Group Benefits Advisory Committee

The Group Benefits Advisory Committee (GBAC) advises the ERS Board of Trustees to plan and develop employee benefits for the Texas Employees Group Benefits Program (GBP). The GBAC is made up of ERS participants, benefit experts and professionals. The goal is for state benefits to be valuable to participants and employers and remain competitive at a reasonable cost.

The committee has up to 11 members appointed by the Board. It represents the diverse GBP-participating entities and stakeholder groups, including:

  • state agencies,
  • public institutions of higher education,
  • retirees,
  • health-related institutions and
  • insurance or benefit design consultants and professionals.

The GBAC meets at least twice each year and gives reports and feedback to the Board.

Notice of Open Seats

ERS is currently accepting applications for GBAC appointments for the following categories:

  • mid-sized state agency (100 – 799 full-time employees)
  • retiree
  • health-related institution

Those who want to apply should review the committee charter , which describes committee membership requirements, operations and expectations. Terms are three years. Eligible applicants should send their completed applications to

We accept applications through November 10, 2023. The Board will make appointments during its December 2023 or March 2024 meetings.

GBAC members are not paid for their participation on the committee. They are eligible for reimbursement for related travel expenses.

Download the application form

Governance Charter

The ERS Board of Trustees adopted the current version of the GBAC Governance Charter in August 2023.


  • Sandra White, Department of Criminal Justice
    Term expires December 31, 2025
  • Matthew Miller, Department of Motor Vehicles
    Term expires December 31, 2025
  • Janice McCoy, Texas Optometry Board
    Term expires December 31, 2025
  • Kara Sharman, Kilgore College
    Term expires December 31, 2025
  • Barbara Cherry, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
    Term expires December 31, 2023
  • Megan LaVoie, Office of Court Administration
    Term expires December 31, 2023
  • Dana Haulotte, Texas Legislative Council
    Term expires December 31, 2025
  • Janet Bezner, Texas State University
    Term expires December 31, 2024
  • James Dobbins, Garland
    Term expires December 31, 2023
  • Gary White, Austin
    Term expires December 31, 2024
  • Jennifer Cawley, Texas Association of Life and Health Insurers
    Term expires December 31, 2025