $4,200 per individual, $8,400 per family Note: To help cover part of the deductible, the State contibutes to an eligible member’s health savings account: $540/year for an individual, $1,080/ year for a family. None None  Yes. See below for benefit details for out-of-network services. No, except for emergency and urgent care services, services provided by out-of-network facility-based providers in a network facility, and out-of-network services that are authorized in advance by the plan.  No, except for emergency and urgent care services, services provided by out-of-network facility-based providers in a network facility, and out-of-network services that are authorized in advance by the plan.  Yes. Balance billing may apply to certain out-network services. For more information, see the plan’s Master Benefit Plan Document. No. Out-of-network benefits are not covered unless authorized in advance or an emergency, so balance billing does not apply. No. Out-of-network benefits are not covered unless authorized in advance or an emergency, so typically balance billing should not apply.  $6,750 per person, $13,500 per family These reset on January 1.  $6,750 per person, $13,500 per family These reset on September 1.  $6,750 per person, $13,500 per family These reset on September 1.  None None $2,000 per person $2,000 per person  None None  $750 copay max, up to five days per hospital stay $2,250 copay max per plan year per person  $750 copay max, up to five days per hospital stay $2,250 copay max per plan year per person  No No Yes No  No No No No 
	EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 
	EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 
	EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 
	EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 
	EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 
	EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 
	EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 
	Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM High-deductible Plan In Network  Consumer Directed HealthSelect High-deductible Plan Out of Network  Community First Health Plans HMO In Network  Scott and White Care Plans HMO In Network $2,100 per individual, $4,200 per family Note: To help cover part of the deductible, the State contibutes to an eligible member’s health savings account: $540/year for an individual, $1,080/ year for a family. $4,200 per individual, $8,400 per family Note: To help cover part of the deductible, the State contibutes to an eligible member’s health savings account: $540/year for an individual, $1,080/ year for a family. None None  Yes. See below for benefit details for out-of-network services. No, except for emergency and urgent care services, services provided by out-of-network facility-based providers in a network facility, and out-of-network services that are authorized in advance by the plan.  No, except for emergency and urgent care services, services provided by out-of-network facility-based providers in a network facility, and out-of-network services that are authorized in advance by the plan.  Yes. Balance billing may apply to certain out-network services. For more information, see the plan’s Master Benefit Plan Document. No. Out-of-network benefits are not covered unless authorized in advance or an emergency, so balance billing does not apply. No. Out-of-network benefits are not covered unless authorized in advance or an emergency, so typically balance billing should not apply.  $6,750 per person, $13,500 per family These reset on January 1.  $6,750 per person, $13,500 per family These reset on September 1.  $6,750 per person, $13,500 per family These reset on September 1.  None None $2,000 per person $2,000 per person  None None  $750 copay max, up to five days per hospital stay $2,250 copay max per plan year per person  $750 copay max, up to five days per hospital stay $2,250 copay max per plan year per person  No No Yes No  No No No No 

	EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 
	EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 
	EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 
	EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 
	1 
	EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 
	Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM High-deductible Plan In Network  Consumer Directed HealthSelect High-deductible Plan Out of Network  Community First Health Plans HMO In Network  Scott and White Care Plans HMO In Network $2,100 per individual, $4,200 per family Note: To help cover part of the deductible, the State contibutes to an eligible member’s health savings account: $540/year for an individual, $1,080/ year for a family. $4,200 per individual, $8,400 per family Note: To help cover part of the deductible, the State contibutes to an eligible member’s health savings account: $540/year for an individual, $1,080/ year for a family. None None  Yes. See below for benefit details for out-of-network services. No, except for emergency and urgent care services, services provided by out-of-network facility-based providers in a network facility, and out-of-network services that are authorized in advance by the plan.  No, except for emergency and urgent care services, services provided by out-of-network facility-based providers in a network facility, and out-of-network services that are authorized in advance by the plan.  Yes. Balance billing may apply to certain out-network services. For more information, see the plan’s Master Benefit Plan Document. No. Out-of-network benefits are not covered unless authorized in advance or an emergency, so balance billing does not apply. No. Out-of-network benefits are not covered unless authorized in advance or an emergency, so typically balance billing should not apply.  $6,750 per person, $13,500 per family These reset on January 1.  $6,750 per person, $13,500 per family These reset on September 1.  $6,750 per person, $13,500 per family These reset on September 1.  None None $2,000 per person $2,000 per person  None None  $750 copay max, up to five days per hospital stay $2,250 copay max per plan year per person  $750 copay max, up to five days per hospital stay $2,250 copay max per plan year per person  No No Yes No  No No No No 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	Medical Benefits - Member’s Share of the Cost 
	Medical Benefits - Member’s Share of the Cost 
	Allergy treatment 
	Medical Benefits - Member’s Share of the Cost 
	Medical Benefits - Member’s Share of the Cost 
	Medical Benefits - Member’s Share of the Cost 
	Not covered 
	No cost to participant(s) if administered in a physician’s office, 20% in any other outpatient location 
	Medical Benefits - Member’s Share of the Cost 
	Medical Benefits - Member’s Share of the Cost 
	Consumer Directed HealthSelect High-deductible Plan Out of Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 

	Medical Benefits - Member’s Share of the Cost 
	Medical Benefits - Member’s Share of the Cost 
	Medical Benefits - Member’s Share of the Cost 
	20% coinsurance after the annual deductible is met 
	Medical Benefits - Member’s Share of the Cost 
	Not covered 

	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State Out of Network 
	Medical Benefits - Member’s Share of the Cost 
	Consumer Directed HealthSelect High-deductible Plan Out of Network 

	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State Out of Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	$150 copay plus 20% 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	of-State pay up to $1,000 per ear every three  years and cover in-network and out-of-network  hearing aids at the same benefit level. 
	$300 copay plus 20%. Annual deductible does not apply. For non-emergencies, $300 copay plus 40% coinsurance after the annual out-of-network deductible is met 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	Community First Health Plans HMO In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State Out of Network 

	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	40% coinsurance after the annual deductible is met 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	Consumer Directed HealthSelect pays up  to $1,000 per ear every three years (after deductible is met) and covers in-network and out-of-network hearing aids at the same benefit level. 

	Consumer Directed HealthSelect High-deductible Plan In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	Community First Health Plans HMO In Network 

	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State Out of Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State Out of Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	20% 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	20% coinsurance after the annual deductible is met 
	40% coinsurance after the annual deductible is met 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	Community First Health Plans HMO In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State Out of Network 

	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	40% coinsurance after the annual deductible is met 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	40% coinsurance after the annual deductible is met 

	Consumer Directed HealthSelect High-deductible Plan In Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	Community First Health Plans HMO In Network 

	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State Out of Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	Mental Health/Behavioral Health/Substance Abuse Benefits –Member’s Share of Cost 
	Mental Health/Behavioral Health/Substance Abuse Benefits –Member’s Share of Cost 
	Mental health administrator and network 
	Mental Health/Behavioral Health/Substance Abuse Benefits –Member’s Share of Cost 
	Mental Health/Behavioral Health/Substance Abuse Benefits –Member’s Share of Cost 
	Mental Health/Behavioral Health/Substance Abuse Benefits –Member’s Share of Cost 
	Mental health telemedicine 
	BCBSTX effective September 1, 2020 
	Mental Health/Behavioral Health/Substance Abuse Benefits –Member’s Share of Cost 
	Mental Health/Behavioral Health/Substance Abuse Benefits –Member’s Share of Cost 
	Consumer Directed HealthSelect High-deductible Plan Out of Network 
	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 

	Mental Health/Behavioral Health/Substance Abuse Benefits –Member’s Share of Cost 
	Mental Health/Behavioral Health/Substance Abuse Benefits –Member’s Share of Cost 
	Mental Health/Behavioral Health/Substance Abuse Benefits –Member’s Share of Cost 
	20% coinsurance after the annual deductible is met 
	Mental Health/Behavioral Health/Substance Abuse Benefits –Member’s Share of Cost 
	billed ($25 copay if mental health office visit, 20% for any 

	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State Out of Network 
	Mental Health/Behavioral Health/Substance Abuse Benefits –Member’s Share of Cost 
	Consumer Directed HealthSelect High-deductible Plan Out of Network 

	HealthSelect of Texas and HealthSelect Out-of-State In Network 
	– 
	Prescription Drug Benefits and Coverage 
	Prescription Drug Benefits and Coverage 
	OptumRx (UnitedHealthcare) 
	Prescription Drug Benefits and Coverage 
	Prescription Drug Benefits and Coverage 
	Prescription Drug Benefits and Coverage 
	Tier 1 (mostly generic drugs) 
	OptumRx (UnitedHealthcare) 
	Prescription Drug Benefits and Coverage 
	Prescription Drug Benefits and Coverage 
	Pharmacy benefits manager (PBM) 
	– 

	Prescription Drug Benefits and Coverage 
	Prescription Drug Benefits and Coverage 
	Prescription Drug Benefits and Coverage 
	$50 prescription drug deductible per participant per calendar year applies before the plan pays for any prescription drugs 
	Prescription Drug Benefits and Coverage 
	$10 copayment (nonmaintenance), $10 copayment (maintenance); $30 copayment (90-day supply mail order or extended day supply pharmacy) 

	Member’s Share of Cost 
	Prescription Drug Benefits and Coverage 
	Pharmacy benefits manager (PBM) 

	– 
	Programs for a healthy life 
	Programs for a healthy life 
	• 
	Programs for a healthy life 
	Programs for a healthy life 
	Programs for a healthy life 
	• 
	Get clinical support making informed choices about treatment options or services related to coronary disease, chronic back pain, hip or knee replacement, benign prostate disease, prostate and breast cancer, benign uterine condition, endometriosis and fibroids. 
	Programs for a healthy life 
	Programs for a healthy life 
	Get support for managing chronic conditions like diabetes, heart failure, coronary artery disease (CAD), asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). 

	Programs for a healthy life 
	Programs for a healthy life 
	Programs for a healthy life 
	• 
	Programs for a healthy life 
	Use interactive tools like the symptom checker. 

	Participants can: 
	Programs for a healthy life 
	Get support for managing chronic conditions like diabetes, heart failure, coronary artery disease (CAD), asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). 

	The Texas Employees Group 
	Health assessments 
	Disease management 
	• 
	of scientifically 
	The Texas Employees Group 

	Tobacco cessation 
	• 

	Benefits Program 
	of scientifically 

	The Texas Employees Group 
	When do my insurance benefits start? 
	First of the month after 60 days 
	If you are in one of the categories above, please notify your HR department within 31 days to start receiving your health benefits. For those starting mid-month, coverage under your new employer begins the first of the next month. 
	of employment 
	First of the month following your date of hire 
	When do my insurance benefits start? 

	• 
	If you do not have a waiting period, you will have 31 days to make health coverage changes. Those changes will begin the first day of the next month. However, if you transferred as an employee from one GBP entity to another with no break in service, start your job on the first day of the month and change your health coverage that day, the change takes place immediately. 

	First day of employment 
	First of the month following your date of hire 

	When do my insurance benefits start? 
	Dental insurance 
	Dental insurance 
	SM
	Dental insurance 
	Dental insurance 
	Dental insurance 
	. com or call Delta Dental toll-free at (888) 818-7925 (TTY: 711) and they will mail a paper copy to you. 
	 or DeltaCare USA DMHO at 
	Dental insurance 
	Dental insurance 
	Dental insurance 
	Dental insurance 
	Dental insurance 
	• 
	Dental insurance 
	Note: Covered dependents cannot access the app, and their names are not listed on the card. A dependent can verify coverage with a provider by giving either their name or the GBP member’s name and plan ID number. 

	For an additional premium, you may enroll in one of the following two dental plans. 
	Dental insurance 
	DeltaCare USA DHMO (Services from participating PCDs only) 
	Dental plans comparison chart 
	Dental plans comparison chart 
	Deductibles 
	Dental plans comparison chart 
	Dental plans comparison chart 
	Dental plans comparison chart 
	Average cost of cleaning / oral exams 
	None 
	Dental plans comparison chart 
	Dental plans comparison chart 
	You must select a primary care dentist (PCD). NOTE: Not all participating dentists accept new patients. Dentists are  not required to stay on the plan for  the entire year. 
	DeltaCare USA DHMO (Services from participating PCDs only) 

	Dental plans comparison chart 
	Dental plans comparison chart 
	Dental plans comparison chart 
	$2,000 per covered individual (includes orthodontic extractions) 
	Dental plans comparison chart 
	Vary according to service and are  listed in the “Schedule of Dental Benefits” booklet. Up to two cleaning/oral exams per calendar year allowed. 

	State of Texas Dental Choice Plan PPO Administered by Delta Dental 
	Dental plans comparison chart 
	You must select a primary care dentist (PCD). NOTE: Not all participating dentists accept new patients. Dentists are  not required to stay on the plan for  the entire year. 

	DeltaCare USA DHMO (Services from participating PCDs only) 
	Vision Plan 
	Vision Plan 
	https://www.stateoftexasvision.com
	Vision Plan 
	Vision Plan 
	Vision Plan 
	$150 retail allowance 
	. 
	Vision Plan 
	Vision Plan 
	SM

	Vision Plan 
	Vision Plan 
	Vision Plan 
	$15 copay 
	Vision Plan 
	Not covered 

	Your health insurance plan covers some vision and eye health services, including an annual eye exam and treatment for diseases of the eye. (See the chart below.) 
	Vision Plan 
	SM

	Optional Term Life Insurance 
	Optional life and voluntary AD&D insurance 
	Optional life and voluntary AD&D insurance 
	Securian’s website for GBP members can help you decide how much life insurance coverage you might need: 
	Optional life and voluntary AD&D insurance 
	Optional life and voluntary AD&D insurance 
	Optional life and voluntary AD&D insurance 
	. 
	https://
	Optional life and voluntary AD&D insurance 
	Optional life and voluntary AD&D insurance 
	You can apply for Optional Term Life Election 3 or 4 
	Optional Term Life Insurance 

	Optional life and voluntary AD&D insurance 
	Optional life and voluntary AD&D insurance 
	Optional life and voluntary AD&D insurance 
	Optional life and voluntary AD&D insurance 
	Your health coverage through ERS includes $5,000 of Basic Term Life Insurance and $5,000 of Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) coverage at no cost to you. You can purchase additional life insurance coverage in increments based on your annual salary. Optional Term Life Insurance, in addition to the Basic Term Life Insurance benefit included with your health coverage, is insured by Securian. 
	Optional life and voluntary AD&D insurance 
	You can apply for Optional Term Life Election 3 or 4 

	Optional Term Life Insurance 
	Voluntary AD&D coverage can provide additional financial support when there is an accidental injury or death. You can choose insurance in increments of $5,000, starting at $10,000 up to $200,000. You will not have to provide EOI for AD&D Insurance. Securian insures AD&D insurance benefits. 
	Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 
	Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 
	Enrolled family members are covered at partial benefit levels. Your spouse is covered at 50% of your enrolled amount. Eligible children are covered at a lower percentage, which is reduced if your spouse is alive at the time of your child’s death. 
	Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 
	Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 
	Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 
	• 
	• 
	Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 
	Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 
	• 
	Voluntary AD&D coverage can provide additional financial support when there is an accidental injury or death. You can choose insurance in increments of $5,000, starting at $10,000 up to $200,000. You will not have to provide EOI for AD&D Insurance. Securian insures AD&D insurance benefits. 

	Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 
	Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 
	Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 
	Disability insurance 
	Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 
	Long-term disability insurance provides a maximum benefit of 60% of your monthly salary (with a cap of $6,000 per month for those making more than $10,000 monthly). For example, if your salary is $4,000 per month, your monthly long-term disability payment would be $2,400. Benefits are paid until you return to work, reach full Social Security retirement age or are no longer considered disabled under the plan. If you become disabled at 69 or older, benefits are payable for up to 12 months. (Note: For some mental diseases and disorders, the maximum benefit period for disability is two years.) 

	You can sign up for coverage for yourself only, or for yourself and your eligible dependents. 
	Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 
	• 

	Voluntary AD&D coverage can provide additional financial support when there is an accidental injury or death. You can choose insurance in increments of $5,000, starting at $10,000 up to $200,000. You will not have to provide EOI for AD&D Insurance. Securian insures AD&D insurance benefits. 
	Short-term Disability Coverage 
	TIPP coverage overview 
	TIPP coverage overview 
	After a waiting period of 30 consecutive days or after you’ve used all your sick leave (whichever is longer); sick leave can be used during the 30-day waiting period 
	TIPP coverage overview 
	TIPP coverage overview 
	TIPP coverage overview 
	In 2011, Lutishia became disabled due to arthritis and related injuries. Her disability insurance payments made  up for a portion of the income she lost when she could no  longer work. 
	After a waiting period of 180 consecutive days or after you’ve used all your sick leave (whichever is longer); sick leave can be used during the 180-day waiting period 
	TIPP coverage overview 
	TIPP coverage overview 
	66% of your monthly salary, up to $10,000 
	Short-term Disability Coverage 

	TIPP coverage overview 
	TIPP coverage overview 
	TIPP coverage overview 
	Thomas Barker-White 
	TIPP coverage overview 
	As a result, the couple was able to manage their finances without any substantial changes. 

	Long-term Disability Coverage 
	TIPP coverage overview 
	66% of your monthly salary, up to $10,000 

	Short-term Disability Coverage 
	Participating in one or more of the TexFlex
	SM 
	SM 
	help you decide how much you’d like to contribute. 
	SM 
	SM 
	SM 
	If you submit a claim for reimbursement online or by mail or fax, TexFlex will mail a check to you. For quicker reimbursement, set up a direct deposit for funds to be deposited directly into your bank account within a few days. 
	Active employees may be eligible to enroll in more than one TexFlex account at a time. See the following charts for rules that apply to each type of account. 
	SM 
	SM 
	Save on taxes 
	Participating in one or more of the TexFlex

	SM 
	SM 
	SM 
	Visit 
	SM 
	Keep your receipts 

	SM
	SM 
	Save on taxes 

	Participating in one or more of the TexFlex
	Health and dependent care 
	Flexible spending accounts charts 
	Flexible spending accounts charts 
	Vision and dental expenses not covered by insurance 
	Flexible spending accounts charts 
	Flexible spending accounts charts 
	Flexible spending accounts charts 
	Grace period (extra time to incur expenses under FY21 account) from Sept. 1, 2021 to Nov. 15, 2021 Any remaining funds over $550 are forfeited. 
	• Day care, after-school care and summer day camp for dependent children under age 13 • Adult “day” care for qualifying individuals 
	Flexible spending accounts charts 
	Flexible spending accounts charts 
	Dependent care FSA 
	Health and dependent care 

	Flexible spending accounts charts 
	Flexible spending accounts charts 
	Flexible spending accounts charts 
	Yes 
	Flexible spending accounts charts 
	Runout period 

	Health care FSA 
	Flexible spending accounts charts 
	Dependent care FSA 

	Health and dependent care 
	Transit 
	Commuter 
	Commuter 
	$270 per month 
	Commuter 
	Commuter 
	Commuter 
	for more information.
	$270 per month 
	Commuter 
	Commuter 
	Eligible mass transit or vanpool expenses associated with travel to and from work,  including bus, train or subway. 
	Transit 

	Commuter 
	Commuter 
	Commuter 
	Carryover of funds 
	Commuter 
	Parking 
	Commuter 
	Eligible mass transit or vanpool expenses associated with travel to and from work,  including bus, train or subway. 

	Transit 
	As a state employee, you will contribute a portion of your salary each month into a State of Texas Retirement account that ERS manages and invests for you. Your contributions begin the month you start working for the state. The State of Texas retirement program is a 401(a) defined benefit retirement plan. Defined benefit retirement plans are valuable benefits that few employers offer anymore. 
	State of Texas Retirement 
	State of Texas Retirement 
	For information about your State of Texas Retirement,  including annuity calculators, your minimum retirement age and retirement benefits, go to h
	State of Texas Retirement 
	State of Texas Retirement 
	State of Texas Retirement 
	State of Texas DisabilityRetirement for regular state
	ttps://www. 
	State of Texas Retirement 
	State of Texas Retirement 
	If you leave state employment before you’re eligible to retire, you can keep your retirement contributions where  they are or move them to another retirement account. You  can also request a refund for the amount you contributed  plus interest, minus taxes. You should consult a tax advisor  to learn if you might face any tax penalty for withdrawing  the funds before a certain age. 
	As a state employee, you will contribute a portion of your salary each month into a State of Texas Retirement account that ERS manages and invests for you. Your contributions begin the month you start working for the state. The State of Texas retirement program is a 401(a) defined benefit retirement plan. Defined benefit retirement plans are valuable benefits that few employers offer anymore. 

	State of Texas Retirement 
	State of Texas Retirement 
	State of Texas Retirement 
	. 
	State of Texas Retirement 
	employees, certified peace officers (CPOs) and custodial officers (COs) 

	In a defined benefit plan, employees must contribute a percentage of their salary (currently 9.5%) to the ERS  retirement fund. The state currently also contributes an  amount equal to 9.5% of your salary. Your agency or  institution currently contributes an additional 0.5% to the  fund. (The Texas Legislature decides the percentage of  salary each employee is required to contribute to the ERS  Retirement Trust Fund.) 
	State of Texas Retirement 
	If you leave state employment before you’re eligible to retire, you can keep your retirement contributions where  they are or move them to another retirement account. You  can also request a refund for the amount you contributed  plus interest, minus taxes. You should consult a tax advisor  to learn if you might face any tax penalty for withdrawing  the funds before a certain age. 

	As a state employee, you will contribute a portion of your salary each month into a State of Texas Retirement account that ERS manages and invests for you. Your contributions begin the month you start working for the state. The State of Texas retirement program is a 401(a) defined benefit retirement plan. Defined benefit retirement plans are valuable benefits that few employers offer anymore. 
	Jo Ann Norman 
	Norman says her ERS retirement annuity combined with Social Security have allowed her to live by herself and  to avoid having to move in with her children. (She has  four children, 10 or 11 grandchildren, and more great- grandchildren than she can keep track of.) She has also  been able to provide financial help when a grandchild was  diagnosed with cancer. 
	She herself has had knee surgery. The experience made her especially grateful for the health insurance  and prescription drug coverage she receives as an ERS  retiree. “I had one of the best knee surgeons in the state.  The care I received was tremendous.” 
	Some 50 to 100 inmates attend services at one of four different Gatesville units every Friday night. Women of  different ages and backgrounds gather in the prison prayer  room for two hours of prayer and fellowship. 
	Jo Ann Norman 
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	have at least 10 years of actual ERS service credit (not counting military service). 
	Additional Service Credit (ASC) 
	Additional Service Credit (ASC) 
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	The following Texas retirement systems are part of the Proportionate Retirement Program (PRP): 
	The cost of ASC is based on actuarial factors such as your age, years of service and salary. It tends to be more expensive than withdrawn and military service.. 
	Additional Service Credit (ASC) 
	Additional Service Credit (ASC) 
	• 
	You can buy up to three years of Additional Service Credit if you: 

	Additional Service Credit (ASC) 
	Additional Service Credit (ASC) 
	Additional Service Credit (ASC) 
	https://www.ers.texas.gov Active-Employees/ 
	Additional Service Credit (ASC) 
	• 

	• 
	Additional Service Credit (ASC) 
	• 

	You can buy up to three years of Additional Service Credit if you: 
	Retirement Preparation:Member's Share of Responsibility 
	Retirement Preparation:Member's Share of Responsibility 
	Your monthly State of Texas Retirement annuity will be an important source of income during retirement, but it probably won’t replace your full salary as an active employee. In fact, for most retirees, their annuity is about half the salary they earned while working and opportunities for annuity increases like COLAs are very rare. That’s why it’s important for you to have other sources of retirement income, such as personal retirement savings. 
	Retirement Preparation:Member's Share of Responsibility 
	Retirement Preparation:Member's Share of Responsibility 
	Retirement Preparation:Member's Share of Responsibility 
	Defer unused annual leave when you leave state employment (instead of taking a cash payout, to reduce taxes) 
	The Texa$aver 401(k) / 457 Program offers the chance to save for retirement through a variety of investment opportunities at lower-than-average fees. 
	Retirement Preparation:Member's Share of Responsibility 
	Retirement Preparation:Member's Share of Responsibility 
	 401(k) / 457 Program 
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	Retirement Preparation:Member's Share of Responsibility 
	• 

	Texa$aver
	Retirement Preparation:Member's Share of Responsibility 
	 401(k) / 457 Program 

	For many people, one of the hardest part of saving for retirement is knowing how best to invest their individual account, like a Texa$aver 401(k) or 457. With a target date fund, you get a professionally managed portfolio in a single investment option–with a mix of investments that changes based on your “target” retirement date. The mix of investments grows more conservative as you approach the target date you when you are expected to start withdrawing your money (generally assumed to be age 65). The principal value of the fund(s) is not guaranteed at any time, including at the time of the target date and/or withdrawal. 
	What is a target date fund? 
	What is a target date fund? 
	$694 ($166,560 total savings + investment earnings) 
	What is a target date fund? 
	What is a target date fund? 
	What is a target date fund? 
	$16,000.01 to $32,000.00 
	Age 40  ($20,400 total investment) 
	What is a target date fund? 
	What is a target date fund? 
	Age at which you start contributing $68 monthly 
	For many people, one of the hardest part of saving for retirement is knowing how best to invest their individual account, like a Texa$aver 401(k) or 457. With a target date fund, you get a professionally managed portfolio in a single investment option–with a mix of investments that changes based on your “target” retirement date. The mix of investments grows more conservative as you approach the target date you when you are expected to start withdrawing your money (generally assumed to be age 65). The principal value of the fund(s) is not guaranteed at any time, including at the time of the target date and/or withdrawal. 
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	What is a target date fund? 
	Account Balance 
	What is a target date fund? 
	$3.08 

	Beginning the first month of your employment, 1% of your paycheck will automatically be invested in a LifePath Target Date Fund, but you can change your Texa$aver investment option at any time. 
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	For many people, one of the hardest part of saving for retirement is knowing how best to invest their individual account, like a Texa$aver 401(k) or 457. With a target date fund, you get a professionally managed portfolio in a single investment option–with a mix of investments that changes based on your “target” retirement date. The mix of investments grows more conservative as you approach the target date you when you are expected to start withdrawing your money (generally assumed to be age 65). The principal value of the fund(s) is not guaranteed at any time, including at the time of the target date and/or withdrawal. 
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	ERS holds seminars, webinars, fairs and other events throughout the year. 
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	Monthly Premiums 
	Monthly Premiums 
	 Medicare Advantage and KelseyCare Advantage Medicare health maintenance organization  (MA HMO) also may change, but any rate changes for those plans would be effective January 1, 2021. Information on possible rate changes for those plans will be available in the fall. 
	Monthly Premiums 
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	Monthly Premiums 
	1,103.58 
	Full-time Employees and RetireesNot Eligible for Medicare 
	Monthly Premiums 
	Monthly Premiums 
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	Monthly Premiums 
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	Monthly Premiums 
	$ 0.00 
	Monthly Premiums 
	864.20 

	EMPLOYEES, RETIREES NOT ELIGIBLE FOR MEDICARE,  SURVIVING DEPENDENTS AND COBRA 
	Monthly Premiums 
	September 1, 2020 - August 31, 2021 

	PLAN YEAR 2021 RATES 
	Consumer Directed HealthSelect Health Savings Account (HSA) Contribution 
	Consumer Directed HealthSelect Health Savings Account (HSA) Contribution 
	90 monthly ($1,080 annually) 
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	DeltaCare USA DHMO 
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	Dental Insurance (no change from PY20) 
	COBRA Disability 
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	Optional Term Life Insurance (no change from PY20) 
	The plans on this page are not available to surviving dependents, or those enrolled through COBRA and COBRA Disability. 
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	The plans on this page are not available to surviving dependents, or those enrolled through COBRA and COBRA Disability. 
	Election 1  Annual Salary x 1 
	Optional Term Life Insurance (no change from PY20) 

	The plans on this page are not available to surviving dependents, or those enrolled through COBRA and COBRA Disability. 
	The plans on this page are not available to surviving dependents, or those enrolled through COBRA and COBRA Disability. 
	The plans on this page are not available to surviving dependents, or those enrolled through COBRA and COBRA Disability. 
	 0.15 
	The plans on this page are not available to surviving dependents, or those enrolled through COBRA and COBRA Disability. 
	35 - 39

	Optional Term Life Insurance 
	The plans on this page are not available to surviving dependents, or those enrolled through COBRA and COBRA Disability. 
	Election 1  Annual Salary x 1 

	Optional Term Life Insurance (no change from PY20) 
	Balance billing 
	Understanding insurance terms 
	Understanding insurance terms 
	Deductible 
	Understanding insurance terms 
	Understanding insurance terms 
	Understanding insurance terms 
	the amount you are required to pay for covered health care or prescription drug expenses before your plan begins to pay for any services (except in-network preventive care) each year. If you have a $50 prescription drug deductible, for example, you must pay the full cost of the first $50 of covered prescription drugs yourself. Deductibles for the HealthSelect plans reset on January 1, while deductibles for the HMOs reset on September 1. 
	Understanding insurance terms 
	Understanding insurance terms 
	a fixed amount you pay for a covered health service, usually at the time you receive the service. For example, HealthSelect of Texas has a $25 copay per visit to your in-network primary care provider (PCP) for non-preventive care. If you see your PCP for a sore throat, you will pay $25 before you leave the doctor’s office. 
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	Understanding insurance terms 
	Understanding insurance terms 
	Understanding insurance terms 
	Plan year 
	Understanding insurance terms 
	when a patient owes an out-of-network provider for the difference between amount billed by their provider and the amount paid by the plan, after the GBP member pays any applicable deductibles, copays and/or coinsurance. You cannot be balance billed by an in-network provider. 
	Understanding insurance terms 
	a fixed amount you pay for a covered health service, usually at the time you receive the service. For example, HealthSelect of Texas has a $25 copay per visit to your in-network primary care provider (PCP) for non-preventive care. If you see your PCP for a sore throat, you will pay $25 before you leave the doctor’s office. 

	Balance billing 
	Making the best use of your HealthSelect benefits might require a little extra effort. Learn about your coverage,  confirm that all providers are in the network, get  referrals when needed and opt for lower-cost drugs and  providers when appropriate. Taking those extra steps  will help you save money–sometimes a lot of money– and avoid surprise bills, while getting high-quality care. 
	Tips for saving money in HealthSelect plans 
	Tips for saving money in HealthSelect plans 
	Call BCBSTX or visit 
	Tips for saving money in HealthSelect plans 
	Tips for saving money in HealthSelect plans 
	Tips for saving money in HealthSelect plans 
	. (Some specialist visits don’t  require referrals. Find out which on the HealthSelect  website or by calling BCBSTX.) 
	https://healthselectoftexas. 
	Tips for saving money in HealthSelect plans 
	Tips for saving money in HealthSelect plans 
	Out-of-network providers do not have a contract with  BCBSTX to accept the lower amount. If you see an out
	Making the best use of your HealthSelect benefits might require a little extra effort. Learn about your coverage,  confirm that all providers are in the network, get  referrals when needed and opt for lower-cost drugs and  providers when appropriate. Taking those extra steps  will help you save money–sometimes a lot of money– and avoid surprise bills, while getting high-quality care. 
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	Tips for saving money in HealthSelect plans 
	Use the Provider Finder tool. 
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	Out-of-network providers do not have a contract with  BCBSTX to accept the lower amount. If you see an out

	Making the best use of your HealthSelect benefits might require a little extra effort. Learn about your coverage,  confirm that all providers are in the network, get  referrals when needed and opt for lower-cost drugs and  providers when appropriate. Taking those extra steps  will help you save money–sometimes a lot of money– and avoid surprise bills, while getting high-quality care. 
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	Did you know that going to an emergency room can cost you more than five times as much as going to urgent care? Did you also know that it can cost the plan 10 times more, sometimes higher? A procedure that costs your health plan $100 in an urgent care facility can cost more than $1,000 at an emergency room. Why should you care? When costs for the plan increase, premiums increase. Help keep costs low. If you have a primary care provider, you can often schedule an office visit the same day. Urgent care centers have extended hours for whenever the unexpected occurs. Save money, and save the emergency room visit for life-threatening illnesses and accidents. 
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	(800) 
	Did you know that going to an emergency room can cost you more than five times as much as going to urgent care? Did you also know that it can cost the plan 10 times more, sometimes higher? A procedure that costs your health plan $100 in an urgent care facility can cost more than $1,000 at an emergency room. Why should you care? When costs for the plan increase, premiums increase. Help keep costs low. If you have a primary care provider, you can often schedule an office visit the same day. Urgent care centers have extended hours for whenever the unexpected occurs. Save money, and save the emergency room visit for life-threatening illnesses and accidents. 
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	The following is a brief overview of the valuable insurance and retirement benefits available to you. For more details about coverage and eligibility, please read the information in this book, visit the ERS website at 
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	Your benefits plans: At a glance 
	• No coverage for out-of-network care • Smaller provider network than State of Texas Dental Choice PPO • Primary care dentist (PCD) required 
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	This notice applies to you if you are both: 
	Notice of creditable coverage Plan Year 2021 
	Notice of creditable coverage Plan Year 2021 
	Benefits Program (GBP) prescription drug coverage and Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage (sometimes 
	Notice of creditable coverage Plan Year 2021 
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	What is Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage (sometimes called Part D)? 
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	Is private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage free? 
	Q. 
	Q. 
	Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage is offered through private prescription drug plans that have been approved by Medicare. All private Medicare prescription drug plans offer a standard level of coverage set by Medicare. Some plans might also offer more coverage for a higher monthly premium. If you enroll in a private Medicare prescription drug plan, you will receive a prescription drug card that you will present to your pharmacy to cover a portion of your prescription drug costs. 
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	You do not need to sign up for private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage for the coming plan year. However, you should know that if you drop or lose your coverage under the GBP and do not enroll in private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage within 63 days after your current GBP coverage ends, you may be required to pay more to enroll in private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage later. 
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