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All Texas Employees Group Benefits Program (GBP) benefits could change without notice. The Texas Legislature decides 
the level of funding for such benefits and has no continuing obligation to provide those benefits beyond each fiscal year.

Benefits to protect your health and future
As an employee of a State of Texas agency or higher education 
institution, you are eligible to participate in the Texas Employees 
Group Benefits Program (GBP), which provides valuable benefits for 
you and your family.

Summer Enrollment is your chance to review your benefits elections 
and make changes. It is the only time you can make benefit changes 
unless you have a qualifying life event during the plan year. (See  
ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Life-Changes-for-active-
employees for information on qualifying life events.)
You should take this opportunity to refresh your knowledge about 
your coverage options. Consider any life changes you’ve had in 
the past year and think about what medical, dental or vision care 
services you or your family members might need in Plan Year 2023. 
View more details and premium rate sheets at www.ers.texas.gov/
summer-enrollment-2022.

Need to make changes to your 
benefits? 
You should make any needed changes to 
your benefits during your assigned two-week 
Summer Enrollment phase.

Find the dates of your phase in the top left 
corner of your Personal Benefits Enrollment 
Statement, or go to www.ers.texas.gov/
summer-enrollment-2022.

No changes? No action needed
If you want to keep your same coverage, you 
don’t need to do anything. Your benefits will 
stay the same. Benefit elections for the new 
plan year are effective September 1.

Note: If you are enrolled in the TexFlexSM flexible spending account (FSA) program, it is always a good 
idea to double-check your annual elections to your health care or limited-purpose and/or dependent care 
FSAs to make sure the amount is still appropriate for you and your family. 

https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Life-Changes-for-active-employees
https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Life-Changes-for-active-employees
https://www.ers.texas.gov/summer-enrollment-2022
https://www.ers.texas.gov/summer-enrollment-2022
https://www.ers.texas.gov/summer-enrollment-2022
https://www.ers.texas.gov/summer-enrollment-2022
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WHAT’S NEW?

Increases to dental PPO and optional life insurance rates
Premiums for the following plans will increase:  
•	 State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM preferred provider organization (PPO)
•	 Optional Term Life Insurance
•	 Dependent Term Life Insurance

View all Plan Year 2023 rates at www.ers.texas.gov/pdfs/ratesheet-py23.

Changes to flexible spending account (FSA) contribution and 
carryover limits
The IRS establishes the maximum annual limit applicable to flexible spending accounts and carryover amounts. For 
Plan Year 2023, if you have a health care or limited-purpose FSA, you will be able to set aside up to $2,850 for the year 
through monthly, tax-free deductions from your paycheck. The maximum contribution for dependent care FSAs remains 
the same, at $5,000 for the year. 

The carryover amount for health care and limited-purpose FSAs is increasing. If you have a health care or limited-
purpose FSA in Plan Year 2023, you can carry over up to $570 from Plan Year 2023 (ending Aug. 31, 2023) to Plan 
Year 2024 (starting Sept. 1, 2023). See page 13 for more information. 

Changes to out-of-pocket maximums
The HealthSelect of Texas® and Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM health plans’ total annual in-network out-of-pocket 
maximums (medical and pharmacy combined) will increase to $7,050 per person per individual (up from $7,000) and 
$14,100 per family (up from $14,000) to align with the IRS maximums.

Since 2018, ERS health plan premiums have not increased more than 1%, and we 
have not decreased coverage or asked participants to pay more in out-of-pocket 
costs. This is because of continued financial support from the state and ERS’ cost-
management efforts. ERS uses experienced third-party health plan administrators 
to help keep costs down and maintain high-quality coverage for GBP participants.

https://www.ers.texas.gov/pdfs/ratesheet-py23
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HOW TO MAKE BENEFITS CHANGES
Update your elections online—fastest 
and available 24/7
Go online to make changes to your benefits anytime 
during your two-week enrollment phase:

1.	 Go to www.ers.texas.gov.
2.	 Click “My Account Login.” 

3.	 Select “Proceed to Login” if you already have a 
username and password or “Register now” if you need 
to create an account.

4.	 After you log in, confirm that your contact information 
under “My Personal Information” is correct.

5.	 Click “Benefits Enrollment.” 

6.	 Click the “edit” box in front of the benefit election 
you want to change. You will need to do this for each 
election you want to change.

7.	 Click Submit to save all your changes from the main 
Benefits Enrollment page.

8.	 ERS will email you confirmation of your changes, if 
you have an email address in your ERS account. If you 
don’t have an email address in your ERS account, we 
will send a confirmation to your mailing address.

Retirees returning to work
If you are a return-to-work retiree, you can 
switch between retiree and active benefits to begin 
on September 1. Contact your agency’s benefits 
coordinator or Human Resources office during 
your Summer Enrollment phase. Health and 
Human Services Enterprise employees: Contact 
the HHS Employee Service Center.

If you don’t have internet access
Contact the Human Resources office or benefits 
coordinator at your agency or higher education 
institution. HHS Enterprise employees can submit 
changes through the HHS Enterprise Employee 
Service Center at (888) 894-4747.
OR

Call ERS toll-free at (866) 399-6908. Be sure to call 
during your two-week enrollment phase listed on 
your Personal Benefits Enrollment Statement.

Remember
If you’ve reviewed your current benefit elections and 
don’t need to change anything, adjust your annual 
TexFlex flexible spending account contributions 
or update your tobacco-use status, you don’t 
have to do anything. Your current coverage and 
contributions will carry forward to the new plan year.

Note: Like many organizations, the ERS 
Contact Center is facing pandemic-related 
staffing shortages. As a result, it may take us 
longer to answer calls. We sincerely apologize 

for any delays. We continue to do all we can to reduce 
wait times and provide the best service possible.

https://www.ers.texas.gov
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Certifying a dependent child
If you want to enroll dependent children in any insurance 
coverage, you will be asked to certify their eligibility before 
you submit your enrollment elections.

You can certify your dependent children in one of two ways: 

•	 Log in to your ERS OnLine account and click the 
“Benefits Enrollment” link under My Insurance 
Information. 

or 

•	 Complete and print the Dependent Child Certification 
form at ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Forms. You 
must complete a separate form for each dependent child 
to be covered. Turn in the completed form(s) to your 
benefits coordinator or, if you work for HHS, to the HHS 
Employee Service Center.

Verifying eligible dependents for 
health coverage
When you enroll any dependent in health coverage, 
you must prove they are eligible through the dependent 
eligibility verification (DEV) process:

1.	 Enroll your eligible dependents in health coverage and 
certify dependent child(ren), as noted above. (Certifying 
eligible dependent children is separate from verifying 
eligible dependents.)

2.	 ERS will send your information to Alight Solutions, ERS’ 
third-party administrator for dependent verification. Alight 
Solutions will mail you a letter outlining the steps you 
must take to verify that your dependent is eligible for 
coverage.

IMPORTANT: When you get a letter from Alight 
Solutions, open it right away! Carefully review the 
information and keep the deadline in mind.

3.	 Submit the necessary documents according to Alight’s 
instructions by the due date listed on the letter.

If you don’t submit the necessary documents or if you miss 
the deadline, your dependents will be ineligible and will 
lose coverage in all GBP plans. If you have questions about 
dependent eligibility verification, call Alight Solutions toll-
free at (800) 987-6605 (TTY: 711).

Adding dependents previously 
not verified due to dependent 
eligibility verification (DEV)
If you have dependents who were not verified before 
because you missed the DEV deadline or could not provide 
the needed documents, you can add them during Summer 
Enrollment. To do so, you must submit documentation to 
ERS (not Alight) to prove your dependent’s eligibility. If 
your dependents’ eligibility is approved, coverage will begin 
September 1, 2022.

You must provide copies of documents proving dependent 
eligibility (see required documents at ers.texas.gov/
Benefits-at-a-Glance/Dependent-eligibility-chart.pdf), 
plus a note with:

•	 the name of the dependent(s) you are adding to 
coverage,

•	 specific coverage type(s) you are electing to add the 
dependent(s) to (for example: HealthSelect of Texas, 
State of Texas Dental ChoiceSM, etc.) and

•	 the GBP member’s name, last four SSN digits and 
contact phone number.

Mail, fax or email the documentation to ERS. (Do not mail 
the originals. Documents will not be returned to you.) ERS 
must get emailed or faxed documents by July 22, 2022. 
Mailed copies must be postmarked by July 22, 2022.

Mail:	 Employees Retirement System of Texas 
P.O. Box 13207 
Attn: Benefit Support Services 
Austin, TX 78711-3207

Fax:	 (512) 867-7438

Email:	 erscustomer.service@ers.texas.gov

Adding coverage for a dependent 
previously not verified? Don’t miss 
this deadline
ERS must get complete and accurate documentation 
verifying that dependents are eligible for coverage by 
July 22, 2022.

COVERAGE FOR DEPENDENTS
Your spouse and other eligible dependents can get health insurance and other coverage for an additional premium. 
However, you must be enrolled in a plan before you can enroll your dependents. Visit ers.texas.gov/New-Employee/
Insurance-Eligibility to learn which dependents are eligible for ERS benefits

https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Forms
https://ers.texas.gov/Benefits-at-a-Glance/Dependent-eligibility-chart.pdf
https://ers.texas.gov/Benefits-at-a-Glance/Dependent-eligibility-chart.pdf
mailto:erscustomer.service%40ers.texas.gov%20?subject=
mailto:erscustomer.service%40ers.texas.gov%20?subject=
mailto:erscustomer.service%40ers.texas.gov%20?subject=
mailto:erscustomer.service%40ers.texas.gov%20?subject=
mailto:erscustomer.service%40ers.texas.gov%20?subject=
mailto:erscustomer.service%40ers.texas.gov%20?subject=
mailto:erscustomer.service%40ers.texas.gov%20?subject=
https://ers.texas.gov/New-Employee/Insurance-Eligibility
https://ers.texas.gov/New-Employee/Insurance-Eligibility
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YOUR HEALTH INSURANCE OPTIONS
View the health plan comparison chart included in your Summer Enrollment packet to compare commonly used medical, 
mental health and prescription drug benefits in the HealthSelect plans. 

For more details on each plan, read the Master Benefits Plan Document on the HealthSelect website: https://healthselect.
bcbstx.com/content/medical-benefits/index. 
Each plan’s Summary of Benefits and Coverage (SBC) also provides an easy-to-understand overview of coverage. Plan 
Year 2023 SBCs will be available starting June 20, 2022.

Health insurance plan 
features at a glance HealthSelect of Texas® Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM

Key advantages

•	 Lower out-of-pocket costs for in-network care
•	 Copays for certain in-network services, like 
primary care provider (PCP) office visits

•	 Large statewide network, and large 
nationwide network for those who live or work 
outside Texas

•	 Tax-advantaged health savings account (HSA), 
with monthly contributions from the state

•	 Large statewide and nationwide networks
•	 Referrals not required
•	 Lower monthly premium than HealthSelect of 
Texas for dependents and part-time employees

In-network 
preventive care 
covered at 100%

Yes Yes

Prescription drug 
coverage Yes Yes

Key downside(s)

•	 Referrals needed for most specialty care
•	 Monthly premiums for dependents and part-

time employees are higher than Consumer 
Directed HealthSelect

•	 Except for specific preventive services and a 
few limited items, the plan pays nothing until 
the deductible is met

•	 Must meet IRS’ eligibility guidelines to 
participate in the HSA

Might be good for 
people who…

•	 Want to keep their out-of-pocket costs low
•	 Don’t mind getting referrals for specialty care
•	 Are willing to pay higher dependent or part-time 

employee premiums

•	 Usually have low (or very high) health expenses
•	 Can afford to pay for medical and pharmacy 
expenses out-of-pocket until deductible is met

•	 Want the state’s tax-free HSA contribution
•	 Don’t want to get referrals for specialty care

Waiving health coverage: 
What you should know
If you waive your health coverage, you also 
give up your prescription drug coverage 
and will no longer have the $5,000 Basic 
Term Life and $5,000 AD&D coverage.

If you waive your GBP health insurance and 
later lose your other health coverage due to 
a valid qualifying life event (QLE), you may 
enroll in health insurance offered through 
ERS if you sign up within 31 days of losing 
your other health insurance coverage.

Health Insurance Opt-Out Credit
If you can certify that you have other health insurance that is equal to 
or better than coverage offered through ERS, you can sign up for the 
Health Insurance Opt-Out Credit. You must be eligible for the state 
contribution toward your health insurance premium to qualify for the 
Opt-Out Credit.

The credit is up to $60 for full-time employees and $30 for part-time 
employees. You can apply this credit to your dental, vision and/or 
Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) insurance 
premiums. There is no refund for any unused portion of the $60 or 
$30 credit. When you opt out of your health plan, you are also giving 
up your prescription drug coverage and Basic Term Life Insurance 
coverage.

The Health Insurance Opt-Out Credit is not available if:
•	 your only other insurance is Medicare,
•	 you have health insurance coverage through ERS as a dependent,
•	 you are not eligible for the state contribution or
•	 you get a state contribution for health insurance coverage from 
another group benefit plan.

https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/medical-benefits/index
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/medical-benefits/index
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Participants in HealthSelect of Texas or Consumer Directed HealthSelect have access to a network of more than 110,000 
medical and mental health providers in Texas. Each plan includes a prescription drug program. ERS sets the plan benefits 
and pays claims. Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas (BCBSTX) manages the provider network, processes claims and 
provides customer service.

HEALTHSELECT OF TEXAS AND  
CONSUMER DIRECTED HEALTHSELECT

HealthSelect of Texas is a point-of-service health insurance 
plan. With this type of plan, you generally pay less if all of 
your medical care is handled by in-network providers. While 
the plan will cover out-of-network care, you will pay more—
sometimes a lot more— than you pay for in-network care. 
(Learn about avoiding surprise medical bills at www.ers.
texas.gov/Avoiding-Unexpected-Health-Costs.)
In this plan, you must designate a primary care provider 
(PCP) in the HealthSelect network who will manage your 
care and provide referrals to specialists to get the highest 
level of benefit. If your providers are in the HealthSelect 
network, you do not have to meet a deductible and the plan 
begins to pay right away.

HealthSelect of Texas annual 
medical deductibles
For Plan Year 2023
Deductibles are based on the calendar year and reset 
January 1. There is no deductible for in-network providers.

This does not include the annual $50 per-person 
prescription drug deductible.

In-network Out-of-network

Individual $0 $500

Family $0 $1,500 ($500  
per participant)

See details about how the family deductible is applied 
in the HealthSelect of Texas Master Benefit Plan 
Document at https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/
publications-and-forms/index.

Copays and coinsurance
HealthSelect of Texas participants are responsible for 
copays and/or coinsurance for doctor and hospital visits, 
procedures like outpatient surgery and other medical 
services. For example, if you have outpatient surgery at an 
in-network facility, you will pay a $100 copay and 20% of 
the allowable amount.

Why do you need a PCP?
HealthSelect of Texas participants who live and work 
in Texas must get a referral from their designated 
primary care provider (PCP) to see specialists and 
get in-network benefits for specialist services. If you 
do not get a referral from your PCP, you will pay 
more for your treatment, even if the specialist is in 
the HealthSelect network.

Your PCP is a valued partner in your health care. 
They get to know you, your medical history and your 
lifestyle. If you have a medical issue, your PCP can 
make it easier and faster to get the care you need.

You do not need a referral from your PCP for:
•	 routine and diagnostic eye exams;
•	 OB-GYN visits;
•	 mental health services;
•	 chiropractic visits, occupational therapy, speech 

therapy and physical therapy;
•	 virtual visits through Doctor on Demand® or 
MDLIVE® for medical or mental health care; or 

•	 urgent care centers and convenience care clinics.

Make the most of your 
HealthSelect benefits
Your health care coverage is not just about helping you 
when you’re sick. Learn about programs and incentives 
to keep you well at www.healthselectoftexas.com
A BCBSTX Personal Health Assistant also can 
answer questions about your plan’s benefits and 
coverage and direct you to useful programs and 
tools. Call (800) 252-8039 (TTY: 711) toll-free, 
Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. CT,  
and Saturday from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. CT.

To learn more about your prescription drug  
benefits, see page [xx] of this guide, visit  
www.healthselectrx.com or call (855) 828-9834 
(TTY 711), 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

https://www.ers.texas.gov/Avoiding-Unexpected-Health-Costs
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Avoiding-Unexpected-Health-Costs
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/publications-and-forms/index
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/publications-and-forms/index
http://www.healthselectoftexas.com
http://www.healthselectrx.com


2022 Summer Enrollment | ERS | 7 

Consumer Directed HealthSelect is a high-
deductible health plan paired with a tax-free health 
savings account (HSA). The high deductible 
means you could have higher out-of-pocket costs 

before your health plan begins to pay for your non-preventive medical services and 
prescription drugs. The plan covers in-network preventive services at 100%. It is 
available to GBP participants who are not enrolled in Medicare.
In this plan, you are responsible for all non-preventive health care costs, including 
prescription drug costs, until you meet the annual deductible. The deductible is based 
on the calendar year and resets on January 1.

Consumer Directed HealthSelect annual deductibles
For Plan Year 2023 (includes prescription drugs)

In-network Out-of-network
Individual $2,100 $4,200
Family $4,200 $8,400
After you meet the deductible, you pay coinsurance (20% in network, 40% out of network) 
for medical services and prescriptions. You do not have a copay for any services in this plan.
You don’t need to designate a primary care provider (PCP) or get referrals to see specialists 
in Consumer Directed HealthSelect. Also, you will likely pay less for care—sometimes much 
less—if you see a provider who is in the network.

Health savings account
Consumer Directed HealthSelect participants can save money by setting up a health 
savings account (HSA) to pay eligible health care expenses. When you contribute to an 
HSA, you also save money on federal taxes by lowering your taxable income. Eligible 
plan participants also get a monthly contribution from the state.
Use money in your HSA to pay for qualified medical expenses for yourself, your spouse 
and eligible dependents, even if they aren’t covered under your insurance. Learn more 
at https://hsastore.com/learn/taxes/who-can-i-cover-hsa and www.optumbank.
com/all-products/medical-expenses.html.
You can make pre-tax contributions to your HSA through payroll deductions. If you are 
age 55 or older, you can contribute an additional $1,000 each year. All the money in 
your HSA carries over from one year to the next, and you keep the funds if you change 
health plans or leave state employment.
The IRS sets the maximum contribution amount each year (see chart). HSA 
contributions and limits may change from year to year, or based on eligibility 
requirements and the participant’s age. Maximums include both pre-tax and post-
tax contributions to an HSA. The state’s contributions and any monthly contributions 
deducted from your paycheck are deposited to accounts by the middle of the month.

HSA contributions and maximums*
Contribution Individual Account Family Account*

Calendar Year 2022 annual 
total maximum contribution 
(Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2022)

Up to age 54: $3,650 
Age 55 and older: $4,650 $7,300

Calendar Year 2023 annual 
total maximum contribution 
(Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2023)

Up to age 54: $3,850 
Age 55 and older: $4,850 $7,750

Fiscal Year 2023 annual state 
contribution (Sept. 1, 2022 – 
Aug. 31, 2023)

$540 ($45 monthly) $1,080 ($90 monthly)

*A family account includes the GBP participant plus any number of dependents enrolled in Consumer 
Directed HealthSelect.

Enrolling in 
Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect? 
Open an Optum 
Bank HSA as soon 
as possible
When you enroll in 
Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect through ERS 
OnLine, you will see a link 
to the Optum Bank website 
(optumbank.com) that 
allows you to immediately 
open a health savings 
account (HSA). If you don’t 
open your HSA through 
ERS OnLine, Optum Bank 
will send you information 
about opening an account 
after you have enrolled 
in Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect. You must 
have an Optum Bank 
HSA to get the state’s 
contribution; the state will 
not make deposits into an 
HSA at another bank.  

Once you’ve opened 
your HSA, Optum Bank 
will send you a debit 
card to pay for eligible 
health care expenses. 
Be aware that you have 
access only to money that 
has accumulated in your 
HSA—not funds that you 
pledged to deposit in the 
future.

Review IRS guidelines or 
consult a tax advisor to 
make sure you are eligible 
to participate in a HSA. 
For more information, visit 
https://texflex.payflex.
com/texflex/frequently-
asked-questions.

https://hsastore.com/learn/taxes/who-can-i-cover-hsa
http://www.optumbank.com/all-products/medical-expenses.html
http://www.optumbank.com/all-products/medical-expenses.html
https://texflex.payflex.com/texflex/frequently-asked-questions
https://texflex.payflex.com/texflex/frequently-asked-questions
https://texflex.payflex.com/texflex/frequently-asked-questions


8 | ERS | 2022 Summer Enrollment

Your health insurance plan includes coverage for prescription drugs. Optum 
Rx administers the prescription drug program for the HealthSelect plans. Learn 
more about Optum Rx at www.healthselectrx.com.

Your prescription drug ID card is separate from your medical ID card. You may 
need to present your card when filling a prescription.

Prescription drugs fall into three categories, called tiers. Under the HealthSelect 
Prescription Drug Program, there are different copays for each tier.

•	 Tier 1 prescriptions are usually inexpensive medications, such as generic 
drugs.

•	 Tier 2 prescriptions are usually lower-cost preferred brand-name drugs.

•	 Tier 3 prescriptions are non-preferred brand-name drugs with a higher cost.

You can lower your own health care costs, and those of the plan, by using 
generic drugs whenever possible.

Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses
To help protect you from extremely high health costs, HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect have out-
of-pocket maximums for care you get from in-network providers. This is the maximum amount you or your family will pay 
in one year for in-network copays, coinsurance and deductibles (as applicable) for covered medical and prescription drug 
expenses. If you reach this maximum, the plan will pay 100% of covered in-network provider and pharmacy expenses for 
the rest of the calendar year. There is no out-of-pocket maximum for out-of-network care.

The out-of-pocket maximums reset every calendar year (January 1). The chart below lists the out-of-pocket maximums for 
the health plans.

In-network out-of-pocket maximums for the HealthSelect plans 
(excluding Medicare plans)

Calendar Year 2022 
(Jan. 1 - Dec. 31, 2022)

$7,000 individual 
$14,000 family (GBP member + one or more covered family member)

Calendar Year 2023 
(Jan. 1 - Dec. 31, 2023)

$7,050 individual 
$14,100 family (GBP member + one or more covered family member)

PRESCRIPTION DRUG COVERAGE

Learn more
See the health plans comparison 
chart that came in your Summer 
Enrollment packet to compare 
prescription drug coverage in 
the different HealthSelect plans. 
Learn additional details about 
your prescription drug coverage 
on your plan’s website or at 
www.ers.texas.gov/Active-
Employees/Health-Benefits/
Prescription-Drug-Programs.

http://www.healthselectrx.com
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Health-Benefits/Prescription-Drug-Programs
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Health-Benefits/Prescription-Drug-Programs
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Health-Benefits/Prescription-Drug-Programs
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Every participant enrolled in a GBP health insurance plan 
must certify their status as a tobacco user or non-user. You 
only need to update your tobacco-use status if you or a 
dependent’s tobacco-use status has changed.

A tobacco user is a person who has used any tobacco 
products five or more times within the past three 
consecutive months. Certified tobacco users pay a monthly 
tobacco user premium.

Tobacco products are all types of tobacco, including but not 
limited to cigarettes, cigars, pipe tobacco, chewing tobacco, 
snuff, dip and all e-cigarettes and vaping products. If you 
or a covered family member uses these products, you are 
required to report it to ERS. 

You can update your tobacco-use status during your 
Summer Enrollment phase through your ERS OnLine 
account, your agency or higher education institution’s 
benefits coordinator or by returning the Tobacco Use 
Certification form to ERS. Failing to do so could result in 
losing your GBP health insurance coverage. If you are 
using the form to update your tobacco-use status, complete 
and print the certification form at www.ers.texas.gov/
PDFs/Forms/Tobacco_User_Certification_ERS2933. You 
don’t need to use the form if you update your certification 
through your ERS OnLine account or your benefits 
coordinator.

Participants who change a certification to tobacco user 
during Summer Enrollment will have the first premium 
deducted from their October 1 paycheck. For more 
information on the tobacco-user premium, see the Plan 
Year 2023 rate sheet (available online at www.ers.texas.
gov/summer-enrollment-2022) or your Personal Benefits 
Enrollment Statement. Read about the tobacco 
policy at www.ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/
Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification.
If your or a dependent’s tobacco use changes during the 
plan year, you should update the status in your account 
as soon as possible. You do not have to wait for Summer 
Enrollment to change the tobacco-use status. 

Tobacco user premium alternative
If you are a tobacco user, you may qualify for an alternative 
to the tobacco user premium, if it complies with your 
doctor’s recommendations. For more information on this 
alternative, called “Choose to Quit,” view the ERS Tobacco 
Policy on ERS’ website (see above).

TOBACCO-USE STATUS

http://www.ers.texas.gov/PDFs/Forms/Tobacco_User_Certification_ERS2933
http://www.ers.texas.gov/PDFs/Forms/Tobacco_User_Certification_ERS2933
https://www.ers.texas.gov/summer-enrollment-2022
https://www.ers.texas.gov/summer-enrollment-2022
https://www.ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification
https://www.ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification
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State of Texas Dental Choice
The State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM is a preferred provider organization 
(PPO) dental insurance plan. You can see any dentist you want, but you will pay 
less if you go to a dentist in one of two Delta Dental networks:
•	 Delta Dental PPO
•	 Delta Premier

All Delta Dental PPO and Delta Premier dentists are in-network providers. You 
get the same coverage in either network, but you may pay less for covered 
services in the Delta Dental PPO network. Delta Premier dentists can charge 
higher rates for the same covered services.

Benefits are available in the United States, Canada and Mexico, if you live in the 
United States.

DeltaCare® USA dental health maintenance 
organization
This is a dental health maintenance organization (DHMO) dental insurance plan.

•	 Coverage applies only to dentists in the Texas service area. Before you 
enroll, make sure there is a DeltaCare® USA network dentist in your area.

•	 You must choose a primary care dentist (PCD) from a list of approved 
providers. You and your enrolled dependents can choose different PCDs.

•	 Services from participating specialty dentists cost 25% less than the dentists’ 
usual charges when specialty care is coordinated by your PCD.

Dental Choice
State of Texas

P
L
A

N

DENTAL INSURANCE

What is a “smart” ID card?
To keep costs low, active employees who sign up for GBP dental insurance will not get an ID card, and participating 
Delta dentists shouldn’t require them.

If you would like a card, you can download a virtual ID card to your smartphone through the Delta Dental app.  
You can also download and print your ID information from www.ERSdentalplans.com or call Delta Dental at 
(888) 818-7925 (TTY: 711), toll-free, and they will mail a paper copy to you.
Your covered dependents cannot access the Delta Dental app, and their names aren’t listed on the ID card. 
Providers can verify your dependent’s coverage using your dependent’s name or your name and the plan ID number.

http://www.ERSdentalplans.com
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Dental plans comparison chart
This chart is a summary of benefits in the two dental insurance plans. See plan booklets for actual coverage and limitations. 

Delta Dental administers both plans. Before starting treatment, discuss the treatment plan and all charges with your dentist.

State of Texas Dental 
Choice Plan PPO –  

In-Network

State of Texas Dental  
Choice Plan PPO –  

Out-of-Network

DeltaCare® USA DHMO 
(Services from participating 

PCDs only)

Dentists In-network dentist Out-of-network dentist

You must select a primary care 
dentist (PCD).
NOTE: Not all in-network dentists 
accept new patients. Dentists are 
not required to stay on the plan 
for the entire year.

Deductibles

Preventive:  
Individual-$0; Family-$0
Combined Basic/Major: 
Individual-$50; Family-$150
Orthodontic services: 
no deductible
In State of Texas Dental Choice, 
deductibles are based on the 
calendar year and reset on 
January 1.

Preventive:
Individual-$50; Family-$150
Combined Basic/Major:
Individual-$100; Family-$300
Orthodontic services: 
no deductible

None

Copays/
coinsurance

Preventive and Diagnostic 
Services: none
Basic Services: 10% 
coinsurance after meeting the 
Basic Services deductible
Major Services: 50% 
coinsurance after meeting the 
Major Services deductible
There is no charge for anything 
over the allowed amount.
After reaching the Maximum 
Calendar Year Benefit, the 
participant pays 60% until 
January 1.

Preventive and Diagnostic Services: 
10% coinsurance after meeting the 
Preventive and Diagnostic deductible
Basic Services: 30% coinsurance 
after meeting the Basic Services 
deductible
Major Services: 60% coinsurance 
after meeting the Major Services 
deductible
Participants may be required to pay the 
difference between the allowed amount 
and billed charges.
Once the Maximum Calendar Year 
Benefit is reached, the participant pays 
100% until January 1.

Primary care dentist (PCD): 
Copays vary according to service 
and are listed in the “Schedule of 
Dental Benefits” booklet.
Specialty dentistry: 75% of the 
dentist’s usual and customary 
fee when specialty care is 
coordinated by the PCD (DHMO 
pays nothing)

Maximum 
calendar year 
benefits

$2,000 per covered individual 
(includes orthodontic extractions) 
plus 40% after Maximum 
Calendar Year Benefit is met

Does not apply to orthodontic services 
provided by out-of-network dentists 
(plan pays $0)

Unlimited

Maximum lifetime 
benefit

$2,000 per covered individual for 
orthodontic services

$2,000 per covered individual for 
orthodontic services Unlimited

Average cost of 
cleaning / oral 
exams

Up to two cleaning/oral exams 
per calendar year allowed

10% of the allowed amount after 
deductible is met
Up to two cleaning/oral exams per 
calendar year allowed

Vary according to service and are 
listed in the “Schedule of Dental 
Benefits” booklet
Up to two cleaning/oral exams per 
calendar year allowed

Orthodontic 
coverage 50% of the allowed amount.

50% of the allowed amount
Participants may be required to pay the 
difference between the allowed amount 
and billed charges.

Orthodontic services 
performed by a general dentist 
listed in the directory with a “0” 
treatment code: child–$1,800; 
adult–$2,100
Orthodontic services 
performed by a specialist: 75% 
of the usual fee (plan pays $0)
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VISION INSURANCE
Your health insurance plan covers some vision and eye health services, including an 
annual eye exam and treatment for diseases of the eye (see chart below).

GBP health plans do not cover the cost of eyeglasses or contact lenses. For this type 
of coverage, you and your eligible dependents can enroll in State of Texas VisionSM for 

an additional monthly premium. (Besides the eye exam, any additional vision offerings through the health plans are value-
added benefits. ERS does not guarantee the length of time that a specific value-added product will be offered.)

Administered by Superior Vision Services, State of Texas Vision covers an eye exam, contact lens fitting and other eyewear 
options. The plan includes an allowance for eyeglass frames or contact lenses, as well as discounts for LASIK. The State of 
Texas Vision plan gives you an annual $200 retail allowance to use towards either contact lenses OR eyeglasses (frames 
and lenses) in the same plan year. For example, if you choose to use your $200 allowance to purchase contact lenses, you 
will not have an allowance for eyeglasses for the remainder of the year. For a complete list of plan benefits and a list of 
providers, visit StateOfTexasVision.com.

Vision coverage comparison chart, in-network services
Listed benefits are available for the plan year period, unless indicated. Benefits differ for out-of-network providers. See your 
health plan materials for details.

State of Texas Vision HealthSelect of 
Texas

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect

Routine eye exam $15 copay $40 copay

After deductible is met: 20% 
coinsurance

Before deductible is met: possibly 
the full cost of the exam

Frames

$200 retail allowance 
in-network

$75 retail allowance 
out-of-network

Not covered Not covered

Standard contact lens fitting* $25 copay Not covered Not covered

Specialty contact lens fitting* $35 copay Not covered Not covered

Single-vision lenses $10 copay Not covered Not covered

Bifocal lenses $15 copay Not covered Not covered

Trifocal lenses $20 copay Not covered Not covered

Progressives $70 copay Not covered Not covered

Polycarbonate $50 copay Not covered Not covered

Scratch coat (factory, single sided) $10 copay Not covered Not covered

Ultraviolet coating $10 copay Not covered Not covered

Tint $10 copay Not covered Not covered

Standard antireflective coating $40 copay Not covered Not covered

Contact lenses**

$200 retail allowance 
in-network

$150 retail allowance 
out-of-network

Not covered Not covered

*A contact lens fitting exam has its own copay and is separate from the eye exam copay. Standard contact lens fitting applies to a current 
contact lens user who wears disposable, daily wear, or extended wear lenses only. Specialty contact lens fitting applies to new contact wearers 
and/or a participant who wears toric, gas permeable, or multi-focal lenses. 
**Contact lenses are in lieu of the eyeglass lenses and frame benefit. This allowance can be used once per plan year for either frames OR 
contact lenses. If you use the $200 allowance for contact lenses, you cannot use it for eyeglass frames. All costs and allowances are retail; you 
are responsible for any charges in excess of the retail allowances. If you purchase your frames or contacts from an out-of-network provider, you 
can be reimbursed at the out-of-network rate of up to $75 retail for frames or up to $150 retail for contact lenses.

http://www.StateOfTexasVision.com
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By participating in one or 
more of the TexFlexSM flexible 

spending accounts (FSAs), you can set aside pre-tax dollars 
from your paycheck to cover eligible out-of-pocket health 
care and/or dependent care expenses not reimbursed from 
another source. Your TexFlex contribution is automatically 
withdrawn from your paycheck and deposited into your 
account each month.

During your Summer Enrollment phase, you can change the 
amount you contribute to your FSA. After you review your 
annual election needs, if you do not make a change during 
Summer Enrollment, the annual amount you contribute to 
your account(s) next plan year will stay the same as this 
plan year. 

After you enroll in a TexFlex health care or limited-purpose 
FSA, you will get a debit card in the mail. You can use it to 
pay for eligible out-of-pocket expenses not reimbursed by 
another source, but you cannot use it to pay for dependent 
care. There is no cost to you to use the debit card. 

Because TexFlex FSAs are tax-free, the IRS requires all 
purchases with TexFlex funds to be validated. PayFlex® 
Systems, Inc., the TexFlex plan administrator, may ask you 
to submit proof that you used your TexFlex debit card to pay 
for eligible expenses. Be sure to save your receipts or 
explanation of benefits (EOB).
If eligible, active employees can enroll in either a health-care 
FSA or a limited-purpose FSA and also enroll in a dependent 
care FSA. See the following charts for rules that apply to 
each type of account.

FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNTS

Why contribute to an FSA?
Contributions to a flexible spending account are 
deducted before you pay income taxes. Because 
FSAs lower your taxable income, you save on taxes.

Leftover TexFlex dollars?
Current health care FSA and limited-purpose FSA 
participants can carry over up to $550 in unused 
funds from Plan Year 2022 (ending Aug. 31, 2022) to 
Plan Year 2023 (starting Sept. 1, 2022). Any unused 
Plan Year 2022 funds over $550 will be forfeited. If 
you have a health care or limited-purpose FSA in 
Plan Year 2023, you can carry over up to $570 from 
Plan Year 2023 (ending Aug. 31, 2023) to Plan Year 
2024 (starting Sept. 1, 2023).
The dependent care FSA does not have a carryover, 
but participants have a 2½-month grace period after 
the plan year ends to incur eligible dependent care 
expenses. For the current plan year that ends Aug. 
31, 2022, dependent care FSA participants can incur 
eligible expenses through Nov. 15. 2022. Any Plan 
Year 2022 funds not incurred by Nov. 15, 2022 will be 
forfeited. Claims must be submitted before the end of 
the runout period ending December 31, 2022.
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Health care FSA
Limited-purpose FSA
(Consumer Directed 

HealthSelect participants only)
Dependent care FSA

Eligible expenses
See complete list at  
https://texflex.payflex.com

•	 Copays, coinsurance 
and other out-of-pocket 
medically necessary 
charges not covered by 
insurance or reimbursed by 
another source

•	 Prescription drug 
deductible and copays

•	 Over-the-counter medicine

•	 Vision and dental expenses 
not covered by insurance 
or reimbursed by another 
source

•	 Day care, after-school care 
and summer day camp for 
dependent children under 
age 13

•	 Adult day care programs 
for qualifying individuals

Maximum annual 
contribution $2,850 per participant $2,850 per participant $5,000 per household

Funds availability Full election available Sept. 1 Full election available Sept. 1 Funds available monthly as 
contributions are made

Debit card (no fee) Yes Yes No

Carryover of funds or 
grace period

Up to $570 in carryover is 
allowed from Plan Year 2023 
(ending Aug. 31, 2023) to 
Plan Year 2024 (starting Sept. 
1, 2023). Unspent Plan Year 
2023 funds above $570 will be 
forfeited. 

Up to $570 in carryover is 
allowed from Plan Year 2023 
(ending Aug. 31, 2023) to 
Plan Year 2024 (starting Sept. 
1, 2023). Unspent Plan Year 
2023 funds above $570 will be 
forfeited. 

There is a 2½-month grace 
period from Sept. 1 through 
Nov. 15, 2023. Any Plan 
Year 2023 funds not spent 
by Nov. 15, 2023 will be 
forfeited.

Runout period

Submit claims for eligible 
expenses you paid between 
Sept. 1, 2022 and Aug. 31, 
2023 by Dec. 31, 2023.

Submit claims for eligible 
expenses you paid between 
Sept. 1, 2022 and Aug. 31, 
2023 by Dec. 31, 2023.

Submit claims for eligible 
expenses you paid between 
Sept. 1, 2022 and Nov. 15, 
2023 by Dec. 31, 2023.

Flexible spending accounts in Plan Year 2023
Health care, limited-purpose and dependent care

https://texflex.payflex.com
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While you can open and 
make changes to a Texa$aver 
account anytime, Summer 
Enrollment is a great time to 

sign up or make changes to your elections.

Your State of Texas Retirement annuity and Social Security benefits 
are only part of a financially secure retirement. With Texa$aver, you 
can boost your retirement savings through a tax-advantaged account 
that offers investment flexibility and lower-than-average fees.

Learn more at www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/
Texa$aver-401(k)-457-Program.

TEXA$AVER

Questions about Texa$aver?
Texa$aver counselors are always available 
to answer questions and help with account 
changes. Visit the Texa$aver website 
at www.texasaver.com to schedule an 
online meeting, or contact a representative 
toll-free at (800) 634-5091, Monday – 
Friday, 7 a.m.– 6 p.m. CT.

http://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Texa$aver-401(k)-457-Program
http://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Texa$aver-401(k)-457-Program
http://www.texasaver.com


16 | ERS | 2022 Summer Enrollment

Your health coverage through ERS includes $5,000 of Basic Term Life Insurance, with 
$5,000 of accidental death & dismemberment (AD&D) coverage at no cost to you. This 
limited coverage probably will not be enough to cover end-of-life and funeral costs or 

provide for any family who survive you. If you want your family or other people who depend on your salary to have 
more financial security if you die, you should consider additional life insurance.

OPTIONAL TERM LIFE AND VOLUNTARY AD&D INSURANCE

Optional Term Life Insurance
During Summer Enrollment, you can apply for additional life 
insurance through evidence of insurability (EOI, see information at 
right) in increments based on your annual salary, with a matching 
amount of AD&D insurance. You may choose coverage from one to 
four times your annual salary, up to $400,000.

Securian’s calculator at web1.lifebenefits.com/sites/lbwem/ers/
learn-more/how-much-life-insurance-is-enough can help you 
decide how much life insurance coverage you might need. Premiums 
and coverage amounts are based on the salary reported to ERS for 
September 1, 2022.

Dependent Term Life Insurance
For an additional monthly premium, you can apply through EOI (see 
information at right) to enroll your eligible dependents in dependent 
term life and AD&D insurance.

If your dependents are approved, the benefit includes $5,000 term life 
with $5,000 AD&D for each covered family member. The benefit will 
be paid to you upon the death of a covered dependent or in the event 
of certain accidental injuries. Your monthly premium covers all your 
eligible dependents, but you must list each dependent on your policy.

Voluntary AD&D Insurance
Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 
can provide additional financial protection for you and your family 
in the event of certain accidental injuries or accidental death. You 
can choose insurance from $10,000 up to $200,000 in increments 
of $5,000.

You can sign up for coverage for yourself only, or for yourself and 
your eligible dependents. EOI is not required for AD&D coverage.

•	 If you die as the direct result of an accidental bodily injury, your 
beneficiaries receive the full coverage amount.

•	 Enrolled family members are covered at partial benefit levels.
•	 If you have an accident and suffer any of the covered injuries, 

such as loss of a hand, a foot or sight of one eye, you will receive 
a benefit up to the full amount of coverage.

•	 If an insured family member loses a hand, a foot or sight of one 
or both eyes in an accident, they will receive a percentage of the 
benefits if you have coverage for that family member.

Evidence of insurability
When you request to enroll in optional term life, 
dependent term life and/or disability insurance 
after your first 31 days of employment, you 
must provide evidence of insurability (EOI). EOI 
is an application process in which you provide 
information about your health or that of your 
dependents. You or your dependents may be 
denied coverage based on information in the 
EOI application.

How to submit your EOI
Initiate the EOI process online after you request 
to enroll in life and/or disability insurance. 
You can choose whether you want the EOI 
underwriter to communicate with you by email 
or mail. Then:

•	 The EOI underwriter will provide instructions 
for submitting your EOI application.

•	 You must answer all questions on the EOI 
application truthfully and completely. Missing 
information can delay the process.

•	 If needed, the EOI underwriter will request 
additional information to make a decision on 
your application.

For questions about the EOI process for life 
insurance, contact Securian toll-free at (877) 
494-1716, Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. 

Coverage start dates
If you initiate EOI during Summer Enrollment 
and are approved, your coverage will begin on:

•	 September 1, 2022, if the EOI approval is 
dated before September 1 or

•	 the first day of month following EOI 
approval if the approval is dated on or after 
September 1.

http://web1.lifebenefits.com/sites/lbwem/ers/learn-more/how-much-life-insurance-is-enough
http://web1.lifebenefits.com/sites/lbwem/ers/learn-more/how-much-life-insurance-is-enough
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The Texas Income Protection PlanSM (TIPP) provides 
money to help you pay your bills if an accident or 
health-related condition makes it impossible for 
you to work. Reed Group Management, LLC is the 
administrator for TIPP disability insurance; evidence of 

insurability (EOI) is underwritten by Guardian Life Insurance.

•	 Short-term disability insurance provides a maximum benefit of 66% of your 
salary, with a cap of $6,600 per month for those whose monthly working salary 
is more than $10,000. For example, if your monthly salary is $4,000, the 
highest amount you’ll get for short-term disability is $2,640 per month. Benefits 
are paid up to a total of 150 days after you complete the waiting period.

•	 Long-term disability insurance provides a maximum benefit of 60% of your 
monthly salary, with a cap of $6,000 per month for those whose monthly 
working salary is more than $10,000. For example, if your salary is $3,500 per 
month, your monthly long-term disability payment would be $2,100. Benefits 
are paid until you return to work, reach full Social Security retirement age or 
are no longer considered disabled under the plan. If you become disabled at 
69 or older, benefits are payable for up to 12 months. (Note: For some mental 
diseases and disorders, the maximum benefit period for disability is two years.)

If you are eligible for Social Security Disability Insurance, Workers’ Compensation 
payments, ERS disability retirement benefits, Teacher Retirement System of 
Texas (TRS) disability retirement benefits and/or other disability payments, your 
short-term and long-term disability payments may be reduced.

For questions about EOI for disability insurance, contact TIPP toll-free at  
(855) 604-6230, Monday – Friday 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. CT.

Short-term disability coverage Long-term disability coverage

Monthly benefits 66% of your monthly salary, up to a $6,600 
benefit each month

60% of your monthly salary, up to a $6,000 benefit 
each month

Potential benefit 
reduction

Benefits are reduced if you get other 
disability payments. The minimum benefit is 
10% of your monthly salary.

Benefits are reduced if you get other disability 
payments. The minimum benefit is 10% of your 
monthly salary.

When do benefits 
start?

After a waiting period of 30 consecutive 
days or after you’ve used all your sick leave 
(whichever is longer); sick leave can be 
used during the 30-day waiting period

After a waiting period of 180 consecutive days or 
after you’ve used all your sick leave (whichever is 
longer); sick leave can be used during the 180-day 
waiting period

How long are 
benefits paid?

Up to 150 days after the completion of your 
waiting period

Until you are able to return to work or until you reach 
your Maximum Benefits Period (based on the age you 
become disabled) or based on the condition causing 
your disability

DISABILITY INSURANCE

TIPP disability insurance

Take note
•	 Pre-existing 

conditions are 
subject to certain 
exclusions.

•	 You must use all of your sick 
leave (including extended 
sick leave, sick leave pool 
and donated sick leave) or 
complete a waiting period 
(30 days for short-term, 
180 days for long-term), 
whichever option is longest, 
before disability benefits will 
be paid.

•	 Please review the plan 
documents before applying 
for TIPP disability insurance.

•	 TIPP coverage is not 
available to family members.
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SUMMER ENROLLMENT FAIRS AND WEBINARS
ERS and plan administrators will host Summer Enrollment fairs around the 
state to help you make informed decisions about your benefits. You may attend 
any of the fairs—not just those at your agency or higher education institution. 
All in-person ERS presentations begin at 10:30 a.m. CT.
If you prefer not to attend an in-person event, ERS and GBP plan administrators 
will also host several hour-long Summer Enrollment webinars. You can 
participate in as many webinars as you wish from the convenience of your home, 
or anywhere you have internet access. Q&A sessions led by plan administrators 
will feature a brief overview of the plans followed by time for questions. (Plan 
representatives can answer general questions; if you have a specific question 
about your account or a claim, contact the plan’s customer service number.) 

Register for a Summer Enrollment event at https://ers.texas.gov/Event-Calendars.

Topic Presenter(s) Dates and times  
(All times are Central, and all webinars last one hour.)

Summer Enrollment Overview ERS June 20; 10 a.m.
June 30; 2 p.m.

July 5; 10 a.m.
July 11; 2 p.m. July 18; 10 a.m.

HealthSelect of Texas® Blue Cross and Blue 
Shield of Texas June 20; 2 p.m. June 28; 10 a.m. July 14; 2 p.m.

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelectSM

Blue Cross and Blue 
Shield of Texas
Optum Bank

June 21; 10 a.m. July 8; 2 p.m. July 13; 2 p.m.

HealthSelectSM Prescription Drug 
Program OptumRx July 1; 10 a.m. July 15; 10 a.m.

Dental Plans Delta Dental June 22; 10 a.m. July 1; 2 p.m. July 12; 2 p.m.
State of Texas VisionSM Superior Vision June 23; 10 a.m. July 6; 2 p.m. July 19; 10 a.m.
Term Life and AD&D Insurance Securian Financial June 24; 2 p.m. July 6; 10 a.m. July 21; 10 a.m.
Texas Income Protection PlanSM ReedGroup June 23; 2 p.m. July 7; 10 a.m. July 20; 10 a.m.
TexFlexSM PayFlex June 27; 10 a.m. July 5; 2 p.m. July 15; 2 p.m.

Date Host and Location

June 21 Texas Department of Transportation
1601 Southwest Parkway • Wichita Falls, 76302

June 22

Texas Department of Transportation
1365 N. Main St. • Paris, 75460
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
12100 Park 35 Circle • Austin, 78753

June 23 Texas Department of Transportation
4625 E. Highway 80 • Mesquite, 75150

June 24 Texas Department of Criminal Justice
491 State Highway 75 • Huntsville, 77320

June 28 Lone Star College
5000 Research Forest Dr. • The Woodlands, 77381

June 29 Houston Community College
5601 West Loop South • Houston, 77081

June 30 University of Houston – Victoria
3007 N. Ben Wilson St. • Victoria, 77901

Date Host and Location

July 6 Texas Tech University Health Science Center
3601 4th St. • Lubbock, 79430

July 7

Amarillo College
2201 S. Washington St. • Amarillo, 79109

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
4200 Smith School Rd. • Austin, 78744

July 8 Texas Education Agency
1701 N. Congress Ave. • Austin, 78701

July 12 South Texas College
3201 W. Pecan Blvd. • McAllen, 78501

July 13 Texas State Technical College
1902 N. Loop 499 • Harlingen, 78550

July 15 College of the Mainland
1200 Amburn Rd. • Texas City, 77591

Summer Enrollment webinars
Register for a webinar at www.ers.texas.gov/Event-Calendars. Once you register, you will get the login information via email.

In-person Summer Enrollment fairs (All fairs will run from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. CT.)

PLEASE NOTE: In rare cases, ERS must 
cancel or change events due to issues 
beyond our control. When possible, we 
will provide notice of cancellations and/
or changes on the ERS website. If you’re 
planning to join a webinar, check the ERS 
Events webpage (www.ers.texas.gov/
Event-Calendars) shortly before the 
event for any updates. Other webinars 
may be added. Visit the Summer 
Enrollment webpage at www.ers.texas.
gov/summer-enrollment-2022 to check 
for schedule updates and to access 
webinar recordings. 

https://ers.texas.gov/Event-Calendars
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Event-Calendars
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Event-Calendars
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Event-Calendars
https://www.ers.texas.gov/summer-enrollment-2022
https://www.ers.texas.gov/summer-enrollment-2022
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CONTACTS

Health

Dental

Other programs

Vision

Life and Accidental Death & Dismemberment Insurance

Short-term and long-term disability insurance

Plan Administrator Phone number Website
HealthSelect of Texas®

HealthSelectSM Out-of-State
Consumer Directed 
HealthSelectSM

Blue Cross and Blue Shield 
of Texas
Group number – 238000

Toll-free: (800) 252-8039 
(TTY: 711)
Nurseline: (800) 581-0368

www.healthselectoftexas.com

HealthSelectSM Prescription  
Drug Program OptumRx Toll-free: (855) 828-9834 

(TTY: 711) www.HealthSelectRx.com

Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
health savings account (HSA) Optum Bank Toll-free: (800) 791-9361 

(TTY: 711) www.optumbank.com

State of Texas Dental Choice 
PlanSM

Delta Dental
Group Number – 20010 Toll-free: (888) 818-7925 

(TTY: 711) www.ERSdentalplans.com
DeltaCare® USA DHMO

Delta Dental
Group Number – 79140

TexFlexSM flexible spending 
account (FSA) program PayFlex® Security, Inc. Toll-free: (866) 353-9839 

(TTY: 711) www.texflexers.com

Texa$averSM 401(k) / 457 
Program Empower Retirement Toll-free: (800) 634-5091 

(TTY: (800) 766-4952 www.texasaver.com

Discount Purchase Program Beneplace
Toll-free: (800) 683-2886 
(TTY: 711)

Local: (512) 346-3300

www.Beneplace.com/
DiscountProgramERS

State of Texas VisionSM Superior Vision Services, Inc.
Group number – 35040

Toll-free: (877) 396-4128 
(TTY: 711) www.StateofTexasVision.com

Texas Income Protection 
PlanSM (TIPP)

Reed Group Management, 
LLC

Evidence of Insurability 
underwritten by Guardian Life 
Insurance

Toll-free: (855) 604-6230 
(TTY: 711) www.texasincomeprotectionplan.com

Basic Term Life Insurance
Optional Term Life Insurance
Dependent Term Life Insurance
Voluntary AD&D Insurance

Securian Financial Toll-free: (877) 494-1716 
(TTY: 711) www.lifebenefits.com/plandesign/ers

http://www.healthselectoftexas.com
http://www.HealthSelectRx.com
http://www.optumbank.com
http://www.ERSdentalplans.com
https://texflex.spendingaccounts.info/
http://www.texasaver.com
http://www.Beneplace.com/DiscountProgramERS
http://www.Beneplace.com/DiscountProgramERS
https://portal.superiorvision.com/stateoftexasvision/
http://www.texasincomeprotectionplan.com
http://www.lifebenefits.com/plandesign/ers


The	Employees	Retirement	System	of	Texas	(ERS)	complies	with	applicable	Federal	civil	rights	laws	and	does	not	
discriminate	on	the	basis	of	race,	color,	national	origin,	age,	disability,	or	sex.	ERS	provides	free	language	aids	and	
services, such as: written	information	in	other	formats	(large	print,	audio,	accessible	electronic	formats,	and	other	
formats),	qualified	interpreters,	and	written	information	in	other	languages. 
 
If	you	need	these	services,	call:	1-877-275-4377,	TDD:	711. 
 
If	you	believe	that	ERS	has	failed	to	provide	these	services	or	discriminated	in	another	way	on	the	basis	of	race,	
color,	national	origin,	age,	disability,	or	sex,	you	can	file	a	grievance	by	mail,	fax	or	email: 
 
Mail:	Section	1557	Coordinator	Employees	Retirement	System	of Texas 
P.O.	Box	13207,	Austin,	Texas	78711.	Fax:	512-867-3480. 
 
Email: 1557coordinator@ers.texas.gov 
 
For more information visit: http://www.ers.texas.gov 
 
You can	also	file	a	civil	rights	complaint	with	the	U.S.	Department	of	Health	and	Human	Services	online,	by	mail	or	by	
phone at: 
 
Online: https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf 
 
Complaint forms	are	available	at:	http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html. 
 
Mail:	U.S.	Department	of	Health	and	Human	Services,	200	Independence	Avenue,	SW,	Room	509F,	HHH	Building, 
Washington,	D.C.	20201. 
 
Phone:	1-800-368-1019,	800-537-7697	(TDD). 
 

 
 

1-877-275-4377 

 


